Customer Reviews for

Deeper We Fall

Average Rating 4.5
( 48 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(31)

4 Star

(13)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

VERY UNEXPECTED

I really loved this book. I was totally blown away. I truely loved the characters. I laughed out loud. I cried really hard. And at times my heart ached. I kinda guessed what Zan was gonna tell Lottie at the cabin, but I'm so glad he told her. My heart literally hurt for...
I really loved this book. I was totally blown away. I truely loved the characters. I laughed out loud. I cried really hard. And at times my heart ached. I kinda guessed what Zan was gonna tell Lottie at the cabin, but I'm so glad he told her. My heart literally hurt for Lexi. I so highly recommend this story to everyone. You will definitely feel a plethora of emotions.

posted by 16789283 on May 7, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Bab bad bad

So so boring.....

posted by pse on February 19, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 31 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted May 17, 2013

    Dare I say that Chelsea M. Cameron has reached Abbi Glines, Coll

    Dare I say that Chelsea M. Cameron has reached Abbi Glines, Colleen Hoover, Steph Campbell, Elizabeth Reyes, Jamie McGuire, Liz Reinhadt, Tammara Webber, and Nicole Williams status with just one book? YES! I can not believe that I can be obsessed with a new author after just one book. This first book, Deeper We Fall, in the Rise and Fall series has knocked me off my feet and left me wanting more.



    I absolutely loved the emotional roller coaster that we ride in this well thought out book. I know that the bad boy meets good girl scenario is a bit cliché, but what if the boy is not that bad after all. I am a sucker for a bad boy, hence the Travis Maddox, Jude Ryder, and Beau Vincent obsessions, but I think that Zan Parker is in my top 5 all time book bad boys I wish were real (don’t tell anyone that I have these obsessions).



    So I really didn’t know what to expect with this book because the blurb honestly could have been written better now that I have read the book, but I guess that the author wanted to be mysterious in the synopsis. I actually bought the book and then got a review copy, and I was lucky enough to get the second book from the author(I do not know Ms. Cameron I received this copy for an honest review). I am so glad that I didn’t put this book on hold on my reader because it was GREAT.



    I would have already started the second book, Faster We Burn, but I happened to kill my reader’s battery blowing through this one. I am sad that I have to wait for the darn thing to charge before I can get my hands on the highly anticipated second installment. Ok so I have gone on and on about how I loved this book but if you are a fan of mature YA/New Adult you must try this one for yourself. My prediction is that Cheslea M. Cameron will be the next big thing.



    This story is beautifully written showing readers how forgiveness, redemption, healing, and love can change someone’s life dramatically. I Deeper We Fall a whopping 5 star review. Well done Ms. Cameron, well done!



    Alexander “Zan” Parker has been in love with Charlotte “Lottie” Anders since he can remember but having a crush on a girl older can leave you unnoticed. After a tragic car accident leaves Lottie’s best friend with a traumatic brain injury and Zan as the driver it seems like both teens’ worlds will never be the same.



    Lottie wants to move past the accident that haunts her everyday thoughts and goes away to college with her twin brother. But she soon discovers that the accident is part of her life with Zan and his ruthless brother Zack living in her dorm building on campus.



    Lottie soon learns that forgiveness and second chances are a must to heal.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 14, 2013

    Really Good!!

    Really Good!!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 7, 2013

    VERY UNEXPECTED

    I really loved this book. I was totally blown away. I truely loved the characters. I laughed out loud. I cried really hard. And at times my heart ached. I kinda guessed what Zan was gonna tell Lottie at the cabin, but I'm so glad he told her. My heart literally hurt for Lexi. I so highly recommend this story to everyone. You will definitely feel a plethora of emotions.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 3, 2013

    AMAZING

    I loved this book and everything about it. There were a few typos but I didn't even care. I absolutely recommend it! It's sort of like Beautiful Disaster by Jamie McGuire in a way.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 6, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    So many emotions! Cover Talk: I think this cover is simple and

    So many emotions!

