Customer Reviews for

Deeper Than Midnight (Midnight Breed Series #9)

Average Rating 4.5
( 594 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(347)

4 Star

(139)

3 Star

(68)

2 Star

(20)

1 Star

(20)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

20 out of 21 people found this review helpful.

Excellent Read

I loved reading this wonderful book! It is a story that keeps you entertained for hours.

posted by theReader278 on June 29, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Not giving Hunter his due time is a real let down.  If Adrian wa

Not giving Hunter his due time is a real let down.  If Adrian wanted to let us know what was going on with Chase she should have made the book longer.  Just a cameo here and there would have sufficed. The book was almost 3/4 over before Hunter even made any kind of phys...
Not giving Hunter his due time is a real let down.  If Adrian wanted to let us know what was going on with Chase she should have made the book longer.  Just a cameo here and there would have sufficed. The book was almost 3/4 over before Hunter even made any kind of physical connection with his mate.  After all he had to suffer and all his mate suffered it was disclosed is just a few sentences.  I believe we should have been on their personal journeys to recovery more often in this book.  They already shared a lot in common so the healing should have been the main focus and the bonding, both  mental and physical.  Think about it. Hunter has never touched a women.  This was down played if you ask me.  And what women after being raped and abused for 72 years is REALLY going to just fall into someones bed, mate or not.  I like Adrian's writing but sometimes it did seem like someone else was doing the writing.  When did Hunter develop a language with profanity?  One minute he is speaking without contractions and the next he is using slang.  The language changes alone should have at least been explained.  And Corrine never gave a second thought about her mother who had raised her even after finding out it was just her dad who betrayed her.  Her character was too cold and simple for my taste.  I like that she does accept Hunter and lets him in but the way it is done is just not believable.

posted by 3712032 on April 7, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 347 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 18
  • Posted June 29, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    Excellent Read

    I loved reading this wonderful book! It is a story that keeps you entertained for hours.

    20 out of 21 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 16, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    The ninth Midnight Breed romantic fantasy is a fantastic entry in an ourstanding series

    The vampire myth began when eight ancient outworlders came to earth and mated with those females who wore a Breed mark because they are capable of baring a Breed male offspring. In time, the sons turned against their evil and cruel sires, but one escaped their wrath and hid in hibernation.

    In the present, Dragos imprisoned him and forced him to copulate with Breedmates. The Children of that union were Gen X warriors, who were more powerful than most of the breed. Dragos puts a slave collar on these children as he trains them to be amoral ruthless killers. Dragos' enemy The Order liberates one of his killers Hunter who vows to kill his vicious jailer and his psychopathic brothers. The Order raid a compound and free Corrine Bishop held prisoner by their evil adversary for decades. When she and Hunter meet, there is an instant attraction, but neither can accept the soft feelings; he never knew love only hate and she had love tortured out of her. While fleeing from Dragos' henchmen, Corrine resolutely wants to find her son Nathan, but conceals this from her escort until they make love. Hunter believes Corrine is setting herself up for heartbreak and perhaps death because like him her son is a trained ruthless killer. She persuades him they should try.

    The ninth Midnight Breed romantic fantasy is a fantastic entry that is as great as its predecessors (see Taken by Midnight). The story is told from multiple viewpoints; readers will find especially refreshing and fascinating understanding how a breed feels when he enters the Bloodlust stage before he turns into a mindless Rogue who cares only about drinking human blood. The Adrian vampire mythos expands as series fans will appreciate the meaning of Home.

    Harriet Klausner

    10 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 13, 2011

    She is a must have author!

    I just absolutely love her Midnight Series. They are exciting and funny. These are the kind of novels you can read over and over and never tire of them.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 2, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    One of my favorites in this great series

    If you haven't started this series yet, get on it! This book is all about Hunter (a bred assassin, forced by Dragos, his creator, to wreak havoc). If you're a fan of this series, you know that Hunter is now a warrior of the Order. I love this book because it picks up right after the last book left off. I won't say too much about the storyline, because I don't want to give away any of this magnificent story. There are so many wonderful characters to love and bond with in this series that it'll be hard for you to pick a favorite. For me, this book is one of my absolute favorites in this series. Lara Adrian, please, please write a little faster. Waiting until the next release in 2012 may just kill me!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 30, 2011

    What an ending!

