Customer Reviews for

Deep in the Heart of Trouble

Average Rating 4.5
( 41 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(24)

4 Star

(9)

3 Star

(7)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 24 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted August 13, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Deep In The Heart of Trouble

    Essie surrendered her life to God years ago. With that surrender came the acceptance of her singleness. Now, at age 34, Essie is considered to be an old maid and is content helping with her father's business, running the Corsicana Velocipede Club and spending time with her loved ones. When her father hires Tony Bryant, Essie's under-control world begins to spin out of control - especially when Tony asks for permission to court her! But Essie and Tony both harbor secrets. Essie made a horrible mistake in her past and Tony hides his very identity. Can Essie and Tony both gather the courage to reveal their darkest secrets before the secrets destroy them?

    Deep in the Heart of Trouble by Deeanne Gist is the sequel to Courting Trouble and I admit, of the two books, I liked this one better. The plot was filled with romance and at the same time had characters that challenged the reader to grow closer to God. I certainly admired Essie's dedication to God and her understanding that her worth came from God - not a man. She found contentment and was willing to stay that way until God decided otherwise. Gist's writing style was catchy, fun and humorous. Mrs. Lockhart's character was absolutely charming. I loved the way she quoted romance novels to make her point. Overall, a good book that I would recommend for a permanent library. I will definitely be reading it again.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 12, 2008

    A Forward Thinking Woman

    Essie Spreckelmeyer, the town¿s spinster, has a reputation as a forward thinking woman she¿s president of the Velocipede Club, has appeared in the newspaper, runs her father¿s oil company and has the audacity to wear bloomers. When Tony Morgan comes to town, he¿s not overjoyed about having a woman boss, yet she intrigues him on a personal level. Essie refuses to have a relationship with one of her employees, but Tony eventually wins her over. Each has a secret that could destroy their relationship. When a murder and a lynch mop are interjected, anything can happen in the small town of Corsicana, Texas.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 9, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    A reviewer

    In 1898 in Corsicana, Texas thirty-four years old Essie Spreckelmeyer is contented with living life her way as a single woman who runs Sullivan Oil and spends as much time as she can in the Corsicana Velocipede Club. The male townsfolk has adapted to the spinster running the key business that employs most of them.------------- Tony Bryant arrives in town looking for work at Sullivan Oil not knowing Sully has given his daughter control. She gives him a job, but they do not see eye to eye. However, as they fall in love, Tony fears he will leave heartbroken once his beloved Miss Essie learns who he is. She will not tolerate him as the son of her business rival his full name is Tony Bryant Morgan. He may be estranged from his father and Morgan Oil is run by Tony¿s half brother, Darius, but his Miss Essie will not forgive his omission. Essie has a secret too that could leave her heartbroken if her beloved Tony fails to accept her past.----------------- This engaging late nineteenth century Texas romance uses oil as the matchmaker and match-breaker as the lead couple each has the liquid gold flowing in their veins. Tony and Essie are a wonderful pairing as they fight, fuss, and fall in love. Readers will enjoy Deanne Gist¿s second trouble in Texas tale (see COURTING TEXAS) as the heart of the matter is not oil but love.--------- Harriet Klausner

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 15, 2013

    Good book

    This was a great read. A little predictable but worth reading.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 12, 2010

    Everyone will love Esie Spreckelmeier

    Courting Trouble and Deep In the Heart of Trouble are two wonderful books. I've read all of Deeanne Gist's books and when I first started Courting Trouble I didn't think I'd connect with the main character, boy was I wrong. The more I read the book the more I felt that I could identify with the characters. It's a very touching book and I hope Deanne writes another novel with Esie. I also love the historical aspects of all of her novels.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 8, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Essie Part Two

    After reading Courtine Trouble, I just had to get started on the sequel. I really liked the message of the first novel - that Essie doesn't NEED a man. Too often people get caught up always looking for someone else that they settle for less or do things they normally wouldn't. Well, in this sequel, Essie is single and proud of it. Suprisingly to all around her, a new guy in town begins courting her and a romantic drama follows. It seems like Essie just might get married now, and maybe she does. For those who don't think the ending will be obvious, I won't ruin it - but it's certianly satisfying. An enjoyable read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 26, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    The Incredible sequel to Courting Trouble

    "Deep in the Heart of Trouble" is the sequel to Courting Trouble. They are definitely meant to be read in order. If you skip the first one you will miss most everything that is important that is said, but not quite fully said. Read both and you'll be a very happy reader. *grin*<BR/><BR/><BR/><BR/>Here we have a girl who messed up on life, but has taken another chance to live. By owning a bicycle club and teaching others various talents as well as running her father's oil company Essie really has an eventful life. She once attempted to find love and found that Christ was the only groom for her. Through this book she continues with that thought until she realizes that quite possibly she is no longer acting solely upon the respect of the relationship she has with Christ, but that perhaps she is using that as an excuse to hide from possible potential.<BR/><BR/><BR/><BR/>Deeanne Gist weaves together an incredible story with fabulous characters that really get into your heart and under your skin. I feel so blessed to have been able to read this story, both in the first volume and now second. The lessons to be learned and the reflections on your own life are quite educational. This series is a must read for most women, and definitely one for discussion afterward.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 17, 2008

    Unforgettable Characters

    Essie, from a previous book, Courting Trouble, is one of those heroines you don't want to give up. Gist doesn't disappoint us and brings Essie back in Deep in the Heart of Trouble. Essie is at peace now. Or she was until Tony comes into her life. An experienced and talented oil man in his own right, he challenges her in work and in her heart. This is Christian romantic fiction at its best. It's realistic, not expecting human beings to be perfect. They make mistakes, as we all do, but the strong values of their faith stand up to the test and guide them. Deep in the Heart of Trouble is a stand alone wonderful read, but I recommend reading Courting Trouble just for the fun of it. In fact, I recommend all books by Christie award winning Deeanne Gist.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 24, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 8, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 21, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 1, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 4, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 21, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 18, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 14, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 1, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 29, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 15, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 5, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 24 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2