    Cover Talk: I think this cover is simple and beautiful. After reading the book, I do wish it had more to do with the story. But it’s still beautiful.




    First Line: “How can you not see how delicious he is?”




    Why I Read It: a) I love following Chelsea on Twitter. She is such a hoot. b) I am all about the New Adult genre right now. It makes me happy.




    Characters: Lottie wants nothing more than to have a fresh start. She and her twin brother Will are starting college and just wants to put her past behind her. Their relationship makes me so happy. I love siblings who are willing to do anything for each other.




    Zan and Zack could not be any different. Zan is quiet, a reader, and actually cares about others. Zack is a womanizer and an ass. I wanted to punch Zack in the face so many times. It amazed me how they could possibly be related.




    Trish, Katie, Audrey, Stryker and Simon complete this story. Every single character in this book is absolutely worth mentioning because they are all  equally wonderful, even though the story is not about them.




    Trish and Styker are sister and brother. They are pierced and tatted up and are my favorite characters. Katie is Lottie’s roommate and her character changes so much throughout the book. Almost as much as Lottie. Audrey is Lottie’s kindred spirit and Simon is the token gay friend, who I absolutely love.




    Plot/World-building: This book is full of pain and heartache, but also joy and love. The best thing about Deeper We Fall is the characters as I mentioned already. Lottie and Zan both go through such a huge transformation in this book and I was rooting for them the whole way.




    This book not only deals with forgiving your mortal enemy, but also relationship abuse and drunk driving. These are not the foremost plotlines, but they play such a huge part in this book. I really like how Chelsea Cameron was not afraid to really go at these very real issues. Especially in the college setting.




    The romances in Deeper We Fall are all wonderful. I cannot wait for the second book, Faster We Burn, because we get to see more of Katie and the aftermath of what happens in Deeper We Fall.




    Final Thoughts: I very much enjoyed this book and absolutely recommend it. If you have not read any NA books yet, grab this one and you will fall in love. If you have read NA but have not read this one yet, grab this one. Now.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 2, 2013

    This is the second book I have read by Chelsea M. Cameron, the f

    This is the second book I have read by Chelsea M. Cameron, the first being My Favorite Mistake, which I loved!! I couldn't put Deeper We Fall down, I was hooked right away. Deeper We Fall is told in both POVs of Lottie and Zan. I love the dual POV because you really get to understand what the other character is feeling or thinking in important situations. Lottie/Charlotte was a great main female character. (She made me laugh alot.) The Parker Brothers/"Brother's Of Doom" Zan/Alex and Zack caused Lottie's best friend, Lexie, to become brain damaged in a car accident two years ago when they were in Highschool and she hated them for it. Then Zan and Zack show up at the same college as Lottie and her twin brother Will are attending, Lottie feels like she can't get away from them. Everywhere she turns one of them is there. Lottie holds onto so much guilt and anger, when it isn't her fault. Lottie doesn't know what to do, she starts to have feelings for Zan. She doesn't know if she is 'allowed' to have feelings for Zan, she has always thought of him as a monster that destroyed all of their lives. Her loyalty has always been with her best friend Lexie, but she also has feelings for Zan, will she let go of her guilt to love them both? You will have to read and find out!!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 23, 2013

    Loved loved

    I loved this book it was a great story and I fell in love with zan it's a must read

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 21, 2013

    So good.

    Such a tragic event turns into a beautiful story. I fall in love with Zan such a sad soul.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 20, 2013

    Awesome

    So good...really enjoyed it...read it in on day

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 17, 2013

    Okay, let's get right down to business: Deeper We Fall is one of

    Okay, let's get right down to business: Deeper We Fall is one of my new all time favorite books. I completely devoured it and was hooked from the very first page. It had everything I love: romance, tragedy, friendship, and a mysterious, sexy as hell leading man. 




