Customer Reviews for

Deep in the Valley (Grace Valley Series #1)

Average Rating 4
( 129 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(58)

4 Star

(38)

3 Star

(16)

2 Star

(12)

1 Star

(5)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

Quirky and Entertaining

I can honestly say that Deep in the Valley is one of the best novels I have read in quite some time. However, the classification as a romance novel is somewhat misleading. Don't get me wrong, there is romance in it, it is just that there is so much more to this book tha...
I can honestly say that Deep in the Valley is one of the best novels I have read in quite some time. However, the classification as a romance novel is somewhat misleading. Don't get me wrong, there is romance in it, it is just that there is so much more to this book than just romance. It is about the many different relationships and roles that one person plays with the individuals of an entire town. If you live in Northern California, or anywhere with small towns, you'll recognize your neighbors as you turn the pages. I loved this book. I'd read it again in a heartbeat.

posted by Anonymous on October 11, 2000

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Highly Recommended

Highly recommend if you like going to a small area of Northern California where you get lost in the people who live there. I've read all in the series of Virgin River and Grace Valley by Robyn Carr and can't wait for more. Chesapeake Nana

posted by 9969983 on April 22, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 58 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 11, 2000

    Quirky and Entertaining

    I can honestly say that Deep in the Valley is one of the best novels I have read in quite some time. However, the classification as a romance novel is somewhat misleading. Don't get me wrong, there is romance in it, it is just that there is so much more to this book than just romance. It is about the many different relationships and roles that one person plays with the individuals of an entire town. If you live in Northern California, or anywhere with small towns, you'll recognize your neighbors as you turn the pages. I loved this book. I'd read it again in a heartbeat.

    8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 9, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    Enjoyable relationship drama

    In her late thirties in Grace Valley, California, Dr. June Hudson wonders if she will ever find a lasting relationship. She would like something similar to that shared between her dad and her mom who died nine years ago. Even as she speculates that no one is available for her, June interviews a new doctor, John Stone, to share the overwhelming workload, but he has a past that makes him seem shaky. <P>Beneath the surface of the small Mendocino County town lies different extremes of sexual harassment. Gus Craven is physically and mentally abusive towards his wife and children. Gary Baker not only hits his spouse Christina, he demands she remain model thin even though she carries his baby. Even the married pastor makes plays for females and has had affairs. Can June and company idly sit by while her gender is under attack? She is also beginning to fall in love with an undercover Drug Enforcement Agent. <P> DEEP IN THE VALLEY is a complex look inside relationships in an isolated small Northern California town. The story line is enjoyable yet scary because the large cast of charcaters seems genuine. Although the ending lessons the impact of the problems of spousal and child abuse, and the need to bring medical attention to remote areas, the plot works because fans care about the vast ensemble. Robyn Carr provides readers a powerful, thought-provoking work of contemporary fiction that centers on some members of our population living their lives under constant terrorist activity. <P>Harriet Klausner

    6 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 8, 2010

    Excellent addition to Virgin River Series

    Have only read half of the book and am already into all the characters. Can't wait to finish this one and go on to book 2 and 3. Love the author's style, location and characters. Makes me want to go there and be a part of their lives.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 14, 2012

    Great Read

    Love this entire series.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 19, 2012

    Excellent!

    I absolutely LOVE all of Robyn Carr's books. I want more of the Grace Valley series. The Virgin River Series are equally as good. I have read all of her books and am waiting for more. Please continue to add to the Virgin River and Grace Vally series. I love all the characters in both of these series.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 17, 2012

    Great author and wonderful book!! Recommend Highly!!

    Great author and wonderful book!! Recommend Highly!!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 30, 2012

    Short, but sweet series.

    This series was very enjoyable. Hope there is more books added to this story.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 18, 2012

    Highly recommend for Carr fans

    This is the first of the three books in Ms Carr's Grace Valley Series and introduces characters 'seen' later in the Virgin River series. Great introduction to all the characters - well written and very enjoyable.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 7, 2012

    I highly recommend the Grace Valley Series

    I really enjoy these books. Robyn Carr has a way of putting you into the town and relating with the characters. I would recommend reading them in sequence.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 26, 2012

    Highly Recommended

    This book along with book 2, 3, 4, was a bundle. I started and now I find myself not putting these books down up to book 12 now with 4 to go. These books are the only books I have read by Ms Carr but I have to say that I have to put you on my author list. Thank you Robyn Carr.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 2, 2012

    Highly Recommended

    Loved the book, loved the series

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 19, 2012

    Starsky

    She pinpointed the location of a vole and stalked it. She pounced and trapped the vole under her paws. She killed it with a swift bite. She did the same to a mouse and carried them both back to Spiritnight.

    0 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 1, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    exc read

    Deep In The Valley, the Grace Valley Trilogy, book 3 by Robyn Carr
    June the local doc and Jim the local sheriff are having a baby and after helping others out throughout this whole
    book in town, new people who are just passing through and break in's at the local cafe and stopping spouses from
    beating up their wives they decide it's time they got married, before the baby makes an appearance.
    Somebody hit her out cold when she went to help a little girl with an asthma attack was meeting her at the clinic.
    She went to investigate the water flow, which is usually just a pool of sitting water.
    Heavy equipment showed up shortly after to help barricade the cafe and clinic from flooding. Not only local people
    but federal agencies. Whole town is under water and it's surviving and thriving as people help to get it back to
    what it was.
    Being this is the third book in the series I find I was not left out with the characters, I was brought up to date
    and introduced to them at the same time. Very nice transition.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 17, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 30, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 13, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 7, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 30, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 22, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 22, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 58 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3