BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Defeating Depression: The Calm and Sense Way to Find Happiness and Satisfaction

Average Rating 5
( 19 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(16)

4 Star

(3)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 16 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 25, 2012

    Reviewed by Anne B. for Readers Favorite The title of this book

    Reviewed by Anne B. for Readers Favorite

    The title of this book says it well, Defeating Depression: The Calm and Sense Way to Find Happiness and Satisfaction. Leo J. Battenhausen defines Calm and Sense in the first section of his book. Do you desire calm in your life? I remember a few years ago stating that I was tired of the drama in my life. I came to realize that when something upsetting happened I tended to react rather than staying calm and trying to make sense of the situation. Battenhausen has twenty-five years of experience as a Licensed Clinical Social Worker Licensed Clinical and Alcohol and Drug Counselor, Certified Relationship Specialist and Certified School Social Worker. He utilizes that experience as he helps work through his patient’s depression. Battenhausen’s approach may seem a bit unorthodox compared to the famous Freud, Jung, Rogers, Ellis, and Glassner. Batenhausen is willing to learn from his patients.

    Battenhausen cites statistics from WHO, nineteen million Americans are dealing with depression. While there are many causes of depression most doctors tend to group them together under the term depressed. Battenhausen’s goal is to assist the reader in recognizing their depression, recognize the reason for the depression, and begin to work through it with Calm and Sense. A magical pill that will cure depression does not exist. Medications only assist making us temporarily numb to the situation and the pain.

    I’m very impressed with Defeating Depression: The Calm and Sense Way to Find Happiness and Satisfaction. I find it offers hope for a happy and peaceful life. Battenhausen’s text is well organized and easy to understand. I was very interested in the closing where he discusses how we have become detached from each other. He also comments on how we tend to allow others to have power over us. I recognized this in myself and with the help of Calm and Sense I will learn to love me and appreciate who I am. Thank you Dr. Battenhausen.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 25, 2012

    Reviewed by Lori M for Readers Favorite After my former husband

    Reviewed by Lori M for Readers Favorite

    After my former husband died, I suffered a major depressive episode and continue to have depression that requires both medication and counseling. That is why Leo Battenhausen’s book, “Defeating Depression” caught my eye. He starts out defining what he refers to as “Calm and Sense” meaning the ability to stay focused and at peace with yourself regardless of what’s happening and the belief and acceptance that no one can make us happier than we can make ourselves. Pretty powerful stuff, right? I’m pretty sure it’s no accident that “Calm and Sense” sounds like you’re saying “Common Sense,” which is really what it all boils down to when trying to understand how to get through things.

    Battenhausen’s explanation of emotional maturity in Chapter 9 is something that everyone should read as it deals with how we manage our own thoughts and behaviors by not personalizing other people’s ugly remarks to us and by not desiring to retaliate against them. He also offers some separate tips for men and women to help them cope with and defeat depression. Battenhausen reminds women that men need to be “boys” occasionally and to encourage it rather than feel threatened by it. Boys’ nights out and the occasional all-male fishing trip are necessary for men to keep them balanced. The author reminds men that women aren’t porn stars and that porn stars are actors, so expecting their partners to behave like women in porn films is unrealistic.

    This is good read that shares real life experiences and a professional counselor’s research to help people.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 25, 2012

    Reviewed by J'son L for Readers Favorite Having endured two sig

    Reviewed by J'son L for Readers Favorite

    Having endured two significant losses in my life (the death of my grandmother and the subsequent death of my mother), I found myself with a cloud hanging over me. I felt “heavy” and isolated myself from people and events which previously brought me pleasure. As much as I tried, I could not shake off this feeling. It became abundantly clear to me that something was wrong as I drove in to work each morning and would begin to cry for no apparent reason. Through therapy aided by antidepressants, I now find myself in a much better place. Due to my own unique experience, I was intrigued by the book "Defeating Depression" by Leo J. Battenhausen. Battenhausen introduces the reader to what he calls the “Calm and Sense” way to find happiness and satisfaction, and draws upon his own research and experiences (personally and professionally) to drive home the point that “it is all manageable; life can be brighter, happier and more wonderful if we learn to use Calm and Sense in all we think and do.” As I read the first two chapters, I couldn’t help but wonder if “Calm and Sense” could not be simplified to “Common Sense.” In no way am I simplifying this author’s approach, but as I continued to read, one thing became very clear: depression, in whatever state, is the manifestation of a struggle with some aspect of our life.

    I agree with the author that reading this book felt like sitting and talking with a trusted friend. "Defeating Depression" is intended to help those battling depression find peace in their lives. I found the book to be much more enlightening than that. This book, though not a substitute for professional evaluation, will surely teach you to love, appreciate and accept yourself.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 25, 2012

    Reviewed by Stephanie D. for Readers Favorite Defeating Depress

    Reviewed by Stephanie D. for Readers Favorite

    Defeating Depression: A Calm and Sense Way to Find Happiness and Satisfaction by Leo J Battenhausen is not just another book about depression. Yes, this is a well-served market but sadly depression is an ever increasing modern phenomenon, and it’s beginning at a younger age - now fourteen and a half. There is plenty of room for a new approach to dealing with the condition. This particular book is about remaining calm while trying to make sense of what it is in our lives that is making us depressed. Battenhausen shows us how to take control of the situation, to learn to love ourselves and to overcome the demons, procrastination, shadows from the past and lack of purpose that pull the rug out from under our feet.