    The book starts off with a heartbreaking tragedy and the author handles the situation very well. The main characters had to do a lot of forgiving other people and also forgiving themselves. The plot of the story is very unique and it really brings the reader in to feel like they're right there with the characters. 




    Lottie.. She makes an amazing main character. She was such a caring best friend, twin sister, and later girlfriend. All of the struggles she had to go through with forgiving herself and Zan for what happened to her best friend really inspired me. 




    Zan.. where to even start with him. My heart broke for him from the very beginning, especially when you find out the secret he has been holding in for so long! I fell in love with him right along with Lottie and to be honest, I'm even a little jealous of her. He may just be my new book boyfriend (;




    Zack.. one word: Jerk. I hated him from the very beginning until the very end. He was such a selfish man and deserved to get way more than what he did.




    Chelsea M. Cameron made me feel like I was a character in the book! I loved every moment of it. I smiled, got angry, cried and loved along with the characters in this story. Deeper We Fall is an incredible story from an incredible author! This book will be a re-read for me for many, many years to come! If you haven't bought it yet, what are you waiting for? GO BUY IT!! 




    Definitely a 5 star book!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 3, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    I received this book from NetGalley in exchange for an honest re

    I received this book from NetGalley in exchange for an honest review.

    Amazing and Captivating are two words I would use to describe Deeper We Fall. From the very first page I was engrossed by the characters in this book. I felt their pain, heartache, sadness, guilt, bitterness, anger, hatred and most of all love. The author allows the reader to come along this emotional journey with the characters. Accidents happen. Lives are changed. What do we do with the broken pieces? Guilt and anger are destructive emotions. Is it possible to forgive? Lottie and Zan are on a collision course. Can they get past the accident that changed their lives?

    If you are looking for a book that you won't want to put down, then this is the book for you. I am looking forward to see what happens next.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 9, 2014

    Must Read!

    I took a chance on this book, and boy was I glad I did! It was magnificent! I was hesitant to buy it at first because it was more expensive (about $4, but hey, I'm a student) and it had more of a sad feel to it based on the overview. However, I absolutely fell in love with it and the characters. I immediately bought and read the rest of the series upon finishing this one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 22, 2014

    I received a copy of this book in exchange for an honest review.

    I received a copy of this book in exchange for an honest review....Charlotte “Lottie” is off to college with her twin brother and his best friend Simon. Lottie is trying to move past the tragic night that ruined her best friend’s future and life, but still finds herself blaming herself and hating to the two brothers who caused her best friends destruction.
    Through coincidence, fate or sheer bad luck, Lottie stands face to face with not just one, but both of the boys who she has hated for the last two years. Deeper We Fall is a heartbreaking, yet heartwarming story that encompasses the power of forgiveness, friendship and love.
    I absolutely loved this book and couldn’t put it down. The beginning half of this book builds so much anticipation and while doing so brings you into the lives of the characters. Starting the story with Lottie, Will and Simon you can’t help but tottaly love their banter, wit and playfulness. Lottie and Will’s bond is so strong that you can’t help but admire them and their closeness. As the characters are introduced there is this web that is formed that connects all of them, strengthening their friendships. The author did a wonderful job of making sure each character had a purpose, that their presence in the story had meaning. The building anticipation of what would happen with Lottie and Zan truly kept the story moving and kept me reading. There is a turn of events in the story and the reader becomes a part of this ‘family’ as they are also finding their footing with each other.
    The deeper we fall was truly a beautiful and captivating story. It never got boring or redundant; it kept moving forward and had an amazing and fun cast of characters.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 18, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    I¿m glad I opened up Deeper We Fall. I read Cameron¿s My Favorit

    I’m glad I opened up Deeper We Fall. I read Cameron’s My Favorite Mistake recently, and was pleased with what I read, but with Deeper We Fall, I can say that I won’t be shying away from other books by this author any time soon. Near the end of this book, I went out and bought book 2, even without reading the last few chapters at the time. Once I did finish, my impulse to buy Faster We Burn was justified.

