BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Deeply Odd (Odd Thomas Series #6)

Average Rating 4
( 159 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(90)

4 Star

(31)

3 Star

(22)

2 Star

(9)

1 Star

(7)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

19 out of 21 people found this review helpful.

Dean Koontz is an exceptional writer, and the Odd Thomas series

Dean Koontz is an exceptional writer, and the Odd Thomas series is some of his best work. There seemed to be a few years where he was just releasing some books to fulfill his contract with his publisher, but those days seem over. A very good writer telling a story he cl...
Dean Koontz is an exceptional writer, and the Odd Thomas series is some of his best work. There seemed to be a few years where he was just releasing some books to fulfill his contract with his publisher, but those days seem over. A very good writer telling a story he clearly loves telling. Hopefully the movie(s) does his series justice. 

posted by skylisemo on May 28, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

16 out of 25 people found this review helpful.

How Disappointing. I am a Koontz fan from way back & have al

How Disappointing. I am a Koontz fan from way back & have all his books, most twice. I love Odd, but Deeply Odd is such a disappointment that I will not buy another book just because Koontz wrote it. For one the book really lacks a plot or anything else for that mat...
How Disappointing. I am a Koontz fan from way back & have all his books, most twice. I love Odd, but Deeply Odd is such a disappointment that I will not buy another book just because Koontz wrote it. For one the book really lacks a plot or anything else for that matter, unless you want to call pages upon pages and chapters upon chapters of him describing to you what a warehouse looks like and scenery on road trips look like; because that is what this book is all about. Right from the get go Koontz tells you that off has a vision about a truck driver killing some kids, he does not even peak your interest with this. I felt I knew the ending before it even began. He did introduce 2 new characters he could have developed quite nicely but of course he didn't which was another disappointment. The take I got from this book is that Koontz either had someone else write this for him...since Odd did not even sound like Odd on the few occasions he even spoke or did something other describe things in the book, or Koontz has major writers block and owed a publishing company a novel with so many words...since that is all this book is is WORDS with no purpose or intent. I'd just like to know how he managed to screw up a book about such a well established character as Odd. Like others who are Odd fans I would have like to have seen Odd meet up with Chris Snow or Deucalion. I mean really even if he had writers block there was so many other places he could have gone with this story than to just give us a bunch of meaningless descriptions that basically had nothing to do with the story other than fill up pages. No writer can put out great story's every time, but how can you screw up such a wonderfully established character such as Odd....from this point on I will be going to B&N book stores and using my hour free read on my Nook before buying one of his books. I was not too happy with his last book 77 Shadow Street either, I felt the same way, that he was just trying to fill pages with words. Such a disappointment to lose one of your favorite authors.     

posted by Debi1 on June 19, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 159 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 8
  • Posted May 28, 2013

    Dean Koontz is an exceptional writer, and the Odd Thomas series

    Dean Koontz is an exceptional writer, and the Odd Thomas series is some of his best work. There seemed to be a few years where he was just releasing some books to fulfill his contract with his publisher, but those days seem over. A very good writer telling a story he clearly loves telling. Hopefully the movie(s) does his series justice. 

    19 out of 21 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 19, 2013

    I Also Recommend:

    How Disappointing. I am a Koontz fan from way back & have al

    How Disappointing. I am a Koontz fan from way back & have all his books, most twice. I love Odd, but Deeply Odd is such a disappointment that I will not buy another book just because Koontz wrote it. For one the book really lacks a plot or anything else for that matter, unless you want to call pages upon pages and chapters upon chapters of him describing to you what a warehouse looks like and scenery on road trips look like; because that is what this book is all about. Right from the get go Koontz tells you that off has a vision about a truck driver killing some kids, he does not even peak your interest with this. I felt I knew the ending before it even began. He did introduce 2 new characters he could have developed quite nicely but of course he didn't which was another disappointment. The take I got from this book is that Koontz either had someone else write this for him...since Odd did not even sound like Odd on the few occasions he even spoke or did something other describe things in the book, or Koontz has major writers block and owed a publishing company a novel with so many words...since that is all this book is is WORDS with no purpose or intent. I'd just like to know how he managed to screw up a book about such a well established character as Odd. Like others who are Odd fans I would have like to have seen Odd meet up with Chris Snow or Deucalion. I mean really even if he had writers block there was so many other places he could have gone with this story than to just give us a bunch of meaningless descriptions that basically had nothing to do with the story other than fill up pages. No writer can put out great story's every time, but how can you screw up such a wonderfully established character such as Odd....from this point on I will be going to B&N book stores and using my hour free read on my Nook before buying one of his books. I was not too happy with his last book 77 Shadow Street either, I felt the same way, that he was just trying to fill pages with words. Such a disappointment to lose one of your favorite authors.     

    16 out of 25 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 31, 2014

    I Also Recommend:

    On a trip to town Odd has an encounter with a flamboyantly dress

    On a trip to town Odd has an encounter with a flamboyantly dressed trucker whom he refers to as the Rhinestone Cowboy. He has a vision of him burning three children on stage with a flamethrower and follows the trucker to a market where he disappears. Odd knows his next quest has begun.




    He meets Edie Fischer, an 86 year old pixyish FBI Agent Dana Scully look alike, who is in need of a chauffeur. Odd reluctantly accepts this roll as he needs a vehicle in which to follow the Rhinestone Cowboy to a truck stop. Here we meet the Koontz obligatory "Celeb du Libra" Alfred Hitchcock.




