Customer Reviews for

Deeper Than the Dead

Average Rating 4
( 638 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(258)

4 Star

(203)

3 Star

(92)

2 Star

(49)

1 Star

(36)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 203 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 11
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 10, 2010

    Deep Than Dead

    I had a little bit of a hard time getting into the characters and plot but it was well written and carried everything that was going on very well. The children were well placed throughout the story as well as the adults. I especially liked the FBI agent's input into the investigation without trying to take over and the mentoring he was doing. The young teacher was a wonderful addition to the characters which showed a dedicated,caring person and very tolerant of a father who was a very bitter and self centered man. It was difficult at times to remember what it was like back in the 80's when the DNA was just coming into the picture and cell phones were almost non-existant. (How did we ever survive?)

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 25, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Worth reading

    At the beginning, I thought this was going to be written with a feminists' agenda. That was short-lived. I found this author to be sensitive to all views. Although I sensed who the culprit was (and there were many possibilities) it was the author who revealed at the end....and then some. I recommend this book to the avid reader. I plan to look for her other works.....enjoy....xcptnc (pronounced "acceptance")

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 21, 2011

    A TERRIFIC read!

    I have not been a Tami Hoag fan. I've tried in the past to get into her books, but the books haven't clicked with me. Not so with this new series: setting in 1985, during the early criminal profiling era appealed to me as I lived it live myself. Also, extremely appealing is the character development of the two protagonists: Vince and Anne. They are attention grabbing characters with fascinating backgrounds and character traits. I could not get enough of those characters, and can't wait to read the next in this series. The voice of the characters is real; I found myself reading SLOWLY, just so the book would not end! Now, THAT is the mark of a terrific read!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 15, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    A look at the start of scientific crime solution.

    An engaging thriller that that takes place in 1984, the dawn of modern criminal investigation tools that we now take for granted. No DNA tests, computer records, fingerprint matches done by eye alone and more. The FBI think tank "The Nine" are just starting to scientifically investigate crime, i.e. profiling, taking a closer look at the smaller but very important factors that make each crime unique.
    In a sleepy California college town, four fifth graders are running through a wooded park when one falls onto a murdered woman who is buried up to her neck. They react in different ways and are lucky to have a committed teacher that tries to help them deal with their gruesome discovery. She also winds up helping the police and FBI by providing a conduit for information. She finds out many secrets that lie behind the 'small town' facade. Will that prove to be the tipping point that leads to the solution? Can they solve the mystery before anyone else is killed?

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 22, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Thrilling

    Tami Hoag did it again. The book is thrilling, rife with suspense and emotion. She explores the parent-child relationship, mostly abusive, and how it can mold and change us. I must admit, I had moments of true fear while I read and found I coudln't put the book down. I felt that I knew who the serial killer was the entire time, but she keeps throwing in suspects that make second guess ourselves--she literally keeps us guessing until the very end. I can't wait for her next book!

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 7, 2010

    Another serial killer thriller. Hoag sets her story in the mid-1980's, when the technology available/unavailable to investigators seems almost primitive in these days of CSI/24,etc. Fun read, good plot twists. Don't expect enlightenment, but fun.

    OK, so I enjoy a serial killer thriller as much as the next guy. This one was even more fun to read because I was actually an adult in the mid-80s and remember these types of story-lines on TV shows. The absence of techno here makes the investigators efforts and thought processes a more central part of the story than many contemporary thrillers.

    Hoag renders a tight plot-line and keeps the story moving toward the inevitable discovery of the killer/killers. Standard, but well written and entertaining for an afternoon read.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 12, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Thrilling and suspensful

    I love Tami Hoag thrillers. Deeper Than the Dead was not disappointing. It was well written and very captivating. I found it difficult to put down. The plot of the story may seem typical to suspense novels, but the mystery of "who dunnit" was what made this book so great. With the information the author provides for the characters, you think you know what's going on, and then you're doubting yourself when faced with new facts. This book is a must for anyone who loves mystery/suspense.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 16, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Deeper Than The Dead

    1985 - A different time. A time when it wasn't as easy to track a criminal as it is today. The FBI behavioral sciences unit was just in its beginning stages and DNA analysis hadn't even started. Forget about having a fingerprint database, the police didn't have computers. So when three young kids literally stumble onto the partially buried body of woman, all hell breaks loose. Not only may there be a serial killer on the loose; can the killer be stopped before another woman is murdered. What is the connection to a local center for women? And don't forget the children and the trauma suffered by them. Tami Hoag as developed a multi-faceted novel with "Deeper than the Dead". Not only did I wanted to know who the killer was (she has you twisting and turning), I wanted to see how the children were going to react to this traumatic event. I have enjoyed her books in the past and this one is no different. It is an exhilarating story.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 9, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    WHO WILL BE THE NEXT TO DIE?

    One of Tami Hoag'ps better books.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 20, 2013

    Very good.

    I liked this book. I did guess the killer before the book ended, but there are stories within stories in this, with some very unexpected twists and turns. Entertaining.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 8, 2012

    Suspenseful and interesting

    I found this book while searching for a new book to read and I am glad I selected it. The author writes well (not always the case) and weaves an interesting story set in the 1980s - a challenge since we now have so many resources available today to more easily make connections in a murder. She presents her characters fully and it is easy to like, love or hate them. While one character seems to be the killer, she presents several others who might also be guilty. A good read, a definite page turner. I've since bought her next book in this series - "Secrets to the Grave" which refers back to this book when needed for clarification.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 4, 2012

    Good read

    Interesting read, who is the murderer .....

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 28, 2012

    Good short read

    Good short read with surprises

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 29, 2011

    Very Good

    I would recommend it

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2011

    I was hooked

    I could not put this book down. I really enjoyed it. I learned just enough about the main characters to care. The plot was good. I didn't get bored.
    This is my first Tami Hoag book and I am looking forward to reading the next one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 26, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Great Read...

    Not an avid book reader like most, but when I read, like when watching a 'movie', story line ineeds to keep my attention from start to finish. This does. Not sure about this stories ending... however, having said that, I enjoyed the plot, and characters. I am looking forward to reading her newest book. Been satisfied, and enjoyed all books purchased/read from this author. Six in my collection, to date. Cfnvster, Boynton Bch, FL

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 14, 2011

    Worth a try

    I had not previously read anything by this author. I enjoyed this book, and am looking forward to the release of the third book in the series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 10, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Highly suspensful

    This book will have you sitting on the edge of your seat by the end! The only reason I gave this book 4 stars is because I'm a bit squeamish and certain chapters made me uneasy.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2011

    dark and mysterious

    no opinion

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2011

    very eye catching

    I like the author, pretty much keep an eye on what she puts out there.Some friends and I pass books.Hers are always in the mix.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 203 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 11