Customer Reviews for

Deeper Than the Dead

Average Rating 4
( 641 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(261)

4 Star

(203)

3 Star

(92)

2 Star

(49)

1 Star

(36)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 644 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 33
  • Posted November 8, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    This is an exhilarating serial killer thriller

    In 1985 in Oak Knoll in Southern California, fifth-grader Tommy Crane and Wendy Morgan run away from the class bully Dennis Farman and his flunkie Cody Roach when the fleeing pair trips over over the head of a dead woman. The victim was buried in the woody section of Oakwood Park up to her neck; her eyes and mouth glued shut. Their fifth grade teacher Anne Navarre tries to help the two children cope.

    Sheriff's Detective Tony Mendez has just come home from attending an eleven-week profiling class at the FBI Academy. He points out this is the third victim in two years, but Dennis' father Chief Deputy Frank Farman says it is only two inside their jurisdiction and insists "signatures" have nothing to do with the case. Sheriff Cal Dixon points out the differences in the profile between this case and the previous two. Meanwhile Anne becomes the prime suspect as FBI Agent Vince Leone arrives to lead the investigation.

    This is an exhilarating serial killer thriller made fresh by using the mid 1980s as the date so that profiling remains voodoo to some old time law enforcement officials. The story line is fast paced from the moment Tommy trips over the head of the mostly interred victim and never slows down until the climax in a hospital room and a drive on the Interstate. Although too many threads are left dangling even for a sequel or two, fans will relish Tamu Hoag's enjoyable Reagan Era police procedural.

    Harriet Klausner

    15 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 21, 2010

    Loved It!

    I could not stop reading Deeper Than the Dead by Tami Hoag. I think its her best book yet. I liked it so much I bought the hardback for my mom, who also loved it. It is a crazy, dark story that keeps you guessing up 'til the very end. Of course I guessed totally wrong, but that's the way I like my murder/mysteries. I want to be surprised so I can read it again and find every detail and clue I missed. I am not really a hard core murder/mystery buff, but I have now read two of Tami Hoag's books and I am very impressed. Her writing hooks you right away and leaves you needing to read "just one more chapter" before you go to sleep. Be careful, you will find yourself reading into the wee hours of the night without even getting sleepy!

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 10, 2010

    Deep Than Dead

    I had a little bit of a hard time getting into the characters and plot but it was well written and carried everything that was going on very well. The children were well placed throughout the story as well as the adults. I especially liked the FBI agent's input into the investigation without trying to take over and the mentoring he was doing. The young teacher was a wonderful addition to the characters which showed a dedicated,caring person and very tolerant of a father who was a very bitter and self centered man. It was difficult at times to remember what it was like back in the 80's when the DNA was just coming into the picture and cell phones were almost non-existant. (How did we ever survive?)

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 23, 2010

    Stunning Return

    In a stunning return to writing, Tami Hoag changes the game by returning her readers to forensics of the past in "Deeper than the Dead". As fans, we find books cluttering the store shelves where protagonists need only turn on their blackberry to solve the most heinous crimes. It often seems to be a competition-similar to that of our favorite television shows-to offer us storylines that are more and more implausible yet easily solved using state-of-the-art technology.

    "Deeper than the Dead" returns us to a time where crimes are solved using instinct, people skills and good old-fashioned hard work. Without the benefit of computers or mobile devices, the authorities begin their manhunt when a small group of children stumbles upon the body of an unknown woman. In this small, peaceful California town-where families go to get away from crime-appearances are everything and the anxiety escalates as the body count rises and the suspect pool expands.

    Hoag's fans will agree that she has always had an amazing knack for creating strong, believable characters with interlocking plot lines but
    "Deeper than the Dead" displays a new chapter in this author's body of work. Readers will find themselves locked into a true gut wrenching suspense; surprised until the very end as unexpected turns remind us that books aren't always predictable.

    Reviewed by Suspense Magazine
    www.suspensemagazine.com

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 25, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Worth reading

    At the beginning, I thought this was going to be written with a feminists' agenda. That was short-lived. I found this author to be sensitive to all views. Although I sensed who the culprit was (and there were many possibilities) it was the author who revealed at the end....and then some. I recommend this book to the avid reader. I plan to look for her other works.....enjoy....xcptnc (pronounced "acceptance")

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 23, 2010

    Good Who-done-it!

    Just when I thought I knew who the bad guy was, it changed ... several times!! Bad language was only used in appropriate place to tell us what kind of person we are dealing with. Not too much sexual discriptions to distract from the thrilling plot. I love it when I'm surprised at an ending, and I was!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 6, 2010

    Just the kind of book that my circle of friends love to read.

    I really enjoyed this book. I actually couldn't put it down. Every page was a new twist with something happening. You get to know the characters and feel their emotions, while wanting to hurry to the next page.One of the best books I've read in a long time.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 21, 2011

    Amazing Hoag!

    The story is very fast paced, something you can't put down and forget about it for a hour. I had to read, breathe, sip my hot tea every now and then because that's how hot it was!! Hoag delivers punches after punches, and leaves you wondering what's next. Some of the characters - you can't help but feel sorry for. I enjoyed reading this book. This one was probably one of her best written books ever, and hope she continues in the same line with this. I'd be interested to see Mendez's character develop after the surprise ending of her book. Let's just say...the ending was a total mind-blowing surprise! I'm still trying to reel my head around it!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 21, 2011

    A TERRIFIC read!

