Customer Reviews for

Deerskin

Average Rating 4.5
( 62 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(42)

4 Star

(12)

3 Star

(5)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Amazing and beautifully written

I found this book amazing. I was mesmorized withitn the first few pages into another new world created by the one and only Robin McKinley. This is without a doubt my favorite of all her novels, which just happens to coincide with the this novel, in my opinoin has the mo...
I found this book amazing. I was mesmorized withitn the first few pages into another new world created by the one and only Robin McKinley. This is without a doubt my favorite of all her novels, which just happens to coincide with the this novel, in my opinoin has the most depth and personal conflict in it. Deerskin can be interperted in many different ways, as a book and as the character herself, I enjoyed that immensly about the book. It is about how the reader interperts many different things as the book goes about. No doubt this is McKinley's most adult book, but that is not to say it is dirty or obscure. The author kept the more mature material to a realistic viewpoint of what a person feels, no more or less. All in the same time McKinley entwines references to her Damar series as well. All in all, I enjoyed every word of this book. I find it an amazing book of self-discovery, healing, and to an extent, romance.

posted by Anonymous on June 9, 2005

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

lovely, unflinching fairy-tale, but not her best work

I read the original fairy tale as 'donkeyskin,' which is only the barest foundation for this tale. This book could easily be called 'Moonwoman,' since they focus a great deal on the legend of a lunar woman who runs wild in the woods with her dogs. All the attendant lu...
I read the original fairy tale as 'donkeyskin,' which is only the barest foundation for this tale. This book could easily be called 'Moonwoman,' since they focus a great deal on the legend of a lunar woman who runs wild in the woods with her dogs. All the attendant lunar symbolism and elfish mystery was a treat. The heart of the story, however, is the emotional wounds of a princess who runs away from her fathers incestous fascination in her, and from unforgivable abuse. This integral aspect is why I call this book an 'unflinching'. 'Deerskin' follows this inner turmoil step by step, and the main character completely transforms during it's course. One of the more refreshing aspects of this novel is the altered role and aspect of 'prince charming,' who doesn't seem handsome or charming to his court! Nor is it his job to rescue the lady fair...exactly. I will say that Robin McKinley proves again that she knows how to write a touching romance, which kept me reading to the end. What kept my rating down on this one is that the writing doesn't quite live up to her content this time. It is enjoyable, but it isn't 'tight,' well-planned enough that you are fully involved throughout. Sometimes i found myself wading though the confused meanderings of the princess's damaged mind, hoping she get on to the next step of the narrative soon. Also, some elements of the original fairy tale seemed to be included as if to satisfy a quota. For example, the bit about her father making her three dresses the color of the sky, sun, and moon was dropped in at the last minute and didn't mesh well with the story. Overall though, I read this book quickly and was well-rewarded by the end. Her best books are the Blue Sword and the Hero and the Crown, but I recommend 'Deerskin' to anyone who is desperate for more Robin McKinley.

posted by Anonymous on February 27, 2001

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 42 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 9, 2005

    Amazing and beautifully written

    I found this book amazing. I was mesmorized withitn the first few pages into another new world created by the one and only Robin McKinley. This is without a doubt my favorite of all her novels, which just happens to coincide with the this novel, in my opinoin has the most depth and personal conflict in it. Deerskin can be interperted in many different ways, as a book and as the character herself, I enjoyed that immensly about the book. It is about how the reader interperts many different things as the book goes about. No doubt this is McKinley's most adult book, but that is not to say it is dirty or obscure. The author kept the more mature material to a realistic viewpoint of what a person feels, no more or less. All in the same time McKinley entwines references to her Damar series as well. All in all, I enjoyed every word of this book. I find it an amazing book of self-discovery, healing, and to an extent, romance.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 31, 2014

    I found this book to be amazingly well written and a beautiful t

    I found this book to be amazingly well written and a beautiful tale. This was my first book by Mckinley and it will surely not be the last.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 20, 2013

    It was shocking but  beautifully written.

    It was shocking but  beautifully written.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 4, 2012

    The first book I've ever read by Robin McKinly & I'm impress

    The first book I've ever read by Robin McKinly & I'm impressed! The beggining starts out kinda slow but picks up after the first few chapters. Kept me glued for more =] Definatly will re read and check out some of McKinley's other works!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 13, 2012

    Incredibly Powerful

    My heart broke as I read into Lissar's past. Her story is truly remarkable and she is a role model for all girls and women, whether or not they have been hurt. Inspirational for everyone who has ever been knocked down and been afraid to get up again.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 19, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    An Excellent Read!

