Customer Reviews for

Deeper Than the Dead

Average Rating 4
( 643 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(263)

4 Star

(203)

3 Star

(92)

2 Star

(49)

1 Star

(36)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 646 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 33
  • Posted March 29, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    ONE AWESOME READ!

    This is one of the best I've read in a long long time. Keeps you on the edge of your seat until the very end. You don't want to miss it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 23, 2010

    The Best Hoag Yet!!!

    Tami Hoag's Deeper than the Dead Is a definitely a keeper. The plot twists and turns and leaves you too horrified to turn the page- or put it down! I would recommend this book to all thrill seekers!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 20, 2010

    Deeper Than The Dead

    As usual, the latest book was great. It was exciting to the end. Wish it had been longer as I did not want to put it down. Keep up the good work Tami Hoag. You are one of my favorite authors who stays true to your books.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 20, 2010

    Classic Hoag delivers again

    I have always liked Hoag books after I discovered them in paperback at a Walmart years ago. I then read everything she had written and anxiously await the next one. This was no exception. Many twists and turns and at the end you still wonder really who the bad guy was. Worth waiting for and a great read for all mystery readers.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 12, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Thrilling and suspensful

    I love Tami Hoag thrillers. Deeper Than the Dead was not disappointing. It was well written and very captivating. I found it difficult to put down. The plot of the story may seem typical to suspense novels, but the mystery of "who dunnit" was what made this book so great. With the information the author provides for the characters, you think you know what's going on, and then you're doubting yourself when faced with new facts. This book is a must for anyone who loves mystery/suspense.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 16, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Deeper Than The Dead

    1985 - A different time. A time when it wasn't as easy to track a criminal as it is today. The FBI behavioral sciences unit was just in its beginning stages and DNA analysis hadn't even started. Forget about having a fingerprint database, the police didn't have computers. So when three young kids literally stumble onto the partially buried body of woman, all hell breaks loose. Not only may there be a serial killer on the loose; can the killer be stopped before another woman is murdered. What is the connection to a local center for women? And don't forget the children and the trauma suffered by them. Tami Hoag as developed a multi-faceted novel with "Deeper than the Dead". Not only did I wanted to know who the killer was (she has you twisting and turning), I wanted to see how the children were going to react to this traumatic event. I have enjoyed her books in the past and this one is no different. It is an exhilarating story.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 9, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    WHO WILL BE THE NEXT TO DIE?

    One of Tami Hoag'ps better books.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 30, 2014

    Great story line. Keeps you interested all the way through, can'

    Great story line. Keeps you interested all the way through, can't wait to start the sequel

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 5, 2014

    LOVE, LOVE , LOVE this series! Tami Hoag is one of my favorite a

    LOVE, LOVE , LOVE this series! Tami Hoag is one of my favorite authors. She keeps you interested from page one and guessing who done it till the end! This entire series is a MUST READ!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 22, 2013

    Poor

    The nosy teacher was totally unbelievable and really put me off the book. Teachers knew better than to push into their schoolchildrens'lives like that ib this time period. Maybe that kind of naivite was prevalent in the 50s, but it was long gone in the time period this ostensibly occurred. The book would have been much better without the annoying and utterly extraneous teacher.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 15, 2013

    Awesome book

    I have yet to read a Tami Hoag booki DIDNT like....I started with Night Sins like 15 years ago....and I have read about 15 others....I prefer mystery/suspence & she does it perfectly EVERY TIME.....if you like on your toes nail bitting....want to turn page before your even done reading present one...Tami Hoag is your girl.....Just keep writting them because I will certainly keep reading them :)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 3, 2013

    Godd read from a female author.

    Godd read from a female author.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 2, 2013

    Very Good Read!

    Tami follows thru on her quest to be one of the greatest authors of all time..I eagerly await her next novel!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 8, 2013

    Excellent

    Wow, could not put this book down!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 20, 2013

    Very good.

    I liked this book. I did guess the killer before the book ended, but there are stories within stories in this, with some very unexpected twists and turns. Entertaining.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 26, 2012

    Scary and thrilling, couldn't put it down.

    Well written

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 8, 2012

    Suspenseful and interesting

    I found this book while searching for a new book to read and I am glad I selected it. The author writes well (not always the case) and weaves an interesting story set in the 1980s - a challenge since we now have so many resources available today to more easily make connections in a murder. She presents her characters fully and it is easy to like, love or hate them. While one character seems to be the killer, she presents several others who might also be guilty. A good read, a definite page turner. I've since bought her next book in this series - "Secrets to the Grave" which refers back to this book when needed for clarification.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 24, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Such a great book!!!

    Hoag did such a great job with the plot, storyline and the characters! I really found this book hard to stop reading! It was a little depressing but she did such a good job developing her story that it doesn't disappoint.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 5, 2012

    Page turner

    This is the first book I have read from Tammy Hoag and it turned me into a fan instantly. Its so much more than suspence which is part that makes it good. Her writing keeps you wanting more. This is the first of three books in her oak knoll mini series and i loved all three.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 4, 2012

    Good read

    Interesting read, who is the murderer .....

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 646 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 33