    The reader begins to suspect that the Rhinestone Cowboy might have as many paranormal talents as Odd making him a formidable adversary. Odd, who believes that intuition is the highest form of knowledge knows he must play out this drama to save the three children as he continues the pursuit and follows the monster along the highways and byways of California and into his hellish chimeras.This novel, "Deeply Odd", is a great story for the most part. Odd Thomas is here using his psychic magnetism to track down the "rhinestone cowboy trucker" who has powers of his own. That was a nice twist, as we saw that Odd wasn't the only person in the world with a touch of the supernatural on their lives. Unfortunately, the things that made the first book so interesting have slowly begun to fade away in the last two or three novels in the series. I am all for character growth, but it seems as if Dean has almost lost his original idea of what made Odd so special and has been moving him into a new character. For one thing, in this novel the inner monologues become incredibly chatty, sometimes meandering so long you forget what Odd was doing at that point. Annamarie is another problem. I can fully appreciate the enigmatic angle Dean is going for with her, but she is so otherworldly now (appearing out of nowhere in a thrift store hundreds of miles away from where Odd left her, only to find she isn't really there but is still at home but WAS there hours ago...with no transportation of any kind) she's almost ridiculous. You just got love love Odd. 

    9 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 3, 2013

    Couldn't put this one down. Listened to it on audio and finished

    Couldn't put this one down. Listened to it on audio and finished it in two days. I really enjoyed the ending of the book along with the new characters. Dean Koontz did great on this one 

    9 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 4, 2013

    Loved it

    I couldnt put this book down. I was anxious for the release and was not dissapointed. This was worth the wait and was an enjoyable read.

    7 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 7, 2013

    Another great book by Dean Koontz, He starts the action off pret

    Another great book by Dean Koontz, He starts the action off pretty fast in this book and that's really good and stops every so often for a comedic break so in the norm for odd thomas novels I'm sad the series is ending in the next book but every good series must come to an end

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 3, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Got it on Friday and couldn't hardly put it down. Read it in two

    Got it on Friday and couldn't hardly put it down. Read it in two sittings. Very well done, and now I can't wait for the final book.

    6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 8, 2013

    Deeply Odd

    Well written and oddly funny/inspiring/disturbing!

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 4, 2013

    Boring

    I love the Oddie books but I could not get into it. Gave up after pg. 100...

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 27, 2013

    Favorite!

    This is a wonderful series and this is my favorite book of the series. I hope there are more to come.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 27, 2013

    Just finished this book.  I've read them all and once done you c

    Just finished this book.  I've read them all and once done you can't wait for the next book.  I highly recommend this Odd story

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 28, 2013

    I ENJOYED READING THE EXCERPT OF THIS BOOK, AND I FULLY INTEND T

    I ENJOYED READING THE EXCERPT OF THIS BOOK, AND I FULLY INTEND TO PURCHASE A COPY FOR MY BOOK COLLECTION! WE NEED MORE AUTHORS LIKE MR. KOONTZ!
    THOUROUGHLY ENJOYED THE SMALL AMOUNT OF THIS BOOK THAT I WAS ABLE TO READ WITH OUT
    HAVING TO BUY THE BOOK BEFORE I KNEW IF I WAS GOING TO LIKE IT!

    4 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 6, 2013

    "Deeply Odd" the newest addition to the Odd Thomas ser

    "Deeply Odd" the newest addition to the Odd Thomas series is an enthralling tale. This novel grabs your attention from page one and does not dissapoint. "Deeply Odd" is possibly the best novel in the series thus far.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 1, 2014

    Disappointing

    I have been reading Dean Koontz since before he became DEAN KOONTZ - every single book! Loved the beginning of the ODD series. Dean should have stopped at #5! His writing is just rambling on to fill up the pages and satisfy the terms of his contract? Very un-Koontz like - terribly disappointed!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 26, 2014

    Bit of a disappointment...especially for an fan of the Odd series.

    I have been a big fan of Dean Koontz' work for years, but it seems that this book failed to hit the high mark found in earlier books. Side characters are underdeveloped and shallow, the story/plot barely keeps one engaged, and most of the book is full of "writers fluff"- non-essential, flowery descriptions of places, etc., that do nothing to move the story forward. Mr Koontz must have been given a short deadline from his publisher on this one...seems like he just went through the motions to knock a book out.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 9, 2014

    Odd Series

    I love this series, and the first was the best! However in the character of Edie, Koontz once again captures us with an incredible character! A definite must read series!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 14, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    I love Dean Koontz. I have been reading his books for over 20 ye

    I love Dean Koontz. I have been reading his books for over 20 years. But I suggest that Mr. Koontz put quality ahead of quantity and stop a series before it bores hisreaders to death. This book totally jumped the shark!
    Disappointed!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 14, 2013

    Losing soul of Odd

    Love the character but more and more getting the feeling Koontz is losing the soul of the character. Story is weak compared to earlier novels. It seems author does not love the character as I do, but loves the money. So many possibilities........

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 13, 2013

    not so recommended

    This one was not as good as the past. It felt he was just putting words on the page. I did not enjoy it

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 8, 2013

    Disappointing.Not up to the standards of the series.

    All of the other books in this series grabbed me from Chapter One. I was struggling to get through the first three Chapters of Deeply Odd. The personal attatchment just wasn't there for me. I usually read these books in three to four days. It took me two weeks this time. I hope the next one doesn't disappoint. I would truely miss Odd.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 159 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 8