Customer Reviews for

Deer Hunting with Jesus: Dispatches from America's Class War

Average Rating 4.5
( 18 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(14)

4 Star

(2)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

There will be no More...

Reviewing the Reviewers
I find the two negative reviews regarding this book interesting in that they betray so much of who and what and where the reviewers are. Arrogant landholding upscale Winchester Virginia snobs who are either blinded by their economic distance fr...
Reviewing the Reviewers
I find the two negative reviews regarding this book interesting in that they betray so much of who and what and where the reviewers are. Arrogant landholding upscale Winchester Virginia snobs who are either blinded by their economic distance from the subjects of this book or, more likely, who have set out to sink it. Their reviews speak volumes, if not about the book, then about themselves.
No problem, jackasses; as you no doubt know, Joe dropped his mortal coil several months back. You will need to dissemble no more.
For the rest of you, let me say that this book and Joe Bageant told it like it was at the time, and most likely like it will be for a long time to come. If you like Studs Terkel, you'll love this book.
Panama Red

posted by Panamared on July 11, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

The Worst Book I've EVER read

DO NOT WASTE YOUR MONEY BUYING THIS BOOK! He has has absolutely no research put into this book and wants you to believe his statements as fact!

posted by KJ1987 on October 29, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 14 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted July 11, 2011

    There will be no More...

    Reviewing the Reviewers
    I find the two negative reviews regarding this book interesting in that they betray so much of who and what and where the reviewers are. Arrogant landholding upscale Winchester Virginia snobs who are either blinded by their economic distance from the subjects of this book or, more likely, who have set out to sink it. Their reviews speak volumes, if not about the book, then about themselves.
    No problem, jackasses; as you no doubt know, Joe dropped his mortal coil several months back. You will need to dissemble no more.
    For the rest of you, let me say that this book and Joe Bageant told it like it was at the time, and most likely like it will be for a long time to come. If you like Studs Terkel, you'll love this book.
    Panama Red

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2007

    A reviewer

    As a Scots-Irish liberal who wandered off the reservation many years ago, Joe Bageant has an extraordinary empathy for these Middle American conservative Western Virginia folk who have never been given a fair shake. They have let us know in recent years that we have ignored them at our peril. Joe Bageant laughs with them, not at them. Highly recommended to every high faltin' college graduate liberal who has no understanding of middle America. I too am a Scots-Irish liberal who wandered off the reservation many years ago and he describes my roots to a T.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 21, 2010

    It is an enigma that the working class poor continue to vote Republican, given this is counter-productive to their own economic interests. The book provides a multi-faceted explanation that emphasizes that there are Republicans (the manipulators)

    and Republican voters (the manipulated). It also emphasizes the impotency of democratic stategists to decouple conservative social issues from the bogus reagonomics of the right.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 4, 2013

    Better then deer hunting with Dick Chaney

    A

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 9, 2013

    Deer tracks

    Head to result 6

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 3, 2013

    Informative and saddening

    Joe Bageant writes of his small town Winchester Virginia, the lives most of its citizens lead, and the reasons why the majority of them will not support contemporary Democratic Party positions. The book was written in 2007 but most of the information is still accurate. The stories are interesting and mildly humorous but not often laugh-out-loud funny.

    If you ever wondered why working poor people could vote for politicians and policies that seem counter to their own fair treatment and the future of their children, you owe it to yourself to read this book.

    If you wondered how fundamentalist Christian beliefs experienced a resurgence in the US, this is also a good book for you.

    Last but not least, Mr. Bageant makes a good case for private gun ownership rights. Even if you disagree with that, it helps everyone if you understand the position of those that agree with it, and respect them for it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 10, 2012

    Recommended

    A little dated, but recommended reading.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 14, 2012

    Emily to ryan

    Ryan? U here? If ur locked out then go back to result 3

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 8, 2011

    highly recommended

    I highy recommend this book to anyone who is interested in the social fabric of america. I have a background similar to the author and live in an area and work people like those in the book. I feel that I have found a kindred sprit in Joe Bageant, his observations are insightfull and accurate. I anxiously await any new books he may publish.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 26, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 26, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 21, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 17, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 14, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 14 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1