Customer Reviews for

The Deerslayer

Average Rating 4.5
( 100 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(70)

4 Star

(19)

3 Star

(6)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Awesome!

Just finished reading it, and I loved it! i will say that it can be hard to understand at some times. I usually will day dream while I'm reading, but this book kept hold of me. I wouldn't recommend it for someone around 13 and under. I think it was great!

posted by Anonymous on April 30, 2002

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Um...snore?

Is it just me, or did this book come out during the stoneage? I couldn't focus, the author was far too repetive, and, if you ask me, my grandmother is the only ofther person on the planet that uses that much detail. But, on a much nicer note, it was very neatly written,...
Is it just me, or did this book come out during the stoneage? I couldn't focus, the author was far too repetive, and, if you ask me, my grandmother is the only ofther person on the planet that uses that much detail. But, on a much nicer note, it was very neatly written, had a good plot that deserved at leat one star. Alas, this one got three.

posted by Anonymous on November 11, 2002

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 123 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 7
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 12, 2013

    Captivating

    Absolutely captivating

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 28, 2009

    Excellent Book

    This book should be in every person's library.It is well written and based on
    American history which all American citizens should know I am pleased to be
    a member of Barnes and Noble which sells these works of classic literature at
    prices that are affordable.
    Please note that I am using a different e-mail address
    my previous e-mail address was harry.sheather@verizon.net

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 7, 2003

    Deerslayer: slow start, action packed ending

    A little slow getting past the first 150 pages, but the story starts to pick up from that point until about page 400. Then it is nonstop, can't-put-the-book-down excitement!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 30, 2002

    Awesome!

    Just finished reading it, and I loved it! i will say that it can be hard to understand at some times. I usually will day dream while I'm reading, but this book kept hold of me. I wouldn't recommend it for someone around 13 and under. I think it was great!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 23, 2006

    Even Better than the Last of the Mohicans

    Although the best known title in Cooper's Leatherstocking series is the Last of the Mohicans, the first book (the Deerslayer) and the third book (the Pathfinder) are better. Cooper wrote these two books later and they definately show an improvement in writing and plot synthesis.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 11, 2002

    Um...snore?

    Is it just me, or did this book come out during the stoneage? I couldn't focus, the author was far too repetive, and, if you ask me, my grandmother is the only ofther person on the planet that uses that much detail. But, on a much nicer note, it was very neatly written, had a good plot that deserved at leat one star. Alas, this one got three.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 7, 2002

    Hawkeye's fist warpath

    I really enjoyed reading this book. In truth, it is long and can at times be monotonous and repetitive. However, this book is a good look at the virgin forest and the stout inhabitants that dwelt in its heart. There are some very good highlights, mainly towards the end, but there are sure some lulls and places where Deerslayer is too perfect and too talkative. Still, I was thoroughly satisfied with the book and the author, even though a joke or two about his style will surely pop into your head. I wish I could give Deerslayer five stars, but it isn't really as outstanding as other 5 star books. Overall, a good relaxing read.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 14, 2001

    Deerslayer

    Good setting and plot but challenging to read. I would not recommend it to anyone younger that me.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 2, 2014

    Gwen

    Is here.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 29, 2014

    Jaypaw

    Pads in. "Can I join?"

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 29, 2014

    Ashclaw

    *nods* Thanks.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 29, 2014

    Shadowleap

    He padded in. "Hello. May i join?" He meowed.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 29, 2014

    Join

    Frostclan we need warriors apprentices queens elders and med cat badly. Join at frost res one. We rp realisticly and try to rp constently. Sincerly, ~Froststar~

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 29, 2014

    Flamepelt

    Ok.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 18, 2014

    Frostfur

    Tries to make skystar feel better

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 17, 2014

    Whiteout

    You may join

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 17, 2014

    Whiteout bio

    Male mateless. Not really looking. No kits. Np crush. Loyal and strong and a skilled hunter. Warrior and proud of it

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 16, 2014

    Radiohearts bio

    Hi. I am a tom named is radioheart. My eyes are bright red and my pelt is dark orange and light grey. I have no siblings. And no crushes or mates.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 16, 2014

    Radioheart

    Ok. Gtgtb.ttyt.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 11, 2013

    Deathclaw

    Who use to be the leader here

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 123 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 7