Customer Reviews for

Deep and Dark and Dangerous: A Ghost Story

Average Rating 4.5
( 771 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(632)

4 Star

(84)

3 Star

(26)

2 Star

(8)

1 Star

(21)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

55 out of 59 people found this review helpful.

AMAZING!!!!

This is my favorite book ever. My friend started reading it and she said it was amazing so i bought it and i was hooked right away. i finished it in one day! i can't wait to read more of her books[=

posted by Anonymous on September 21, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

Awful!!

Characters are very mean-spirited and spiteful. The word 'hell' is used repeatedly. Does not set a good example for a young reader. My 11-year old daughter was disgusted with it.

posted by harmony1 on February 20, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 84 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 5
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 7, 2012

    Chilling

    This book really takes on voice at chapter 12. It made me want to leave the hallway lights on and look behind me every couple of minutes because im sure im watched by ghostly eyes.

    11 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 4, 2012

    Anonymous

    This is the perfect ghost story! Its creepy eerie and spooky but it is also simply sad. Somehow this chilling tale warms your heart as well . Theres a perfect balance of the two. The one thing i didnt like was the books first two words. One day. Ugh, horrible way to start. Otherwise :) . I stayed up all night reading it!!!

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 8, 2012

    if you want to know the secret, you have to read the book!

    deep and dark and dangerous is a true ghost story filled with suspence and many unanswered questions. i finnished the book in 2 hours! i absolutly loved it! and now im reading it for the 13th time now :)i love this book! i love the author and i love the story its truly worth the read! if you want to know the secret, you have to read it to the end.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 5, 2011

    AMAZING!!!

    This book is sooo good! It hangs you in suspense- you won't be able to put it down! I couldn't!!

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 28, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    VERY GOOD

    The way Mary tells this story shes a awesome!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 22, 2008

    a reviewer

    As an adult reader, I was surprised that I did not want to put this book down. Also, I was a little scared to continue to read 'main character is a ghost'. I can guarantee if you pick this book up. You will not put it down especially if you like a lot of suspense.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 16, 2012

    By USA RATER!!!!!

    THIS BOOK IS REALY GREAT I know that you will love it!!!!!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 16, 2012

    Good for children

    I love the story of this book and it is a bonechillng stoty

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 13, 2012

    Rlly good :)

    I read this at my school library. I got it cuz i hadnt read a ghost story in a while and decided to take a chance, cuzi get scaref rlly easily. I read this probebly two or three yrs ago, so i dont remember at all wat the book was about, but i do remember how much i loved it. So get it!!! Its only about $5. If u want a bonechilling ghost story, then get this book!! I got pretty scared, but i couldnt put it down! Its rlly depends on how well u tolerate anything scarey

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 20, 2013

    In this book Deep and Dark and Dangerous by Mary Downing Hahn, A

    In this book Deep and Dark and Dangerous by Mary Downing Hahn, Ali- a young 13 year old girl- is always at home with her to over protective mom and wants to get out and have fun. Ali finds and old photograph in the attic. Ali recognized two people, her mom and her aunt Dulcie. She notices that one person is torn out of the picture. Ali is offered an invite she cant refuse, to stay the whole summer up at her mother and aunt Dulcie's old cottage in Maine. Ali soon meets someone cold hearted and spiteful. Her name is Sissy.  Sissy is a bad influence and relates to nothing but lies and secrets. As the summer days passed by, Ali wonders if going up to the cottage was as bad as her mother explained it. Ali soon finds out why Sissy is so angry.

    This book would fit in a type of genre like Mystery. What I liked about the book was how it always kept you on edge and wanting to know more page, after page. I also liked the thrilling detail she fit into the story. Mary Downing Hahn really knows how to send shivers down your spine. One thing I didn't really enjoy about the book was the beginning. It was very slow and nothing interesting happened.

    The main lesson the author is trying to portray would be always be honest right from the start. Lying can get you in a heck of trouble. Dulcie, Ali's aunt, and Claire, Ali's mother, have hid the truth from everyone about there passed friend, Teresa. Their untold truth has caused Teresa to not be able to rest in peace for 30 years.

    People out in the world go through a lot of things to get to a solution. They go through happy times and sad times, angry times and scared times. That’s just life. Everyone just needs to learn how to go with the flow and live on. In the book, Ali suffered a lot and was always misunderstood. She was frustrated because no one would listen to her.

    I can connect to this book because when Ali finds something mysterious and wants to know more, she tries as hard as she can to find the truth. I do that as well. When ever I sense something strange, I will do what ever it takes to know more.

    I really like this book because in my personal opinion, it really gets me going and always leaves me wanting to read more and more. Mary Downing Hahn really leaves a thought in the back of your mind. I love the detail and thought she put into the story. It really makes you feel like your part of the book.

    This is a great book for everyone just for the thrill. It's a great novel and very enjoyable for all ages. The length isn't bad. It has understandable terms. I love how Mary Downing Hahn made this a pretty challenging yet enjoyable book for all ages. It is definitely worth the read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 26, 2013

    It was a gii ? It was a good book

    I thought the book was very intresting and had a great plot and a nice turn near the end of it. She made it very intresting abpnd i would read it again if i had to.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 23, 2013

    Good Read!

    Good book - easy reading!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 13, 2012

    Deep dark and dangerous

    I love this book! it is so good i would reccomend this book to anyone who loves a good ghost story

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 1, 2012

    Awesome

    I am reading it in class.It is awesome.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 8, 2012

    I Also Recommend:

    Great

    Great

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 3, 2012

    Read i now

    I read when i was in fith grade and i still love ir =~D

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 19, 2012

    Anonamous

    Its a fantastic book, one of my favorites!.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 16, 2012

    Love it

    At first i got the free sample i stared to read couldnt put it down when i was done the free sample i boght it i had to i read wait till hellen comes and that is what got me to read this

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 8, 2012

    Cliff hanger

    It was mystery after mystery with no soulution but she did a good job in the ending

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 27, 2012

    Amazing!!

    When i read this book i was scared and in love and
    confusedit is a MUST READ! Enjoy!!!! :)

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 84 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 5