    I love a book that leaves u feeling like a junkie in need of more. This series is a total addiction.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 29, 2011

    Does not Disappoint!

    This is by far my favorite series and this is no exception! I was hooked from the first chapter. Sometimes series tend to get stale as they go on, but Lara really knows how to keep it fresh and exciting! I am already dying for the next installment...going to be a long wait until the Spring!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 28, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    AMAZING!

    I just finish this new book in the Midnight breed series and im in love with Hunter! *SIGH* Sexy, mouth watering and touching in a way that none of the other books are.
    Its a must read! :D

    If new to the series start with Kiss of Midnight

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 3, 2011

    Best series yet

    Loved all 8 of her midnight series books. Can not wait for the next one. Keeps u interested and wanting more.

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 18, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    LOVE HER BOOKS!!!!

    I love all of her books. They are very well written and very mind capturing. I came across her books sorta by accident. I have an ebook app on my phone, and her first book, Kiss of Midnight, was being offered for free for a limited time. It was a romance novel so I decided to download it. I started reading it and it was ok. Then it hit me that it was about vampires. I was like oh my gosh more vampire books? Since the Twilight thing was getting on my nerves. But it really surprised me! I enjoyed it so much! Then when I found out she had other books, I bought them all and read them. The series is wonderfully written and it really grabs me. I cant wait for Deeper than Midnight to come out! June 28th cant come any faster! lol!!

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 25, 2015

    Awesome and intriguing. I was left on a cliffhanger. What is goi

    Awesome and intriguing. I was left on a cliffhanger. What is going to happen to Chase and
    The Orders new compound? I have a nudging feeling that Chase's Breedmate is Ms. Fairchild, but lunatic
    Dragos was enticed also. I seriously doubt Dragos though,he is too far deranged and a fruitcake.
    We never know where author Lara Adrian will lead us next with The Order in this captivating, erotic Midnight Series.
    We must wait and endure to see the outcome...;-) 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 2, 2015

    more from this reviewer

    Midnight Breed #9

    This was an incredible book. Although it did infact have its painfully slow moments, it had its intense moments as well. I also love how the author took her time with letting the characters chemistry grow instead of just rushing into the sex as she did in some of her previous books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 6, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    By the time I got to the last few chapters I couldn't put it dow

    By the time I got to the last few chapters I couldn't put it down (especially the last few pages). This book includes Hunter finding his mate, Harvard battling his blood lust, and an increasing oncoming war with Dragos. The book let you know there was something huge coming from Dragos against the Order. I had my guess of what Dragos might have planned but I was way off and never saw it coming. What a HUGE cliff hanger!! Really good installment in the series, can't wait to get to the next one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 24, 2013

    BREEDMATE POWER!!

    Awesome series; this is one of the best so far!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 1, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Hunters story for me is right up there with lucan and tegan.  Th

    Hunters story for me is right up there with lucan and tegan.  The ending was a surprise.  I'm sad that I'm almost done with the series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 14, 2013

    In love with this series

    So sad that I am finished. I would love another book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 26, 2012

    Lara Adrian does it again

    Her books are so well written, I cant wait for more

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 17, 2012

    Loved this book! One of my favorite in this series. A must read.

    Loved this book! One of my favorite in this series. A must read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 9, 2012

    OMG

    I just got done reading the series and couldn't be more pleased.If you have enjoyed the BDB by J.R.Ward you will love this to couldn't put them down.Can't wait for #11 to come out :)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 10, 2012

    WOW!

    With the exception of Rio's book (which I HATED), I have loved all of these books! After Rio's book, the series has been getting better and better with each book. This book had me not able to put it down. By the end of the book, I was holding my breath and getting frustrated that I wasn't able to read fast enough. I was dying to find out what was about to happen. I just bought book 10 and can't wait to start. Keep them coming, Ms. Adrian! I LOVE this series!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 19, 2012

    Must Read

    Must read for vampire fans. Great series.
    I have read the whole series and I can't wait till the next book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 347 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 18