Customer Reviews for

Deeply, Desperately (Lucy Valentine Series #2)

Average Rating 4.5
( 244 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(140)

4 Star

(70)

3 Star

(17)

2 Star

(6)

1 Star

(11)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 70 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4
  • Posted September 10, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    review taken from One Book At A Time http://onebooktime.blogspot.com

    If you like light romance with a bit of mystery, then I highly recommend this series. With two books to date, I can't help but love the main character Lucy, and the quirky cast that makes up this story. She's just as fun, smart, and witty in this one. I can see myself becoming a follower of this series for as long as remains true to the initial storyline (or she stops writing them).

    I love how each story seems to include a mystery that involves the family business and a mystery the has Lucy using her powers. In this book, Lucy helps an older gentleman find his lost love from before he was sent off to war. I thought this story was very sweet and I loved the closure. Plus, the mystery that Lucy solves involving a missing person is interesting. Although, I don't think it brought quite the amount of danger that seemed to be in the first book.

    The romance between Sean and Lucy makes some headway. Which is a relief, because I was afraid the author might choose to drag it out for a few books. I really enjoy how intense their attraction seems to be but has a basis of true feelings and not just lust. I'm looking forward to the next one!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 27, 2014

    I didn't like as much as the first but still a very good read.  

    I didn't like as much as the first but still a very good read.  I loved the first one so much.  Love Heather Webber!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 1, 2012

    FUN CUTE AND REFRESHING

    Fun light humor book. Enjoyed the entire series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 3, 2011

    Great book

    I loved this series, The author drew me in and made me want to read more. Amazing book and an amazing author, hopefully theres an another book coming!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 6, 2011

    Loving this series!!

    Deeply, Desperately is the second Lucy Valentine novel by Heather Webber. Lucy Valentine is the daughter of Oscar Valentine, who started up a renowned matchmaking business. The Valentines have been blessed with being able to see a person's aurora and can tell when two auroras are a match, hence the success of the business. Unfortunately for Lucy, she lost her ability to see auroras and it was replaced with the ability to find missing objects. Lucy opened up her own business to help find missing people. She also sidelines by helping the police department with missing person cases. Sean Donahue, a private investigator helps Lucy from time to time and is also her boyfriend.

    In Deeply, Desperately, Lucy and Sean's relationship is moving to the next level, but Lucy is afraid because even though the Valentine's are responsible for many successful relationships, their own love lives are abysmal failures. Lucy is afraid of following the same pattern and has been very cautious with Sean. In addition to her love life, Lucy is trying to help an 80 year old POW find his lost lady love of 50 some years ago and is also helping the police find a missing woman.

    I really enjoyed Deeply, Desperately. It is a cute book and Lucy is a great character. She is down to earth, loving and sensible. I enjoyed this second book even better than the first. It was just a fun story. The pacing is great. There is a lot going on in the book and the mysteries are balanced by Lucy's personal life. Lucy has got a great head on her shoulders and it is fun to follow along with her on her cases. It is also a treat to see her struggle over her feelings for Sean. I also really enjoy Lucy's interactions with her friends and family. They are a big point of focus in the book and it makes Lucy all the more easily to relate to. I am looking forward to more of this series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 20, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Cute Story...worth the money

    I read the first Lucy Valentine Book and really enjoyed it so much I bought the second and will buy the third.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 6, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Love Paranormal...

    The second installment to the Lucy Valentine series is fantastic. I read Truly, Madly as an ARC in December 2009 and fell in love with Lucy Valentine and her band of characters. We find Lucy throwing herself into her new business "Lost Loves" and the ever imposing idea of Cupid's Curse. Will Lucy and Sean be doomed?

    I love Heather Webber's writing style. It flows so naturally and throws you into Lucy's world completely. I really feel like a spectator next to Lucy in every written scene. The fun, adventure, and suspense are all wrapped up in a pretty pink bow, that is the cover! Heather is able to intertwine the stalling, sometimes sputtering, love affair of Lucy and Sean with suspenseful investigative work which has you guessing and speculating page after page. I love the humor of Lucy dealing with friends and family non-stop, exciting drama. We add new characters to the mix in this second book that are funny and only setup us up for exciting new story lines in the third book due out next year.

    I love this series and cannot wait for the third installment Absolutely, Positively to come out in February... it is one of my eagerly anticipated Upcoming Releases. I am crossing my fingers that an ARC is available for this and I am lucky enough to win another Heather Webber book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 11, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    "Deeply, Desperately" is another hit

    A missing woman, a lost love, and complicated romances are just part of "Deeply, Desperately" by Heather Webber. Lucy Valentine is working hard to start her own portion of the family match-making business. She is also working hard at keeping Sean (the man she loves) at a safe distance due to the family "curse." But, will that last? She is also getting threatening letters from someone. While the police are investigating, she still worries. Who is behind the letters and do they mean her harm? Come join Lucy as she works to find lost items and people in this latest "Lucy Valentine" novel.

    I enjoyed reading this book as much as the first installment, "Truly, Madly." It is a fun, sometimes comical read with lots of real detective work thrown in. So, if you like to mix up your reading, why not add this latest novel by Heather Webber. You just might find yourself smiling and laughing as much as me.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    enjoyable lighthearted frolic

    Although being able to read auras can be a hardship as not all are positive, the Valentine family uses it to enhance their Boston based matchmaking service. Additionally, Lucy Valentine brings to the firm the ability to find missing objects; her focus recently has been on locating lost loves.

    However, her latest lost love recovery turns shockingly into a murder case. Even with her psychic ability, Lucy knows she is out of her element so she asks private-investigator Sean Donahue for help. As the pair investigates the homicide, their attraction ignites, but her family's curse appears too strong to be overcome by a mere wanting.

    The second Valentine tale (see Truly, Madly) is an enjoyable lighthearted frolic. The P.I. and the lost love finder make for a strong pairing as each uses different skill sets to find missing people or things. The support cast, mostly her blood relatives, adds amusing zaniness over the top of the Green Monster as the lead duet works the case, the curse, and the coupling. Readers will root for the Deeply, Desperate Lucy to find her groove this time.

    Harriet Klausner

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 1, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 2, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 27, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 14, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 28, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 3, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 13, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 16, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 21, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 17, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 70 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4