Customer Reviews for

Deep Storm

Average Rating 4
( 106 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(42)

4 Star

(37)

3 Star

(19)

2 Star

(6)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

A GOOD READ!

This book starts out a little slow but keeps you captivated the whole way through. It keeps you wondering what is going to happen. The end of this book is different but it is good. I enjoyed reading this book and would recommend it to others.

posted by smitty81 on January 6, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Pretty Weak

This wasn't awful but it really wasn't too good either. It was a hodge-podgey read, ie it had little doses of a lot of things- action, science, sex - you get the idea. But at the end of the day, it was all quite shallow. There was no real depth to anything, sort of l...
This wasn't awful but it really wasn't too good either. It was a hodge-podgey read, ie it had little doses of a lot of things- action, science, sex - you get the idea. But at the end of the day, it was all quite shallow. There was no real depth to anything, sort of like a bad Hollywood action movie that doesn't know what it wants to be.

posted by Anonymous on August 10, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 106 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 6
  • Posted January 6, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    A GOOD READ!

    This book starts out a little slow but keeps you captivated the whole way through. It keeps you wondering what is going to happen. The end of this book is different but it is good. I enjoyed reading this book and would recommend it to others.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 19, 2013

    Great technothriller!

    As usual, Lincoln Child has provided his readers with yet another action filled technothriller! I found this novel extremely well researched, has a spellbinding plot, and characters you love and hate. I go for technothrillers for a couple reasons. They are usually set in facinating places (i.e. the 2 Artic Regions, underwater, etc.) They keep u on the edge of your seat, and tapping faster and faster to see what is on the next page. Lincoln Child definitely has a huge fan in me. I also love the books he co-writes with Douglas Preston. This book was terrific, and I highly recommend it to all persons. It won't let u down. Vallie

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 4, 2013

    Good story, smartly written

    What can I say without using spoilers? The story was good and interesting. I’d say it was similar in quality and atmosphere to Riptide. And, when trying to determine what book to read, I chose this after realizing that Lincoln Child is the better writer of the Preston & Child duo. The writing just flows better. I think Preston has a more scientific background, so I'm hoping for more collaboration outside of the Pendergast series.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 24, 2012

    One of the best books I've ever read. Its got monks, scientists

    One of the best books I've ever read. Its got monks, scientists, military and more. I was on the edge of my seat the whole read. Just when you think you've got something figured out, boom! Plot twist that takes you in a whole different direction. It is an easy and thrilling read. Don't read too many reviews or overviews. Just dive in and hang on to your seat!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 8, 2012

    Loads of suspence, non-stop action, lurking conspiracy, and just

    Loads of suspence, non-stop action, lurking conspiracy, and just the right touch of creepy...Mr Child does not disappoint. Sat and read this one cover to cover completely forgetting to even stop for dinner. This one had me holding my breath and wondering just what I'd do if I were in the main character's shoes.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 27, 2011

    Well worth staying up late for!

    Mr. Child's novel had a lot of good twists and turns in the plot that made it just a little unpredictable. It was a bit too easy to pick out the villains though. Love a good "what if?" story? Then this novel will fit the bill on that account! The science was believable and explained without being too brainy. Plan on trying others by this author after this first encounter. Plenty of action to balance out the science side of things too.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 6, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Solid Thriller

    "Deep Storm" is a solid and serviceable techno/scifi-thriller. The characters are not deep, but the story is both engaging and exciting, and I was very motivated to read it all the way through.

    Lincoln Child's story is of a secret submerged deep water facility built to uncover a mysterious energy source. Dr. Crane is asked to join the effort in order to uncover a series of illnesses sweeping through the employees of the facility (scientists and military).

    I've read Preston and Child before - "Ice Limit" and "Riptide" I found to be particularly good. The characters, I felt, were much stronger in those stories. But it didn't matter in "Deep Storm". The book is a very quick read, heavy on action and science.

    As long as you can live without strong characters, I'd recommend this well-written and exciting book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 28, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Fans of The Abyss will love it

    Lincoln Child and Dan Preston do their homework and put forth a tale that is great fun to swallow up! I love the hi-tech tools, devices, and theories they come up with. If you're a lover of undersea adventures, government secrecy tales, and hi-tech/scientific fun...this is a great pick for you!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 2, 2009

    Good but not great!

    This book kept me interested from the start, until about 2/3 of the way through, then it started dragging. I couldn't wait to find out what was down below, and when the answer finally came, I was disappointed. This is definitely a one time read. --K--

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 10, 2008

    Pretty Weak

    This wasn't awful but it really wasn't too good either. It was a hodge-podgey read, ie it had little doses of a lot of things- action, science, sex - you get the idea. But at the end of the day, it was all quite shallow. There was no real depth to anything, sort of like a bad Hollywood action movie that doesn't know what it wants to be.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 25, 2012

    Amazing!

    So addicting!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 4, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Glad I didn't read the synopsis! I went into this one dark, som

    Glad I didn't read the synopsis!

    I went into this one dark, sometimes the less I know the better (I'm looking at you movie trailers!). All I knew was this was some type of deep sea mystery - I was easily sold on this premise as I'm already in love with The Abyss (Special Edition) and Sphere.

    The deep ocean is like space, if anything goes wrong you're dead, there's built-in tension. Add in some mystery with sinister overtones and I couldn't be happier. This has everything I love about Michael Crichton novels; short chapters, memorable characters, and plenty of suspense and plot twists. Loved it. But don't read the back, it will ruin half the book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 25, 2012

    Liked it!

    I enjoy reading their books, they include lots of detail making the story seem more real.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 23, 2012

    Pretty good... bit no Abyss.

    Ok

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 17, 2012

    Fantastic

    I thought it was excellent. From the first page to the last, the thrills never stopped. The characters were superb and the storyline was smooth and riveting. By far, one of the very best I've ever read. The ending was perfect. I highly recommend. (Catpurrson)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 11, 2012

    Great book!

    !

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 17, 2012

    Awsome book

    Loved it-

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 10, 2012

    I'm only a little over halfway through and struggling to finish. The plot is SO tedious. There have been a few good parts, but mostly alot of tech-talk and military jargon. If you're looking for a fast paced thriller, save your money on this and go for something by James Rollins.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 25, 2011

    Great read!

    Couldn't put this book down until I'd finished...then I wanted more!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 19, 2011

    Great Book - Definitely worth the read!

    Lincoln Child slams yet another one out of the ballpark. I have always been a fan of his books as a solo writer as well as in collaboration with Douglas Preston in their series of books. This books is full of action and unlike other books you may read it keep you on the edge of your seat until the very end. Great job!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 106 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 6