Customer Reviews for

Deeper Than the Dead

Average Rating 4
( 640 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(260)

4 Star

(203)

3 Star

(92)

2 Star

(49)

1 Star

(36)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 203 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 11
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2011

    I like the cover-catching

    I have liked all of the Tami Hoag books that I have read. This one eill go on the book case for furture reading.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2011

    There are so sickos out their

    A very good read

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2011

    A little quiet

    I truly enjoyed this book. I have read Tami Hoag for years, the idea of writing a book such as this at a time when forensics was just beginning to become the science we take for granted today, was interesting and new. The plot was good, a little predicitable, but still kept you guessing. The characters grabbed you immediately, they were multi-dimensional and caused the reader to have strong feelings, either for or against them. I have already bought the second book, just so I can keep reading about these characters. I would definitely recommend this book to someone else.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2011

    Well written

    Good writer, have read most of what she has written and have enjoyed her books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2011

    Deeper

    CSI with a hint of romance.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2011

    Great read

    Enjoy Tami Hoag and the new series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2011

    A Gripping Thriller

    Great author, takes place in the 1980's when forensic profiling was young.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 15, 2012

    Good Read

    I love this writer and thought that this was one of her very best....Very diffrent twist and a great ending.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 8, 2011

    Good Mystery with romance

    First book I have read by this author and would definitely recommend to mystery lovers. Last 100 pages couldn't put it down until I knew the outcome!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 3, 2011

    highly recommended

    enjoyed her book as always! Hoping to see a sequel to this especially the way it ended! Will be watching for it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 1, 2011

    good read

    i was disappointed in the ending.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 9, 2011

    Excellent

    Enjoyed reading this book. First time reading Tami Hoag. There were so many surprises twists and suspense. If you like a long book that will keep u r interest this will do that. I will read another.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 13, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    As usual, Tami Hoag doesn't disappoint

    I am a long time fan of Tami Hoag, and so when I saw that she had a new novel out, I had to have it. It was one of the first books I got when I bought my nook! I wasn't disappointed. It's a good story, and I think she does a fantastic job of telling it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 2, 2011

    Very entertaining

    Fun read. Story moves quickly.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 1, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Lots of twists and turns!

    From the moment I read the very early scene where four children stumble on a dead body in the park I was hooked to read page after page of Deeper than the Dead. There are lots of twists and turns and a surprise ending to boot. For those of you that enjoy a great mystery/thriller try this book. Highly recommend.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 12, 2011

    Great mind twister!

    This was a great read It kept you on your toes until the end. There was some predictable things but overall it was oe that made for a lot of late nightsbecause I didn't want to put it down

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 6, 2010

    Very Interesting and Easy Read!!

    I like the way this story was written. The author teases and tricks you with introducing each character and scenario and the suddenly pulling you into totally different direction into a another character all together. Suspenseful and realistic. Its a long book-- 410 pages long but you won't feel it a you fly through the pages. Nice Job.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 5, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    A Page Turner Almost to the Very End

    I got this book for free. "Deeper than the Dead" by Tami Hoag is a fictional thriller set in 1985, before computers, forensics and a cell phone was as big as a brick (and weighed just as much). The book follows an FBI agent who is following a killer in a small town in California. Oak Knoll, a sleepy California college, town three children literally stumble upon a corpse in the ground. The victim is a young woman who has been jailed in her own body before she was killed - her moth and eyes are glued shut (with Superglue) and her eardrums are pierced. The killer becomes known ash the "See-No-Evil" murderer. Anne Navarre, the kids' teacher steps in to comfort them and help the police question the children in a manner which is appropriate and doesn't add to the trauma. FBI agent Vince Leone is a profiler, a science which is still new and untested - he is sent to Oak Knoll from the FBI's basement (hence the book's name) to try to catch a killer which leaves no evidence behind. "Deeper than the Dead" by Tami Hoag is a compelling, well written, fast paced thriller. If you are a child of the 80's (as I am) you'll get a kick out of all the "Miami Vice" and other pop culture references. The book's investigative team uses old fashion technology and hard work to attempt and solve a crime. That approach might seem strange and antiquarian but I still remember those days where a computer in your house was a luxury.and that was a Commodore 64. There are no DNA tests, computer records, fingerprint matches are still done manually and the science of profiling is just starting to catch on as legitimate. The book is deliciously suspenseful, surprising and the unexpected twists and turns are a delight which will held my attention throughout. There are several grim situations in the book, from descriptions of dysfunctional families to scenes of torture which are eluded to but never described. The characters in the book are strong, believable and Ms. Hoag created interlocking plotlines which work very well together. Surprisingly enough, the least interesting character in the book is the villain. The ending also lacked a punch, the story wrapped up quickly almost as an afterthought, there were many questions left unanswered and not everything was tied up in a neat package, which left the reader to wandering about the villain's accomplices, if there were any. There is some romantic interludes which add some complexity to the story but do not overshadow the thriller, but simply add to the characters strong relationship. "Deeper than the Dead" is a very good book and a page turner almost to the very end. For more book reviews please visit ManOfLaBook dot com

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 9, 2010

    Excellent Read!!

    This was my 1st Tami Hoag book and I LOVED it! I dont normally read mystery but this was GREAT!! I highly recommend it! Kept my attention the entire time I was reading it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 23, 2010

    First, but not my last Hoag Book

    Couldn't put it down. A great who-done-it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 203 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 11