    What I enjoyed from this book was that it wasn’t exactly the typical “bad boy meets damaged girl” storyline that many books follow. There’s nothing ultimately wrong with that type of story, but seeing it changed up even the slightest helped me enjoy this one a bit more. Instead of the damaged girl having something happen directly to her, it was her friend that was on the receiving end of a bad situation. Yes, this did affect Lottie, but at a different level than many books. It’s a similar situation with Zan, the male lead.

    Another thing I liked was the dual POV. I’m not always pleased with dual POV books because some authors can’t write two different voices or keep the points of view separate enough while keeping the flow of the story going. Deeper We Fall benefited from the dual POV, though. Seeing what’s going on in both character’s heads was great. I also think it was done in a way that didn’t reveal too much as to spoil the story. That’s another obstacle when getting into one of the  antagonists’ (Zan’s) heads. It also allowed me to sympathize with Zan, when in a book from just Lottie’s POV, I might be “forced” to hate him like she seems to.

    I don’t want to discuss the plot too much in this review. It’s best to let the reader find out about that through reading the book itself. There are some nice plot points enjoyed, some fun moments, and also some very emotional ones. There’s a lot of punch packed inside this book. I’m hoping that in the next book, I’ll find even more to like about this series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 19, 2013

    Loved it

    i have re-read this book many time and will enjoyit ever time

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 28, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    This is a really good book so we are just going to jump right i

    This is a really good book so we are just going to jump right into the review today! First of all, you need to know that this book is written from different point of views. This often just irritates me. Like, a lot. But not this time. I really loved the altering pov's. I can't see Deeper We Fall being written any other way. I don't think that the book would have worked if it was written in the "traditional" way. I really like seeing what is going on in the other characters minds - it offers invaluable insight into who they are and it really connects you to the story and the characters.

    I was a pretty good chunk into the book and I was just itching for Lottie and Zan to interact in some way. I don't think I've ever wanted something to happen in a book so badly before. I'm pretty glad that our boys were at school when I was reading this because they would have been confused by my yelling, "COME ON!!". Unfortunately, I did that more than once. But it wasn't because I was getting irritated with the book - I can't say that enough. I just wanted it to happen so badly because Cameron had written these two characters in such a way that they had turned into my friends almost. She made them so realistic that it felt as if I was reading a diary.

    I found myself becoming almost protective over Zan. The hand he was dealt really hit me. I've never known anyone involved in an accident like the one that the story was woven around, but it affected me. I wanted to jump into the book and shield him from any hurtful comments or actions and then maybe kick his brother's ass.

    Deeper We Fall was very, very, very close to getting five stars. There was only one thing that bothered me and it may not bother other people as much. It was the fact that To Kill a Mockingbird was brought up so much. Come on, I love that book as much as the next person but it was referenced constantly. To the point of being irritating. Now, that could just be because I have a 6 year old that incessantly repeats himself. Redundantly. It drives me up the wall. So I might be a little more sensitive to the repetitive references. On the other hand, the same thing that bothered me, really held the story together. I know, that doesn't make sense. But that's how it is.

    You know what ... after writing this whole thing, I think that I'm going to give the book five stars. It really does deserve it. When a book gives me a case of the "Just-One-More-Page" and keeps me up until 3am when I have to get up at 6am to get our boys off to school, you deserve five stars. FIVE STARS IT IS!

    I guarantee that this will not be the last you hear of Chelsea Cameron. Go grab some of her books before it becomes the cool thing to do. You don't want to be a follower, be the leader!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 15, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Once again, Chelsea M. Cameron has wowed me! I'll be honest, the

    Once again, Chelsea M. Cameron has wowed me! I'll be honest, the first 50 or so pages of Deeper We Fall was a bit slow, and Lottie (as well as a few other characters) annoyed me. But before too long the characters all started to grow on me, and the story picked up. Soon, I was flipping pages as quickly as I could, lost in Lottie and Zan's world.