    As a reader of McKinley's books I was well aware when I purchased Deerskin that there was a good chance there was going "fluff" in it, as was common in Dragonhaven and Spindle's End (also by Mckinley). However, I knew this would only increase my time spent with the novel, because Fluff tends to drag me down. I was thoroughly impressed with Deerskin though; not only was the Fluff minimal, but the story and Lissar's character herself were so gripping and intense on an emotional level that I couldn't wait to read it cover to cover. The story and what Lissar suffers is traumatic, and you immediately seek her happiness with her, as well as Ash of course. The only issue I had with Deerskin was the ending. It had a positive ending, but if felt rushed/abrupt. All in all an excellent read for a McKinley fan, and a great book to get you hooked on this author.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 16, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Absolutely charismatic

    This is one of the best of Robin McKinley's books. She takes the standard fairy tale and turns it on it's head, creating a one of a kind story. A princess loses all she has and takes a long journey back to a real life. Please read this, you won't regret it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 26, 2009

    Deerskin - An adult Fairy Tale

    Of all the books I have ever read, this one is my favorite. It speaks to me on the deepest level. I have read it four times and I will read it again.
    Although, not everyone will be able to read this book.
    The description on the inner cover flap is very accurate; this story IS about damage and love.
    The sighthound, Ash, is very much a heroine to the protagonist main charactor of the princess.

    And, yes, there is a fairy-like person in this book that helps bring healing!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 31, 2007

    A book about healing yourself

    I love this author. Loosely based on Donkeyskin, a fairy tale, this is the story of a princess who is abandoned and betrayed. Her only loyal friend is her hound, Ash. It is Ash who saves the princess's life and her sanity. The princess escapes the brutality and horror of her past by journeying to a far-off country, and she becomes somewhat of a legend in her own time: the Moonwoman. I could not put this down. I loved the healing and hope and the not-too-contrived happy ending. I have also read Beauty and Spindle's End, both by this author, and enjoyed them just as much.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 13, 2006

    Awesomest Fairy Tale Ever

    It had romance, peril, and was all good except for the 'inappropriate parts'

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 15, 2005

    Deerskin

    I absolutely loved this book. It is more adult oriented than McKinley's other books Blue Sword or Hero's Crown. I couldn't put this book down once I started reading. It is now one of my favorite books and I would recommend it to others.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 25, 2004

    Greatest Book Yet!!!

    When I read this book I couldn't put it down. I have read a lot of books and never felt so close to a character as I have when I read Deerskin. I love reading about how Lissar passes into womanhood and it does show what most woman go through.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 14, 2004

    AWESOME!!!!

    I have to say it is a really great book. My freind recommded this book to me, and I am glad she did, otherwise, I probably never would have picked it. I was also pleased with the fact that it had quite a bit of reality in it, and no, not just the moon blood. (lol)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 16, 2004

    Inspiring

    I took my time with this book. I was very...erm...impressed with the - graphic representation of Lissla Lissar's transformation into womanhood. Definitely more than I expected; in fact, I was almost at the point of revulsion more than once, but after reading the story, translating its meaning and purpose, and even writing, and getting a response, from McKinley herself, I have decided that it's really one of the most incredible stories I've ever read. This will stick with you for the rest of your life, if you read it and come to any sense of appreciation of it's beauty. I already want to read it again, and I only finished it two weeks ago!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 2, 2004

    Great Book!!

    I was absolutely engrossed in this novel, though i must admit i was dissapointed. i had been wanting to read this book for a long time, but i was dissapointed with the way the book was written. Though i lovedddddd the end.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 2003

    Awsome

    A great book!!! I recomend it to anyone and everyone!!!!! An exalent book!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 6, 2003

    Couldn't put it down!

    I could not put this book down! I drove my mom crazy because I wouldn't do anything except read this book! This is one of Robin McKinley's best books; right up there with 'Rose Daughter' and 'Beauty'! I recommend this to anyone who likes fantasy fiction based off of fairy tales. 'Deerskin' will now always be one of my favorites!!! If anyone knows of any other books that are based off of fairy tales, please let me know!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 30, 2003

    Lovely Book!!!

    This was a simply lovely book! It was most certainly a page turner! I think that a book that can make you feel horrified, joyful, sorrowful, and livid in one reading is most superb!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 16, 2003

    The perfect girl tale of triumph over evil and love

    Deerskin was an amazing book! Lissa is a girl who wants just to be herself and live her life happy. Her father basically just ruins her life, she has always been frightened of him. The way she runs away and finds Ossin, it just wonderful! She almost loses Ossin because of what her father did to her, but the way she heals and comes to love again! *sigh*! everyone should have an Ossin! Robin Mckinley really outdid herself!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 10, 2002

    An excellent read!

    I loved it! This is the only book i have ever cried on(except The Hero and the Crown, and Daughter of the Blood.)It was a strong book and I enjoyed the ending. *sigh*

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 42 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3