    I have not been a Tami Hoag fan. I've tried in the past to get into her books, but the books haven't clicked with me. Not so with this new series: setting in 1985, during the early criminal profiling era appealed to me as I lived it live myself. Also, extremely appealing is the character development of the two protagonists: Vince and Anne. They are attention grabbing characters with fascinating backgrounds and character traits. I could not get enough of those characters, and can't wait to read the next in this series. The voice of the characters is real; I found myself reading SLOWLY, just so the book would not end! Now, THAT is the mark of a terrific read!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 1, 2011

    UNBELIEVABLE

    I am an avid reader of all the popular authors of fictional literature, and this is by far the most engulfing book I have ever read. From word one, I was hooked. I cannot remember another book having such a hold on me as this one did. 5 stars is not enough for this captivating story. Be prepared, dear readers, to feel your heart literally rise and fall in your chest. I finished the book in 5 days. A must read if you're a fan of the serial crime novel. BRAVO

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 15, 2011

    LOVE THIS BOOK!

    CAN'T PUT IT DOWN...AM READING IT EVERY WHERE I GO, CAN'T WAIT TO SEE "WHO DONE IT"! WRITTEN SO WELL. IT IS LIKE YOU ARE ACTUALLY LIVING IT WITH THEM. CAN'T WAIT TO READ HER OTHER BOOKS NOW! MY GRANDAUGHTER IS READING A COPY I BOUGHT FOR HER AS WELL. SHE IS BEATING ME. SHE CAN'T WAIT TO FINISH IT AS WELL! WE DISCUSS THE BOOK AND TRY TO FIGURE WHO THE KILLER MAY BE. SO MUCH FUN AND WONDERFUL READING. GRUESOME, BUT THRILLING!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 29, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    SCARY! INTENSE!

    Four Families and a Serial Killer...Scary, intense with plenty of twists and turns! Worth your time!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 15, 2010

    Deeper Than the Dead

    When four children stumble across the body of a young, female, homicide victim in a local public park, lives are changed forever. Not only for the children but for the rest of the town as well. A community is rocked by the revelation of horror in the midst of their sleepy little town. Tami Hoag takes us on a page turning, nail biting ride through this tale and leaves us wondering what will become of the youths who were changed forever on that fateful day. (A great read, not to be passed by!)

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 15, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    A look at the start of scientific crime solution.

    An engaging thriller that that takes place in 1984, the dawn of modern criminal investigation tools that we now take for granted. No DNA tests, computer records, fingerprint matches done by eye alone and more. The FBI think tank "The Nine" are just starting to scientifically investigate crime, i.e. profiling, taking a closer look at the smaller but very important factors that make each crime unique.
    In a sleepy California college town, four fifth graders are running through a wooded park when one falls onto a murdered woman who is buried up to her neck. They react in different ways and are lucky to have a committed teacher that tries to help them deal with their gruesome discovery. She also winds up helping the police and FBI by providing a conduit for information. She finds out many secrets that lie behind the 'small town' facade. Will that prove to be the tipping point that leads to the solution? Can they solve the mystery before anyone else is killed?

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 22, 2010

    One of her best

    I couldn't put this book down. I have read several of her books and this book is right up with her best.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 22, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Thrilling

    Tami Hoag did it again. The book is thrilling, rife with suspense and emotion. She explores the parent-child relationship, mostly abusive, and how it can mold and change us. I must admit, I had moments of true fear while I read and found I coudln't put the book down. I felt that I knew who the serial killer was the entire time, but she keeps throwing in suspects that make second guess ourselves--she literally keeps us guessing until the very end. I can't wait for her next book!

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 7, 2010

    Another serial killer thriller. Hoag sets her story in the mid-1980's, when the technology available/unavailable to investigators seems almost primitive in these days of CSI/24,etc. Fun read, good plot twists. Don't expect enlightenment, but fun.

    OK, so I enjoy a serial killer thriller as much as the next guy. This one was even more fun to read because I was actually an adult in the mid-80s and remember these types of story-lines on TV shows. The absence of techno here makes the investigators efforts and thought processes a more central part of the story than many contemporary thrillers.

    Hoag renders a tight plot-line and keeps the story moving toward the inevitable discovery of the killer/killers. Standard, but well written and entertaining for an afternoon read.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 6, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Tami Hoag is back with a vengeance!

    Great book that will keep you reading til all hours! Three children & their teacher find the body of women and the local police discover they have a serial killer on the loose. The killings marks the end of innocence for a small California town in 1984 as the ties that bind families are tested by secrets yet uncovered and everyone is a suspect in these brutal killings. You will follow the lives of the teacher, the cops, the locals and the children who found the body, never ever figuring out who dunnit til the very last neatly wrapped up chapter. BRAVO!!! If you loved Guilty as Sin as much as I did, this one somehow tops it!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 27, 2011

    Amazing!!

    One of the best books Ive read! Picked it up on a whim and loved every page of it!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 6, 2011

    A page turner

    Great suspense novel. I just downloaded the next book in the series and can' t wait to start reading!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 644 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 33