    Deeper We Fall is an emotional romance; their HEA does not come easily, they both have major baggage to deal with, a shared past that haunts them both... I loved the tension between Lottie and Zan, and, like Lottie threatens to do with her friend and twin, I was ready to shove the two in a closet until they realized they belonged together. :) But realize it they did, and looking back I am glad that they didn't just fall into bed, as that would have pissed me off. As I said, they had a lot to deal with—together and personally—before they could even get to that stage in their relationship.




    Cameron knows how to write great heroes—much like Hinter (in her other book, MFM), Zan is sexy. The world looks at him and sees a “bad boy” that will go nowhere, but in reality he is nothing like that. He is caring, working hard to get past his mistakes, to make his life better. He tries to cover up for his jerky brother, though he knows he should let Zack deal with his own crap instead. The fact that he was trying to help his brother, even though Zack didn't really deserve it, said a lot about his character. Ah, Zan... I love you!

    After reading Deeper We Fall, I cannot wait to dive into Katie and Stryker's book next! (Stryker grabbed my attention from the moment he stepped on to the page, but when I saw him helping Katie... * swoons * ). So far, two for two; both of Chelsea M. Cameron's books have left a smile on my face, and deserve a spot on my keeper shelf. This is definitely an author to add to your list! While MFM had more fun banter between the h/hr, DWF has a few such lines here and there. The two books are very different, but Cameron's voice is still the same, and I loved both books, if for different reasons. The snippet for Faster We Burn was a big tease—must have Stryker's books NOW! :) Well done, Chelsea, well done!

    4.5 Stars!
    ~ * ~ * ~

    For my full review of Deeper We Fall, including favorite book quotes, please visit my blog, TBQ's Book Palace.

    I received this book from NetGalley in exchange for my honest opinion.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 31, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Lottie just wants to have a normal life after what happened to h

    Lottie just wants to have a normal life after what happened to her best friend Lexi. That night changed everything and two years later she finally thinks she can move on.

    Zan has been punishing himself for the past two years after what happened. He goes to what his brother calls a “Freak” school and paid for his crimes. Now he just wants a fresh start.

    What they didn’t expect was to end up at the same college.

    Lottie and Zan will try to stay away from each other, but the deeper they fall the harder it is to stay away.

    What can I not say about this book. It was just that good. I’ve been reading a lot of contemporary lately and this is as good as it gets. I knew going in that it was going to be emotional but gosh this book was DEEP!!!!! I’m glad it was from Lottie’s and Zan’s POV. If not it would have had the same effect. We get to watch Lottie come to terms with what happened and learning to forgive. We get to watch her struggle as she fights he feelings for Zan. Zan the guy who was driving the car her friend got hurt in. Zan we find out that he is a kind soul and all he wants to Lottie to forgive him. He is always down on himself and sounds much older than his 17 years. I love all the characters and they all had a part to play and they were all developed beautifully. There were some times that I was frustrated with Lottie, but I really enjoyed her as a character and her brother, Will. I loved watching them interact. The hard thing to watch was Zack and Katie. I don’t know how girls can fall for guys like him. He is just a bad person. That being said this book is going to touch a lot of people’s hearts.

    Overall: Beautifully written and emotional to the MAX.

    Lottie- She has what you call “Diarrhea” of the mouth. She is constantly talking and says whatever is on her mind. She is also a type of person that when she loves, she loves deeply. It’s not just a little. When she loves you, she would do just about anything to make sure that you are ok.

    Will- The goof ball twin brother. He is a all around nice guy. He is funny and I love the relationship he has with Lottie. He is a very good brother.

    Zan- He has a lot of baggage and he is a man of a few words. He loves to run, read and listen to music. He is always taking care of his brother when it should be the other way around. I loved getting to know him and I might be a little in love with him.

    Zack- I don’t want to go into a rant so I’ll just say he is a complete JERK that needs to be kicked in the balls a couple of times and then have his manhood cut away……..that is all.


    5 STARS!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 3, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 7, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 31 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2