Customer Reviews for

Deepsix (Priscilla "Hutch" Hutchins Series #2)

Average Rating 4
( 25 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(13)

4 Star

(8)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 13 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 22, 2014

    Masterful adventure

    Jack McDevitt's works are always good, and this one is great. A grand adventure, yet also people centric. Bravo! Always fun to read about 'Hutch' and her life.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 10, 2013

    Absolutely great!

    Excellent writing.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 30, 2011

    Really, really good.

    I received this book as a gift and it sat on my shelf for about a year before I got around to reading it. I'd never heard of the author and it just didn't look interesting. Boy was I wrong. McDevitt is now one of my favorite authors and this is one of his best books. It doesn't have rampaging alien hoards or anything like that. It mixes an interesting sci-fi premise (two planets colliding) with a tried and true tale of a stranded group of people trying to find a way off the planet. McDevitt develops the characters in great depth and variety, from the cable news inspired pundit everyone loves to hate to a fearful scientist in need of redemption. I couldn't put this book down and it drew me into the entire series.
    Thankfully, you don't need to read the preceding books to understand this one, as it stands completely on its own. I would highly recommend this book to anyone in search of an interesting read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 21, 2005

    WOW What a tale?

    Jack McDevitt is by far the best science fiction writer to come along in a long, long time. DEEPSIX is a book you will not put down until you know what has happened to the ground crew on Deepsix. And when you do know, what a fantastic tale it is. My advice is to read anything and everything that Jack McDevitt writes - you cannot go wrong.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 20, 2001

    Magnificen combination of hard science and wondrous imagination

    Deepsix is that most rare find in Science Fiction literature--the novel that rekindles the sense of grand adventure that Heinlein, Asimov, Bradbury gave to us when we were kids, but yet combines all the new science that has exploded onto the scene and vastly changed our view of the cosmos. In this epic tale of planets colliding, civilizations lost, McDevitt keeps his focus on the courage and determination of the individual in space who must make the final difference.It is a soaring magnificent adventure full of wonder and joy.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 9, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    Excellent SF

    In 2204, an exploratory mission to the planet Maieva III abruptly ends in tragedy with several of the crew killed. An innocent looking local redbird in masses had systematically attacked, killed, died, and retreated only to start the cycle over with new military like vigor. Some of the human team manages to escape leaving behind things like their lander. The Academy of Science and Technology places the planet off limits. <P> Over two decades later, the Academy of Science and Technology reconsiders its decision when evidence surfaces that a bloated gas giant will soon destroy Maieva III. A new team arrives to document the last days of the planet. Better prepared, the new team is led by Priscilla Hutchins and includes a survivor from the unfortunate previous crew, Randall Nightingale. As they begin to uncover perplexing clues about a previous lost civilization, the unthinkable occurs when an earthquake destroys their only escape from the dying planet. Less than three weeks remain with chances of getting off-planet remote and their one wild hope remains items left behind from Nightingale¿s doomed previous expedition. <P>DEEPSIX is a powerful science ficiton novel that makes space exploration seem like it is an everyday occureence. The story line is fast-paced, filled with action, and loaded with alien fauna and flora that shows how dangerous the universe is. The characters seem real especially Nightingale who took the hit for the earlier disaster. Readers who want realism and excitement while visiting strange planets will want to read Jack McDevitt¿s superb look at the Cosmos. <P>Harriet Klausner

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 10, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 10, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 18, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 9, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 9, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 18, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 26, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 13 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1