    Battenhausen brings many years of experience as a social worker, relationship specialist and counsellor to his writing. He has a very readable style and never blinds us with science as he provides the various definitions we need. Examples from real life illustrate the author’s teaching and serve to inspire the reader. We can make changes. We can defeat our depression from within by learning to live in the moment and trusting ourselves and others. We can end the destructive behaviours that drag us down. There is no instant cure - it’s up to us but we can do it. The author tells us he believes in us and we’ve learnt to trust him in this book. His closing advice is to “laugh more, worry less”, listen to calm and use our sense in all we do. The book ends with an exclamation mark which for me sums up Battenhausen’s infectious positive and proactive attitude.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 25, 2012

    Reviewed by Lorraine Carey for Readers Favorite Where was &quo

    Reviewed by Lorraine Carey for Readers Favorite

    Where was "Defeating Depression" three years ago when I was recklessly running on foot down the I10 Highway in Arizona in the line of Mack Tucks? This book is a cache` of personalized survival skills you can use right now! Leo J.Battenhausen uses his highly credentialed knowledge along with real life client situations and experiences to let you know his methodology is right on! I learned new terminology with actual steps to apply to stressful situations in all areas of life. It is truly an emotional makeover. Guaranteed, you will be using one or more of the recommended steps for calm and sense even before you finish the book! I actually found myself as Joyce in the scenario with the burnt turkey situation. It is a really strong lesson to look back at these and see how ridiculous some of us really look when we overreact. You will see yourself in some of the clients’ stories. The format was very easy to follow and offered a great layout. It holds many surprises to what really is the core of our storms within us. I had no idea just what that core was. Battenhasusen also reveals why other quick fix methods don’t work. This is one book you will keep and hopefully share with others.

    As a veteran teacher I can tell you that this was one of the best self help books I have found due to the text format and easy comprehensibility. I immediately understood each section with no need for constant rereading. I found myself chuckling sometimes and teary-eyed at others with some of the client sessions. I highly recommend this book whether you are struggling with a simple form of stress or a more difficult one. It will surely change your life!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 25, 2012

    Reviewed by Author Anna del C. Dye. for Readers Favorite This b

    Reviewed by Author Anna del C. Dye. for Readers Favorite

    This book is based on the author’s research, personal experiences, and his clients’ real life experiences. This is very good book for those who are ready to make a commitment and get rid of depressions. Everything in this book points to a complete recovery and a brand new look for the reader’s future. Battenhausen has learned much with his patients and he is sharing those findings with all those who are ready to take over their lives and have a fulfilling future. Depression is a horrible sickness, and, when it plagues someone, it afflicts not only them but also all those who care for the affected person. It is very hard to get rid of. Battenhausen uses Calm and Sense to teach his clients how to take charge. It is a lot of work, but everything in it is doable if you want your happiness back badly. Regardless of age, gender, stage of life, economic status, race, religion, daily circumstances, profession, family composition, etc., there are many things in life today that can cause feelings of unrest, anxiety, insecurity, frustration, sadness, fear, immobility, lack of confidence, stress, or not fitting in. In this book you will find good tips and a way to change your world for a calmer place.

    Imagine what your life would be like if you could remain Calm and make Sense of all the adverse and unpleasant situations and people you encounter. That is what you will find in this uplifting and sensible book and much more. Just remember that the information contained in this book is not meant to be a substitute for professional evaluations and therapy with mental health professionals. This is an awesome book for anyone with or without depression. Those who live with depression will benefit the most, but those who live with them will find many answers and ways to help the affected person and themselves. Highly recommended.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 25, 2012

    Reviewed by Bernadette A. for Readers Favorite The author bases

    Reviewed by Bernadette A. for Readers Favorite

    The author bases this book on a theory of Calm and Sense. After defining both Calm and Sense the author goes on to explain how to put it in action. Calm and Sense isn’t always easy for it means learning to control yourself and many are not capable of doing that. I’d like to throw in my two cents at this point; I’m disturbed at the percentage of people who do not attempt to understand depression and its effects. Depression is real and dangerous and needs to be treated. However, I know people who use the diagnosis to keep their family hostages. We all have problems. This book isn’t about the simple problems of life; it is about the persons who allow those problems to consume them. I like the way Leo J. Battenhausen approaches this topic. He is very organized and practical. He recognizes the downfalls of depression. People always feel that things would be better if they had a better job or more money or a different spouse. I could go on and on. The person with depression sees things differently. Instead of accepting things as they are and working with what they have, the depressed person is always searching for something better. His or her problems are never their own fault but the fault of their job, finances or family.

    Leo J. Battenhausen is talented author. He approaches the topic of depression in a logical manner and lends his vast experience to his book. He recognizes that medications often just disguise the symptoms and encourages readers to believe in themselves. I enjoyed this book and highly recommend it to others.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 25, 2012

    Reviewed by Elizabeth M. for Readers Favorite This book is all a

    Reviewed by Elizabeth M. for Readers Favorite
    This book is all about defeating depression. Leo Battenhausen provides practical advice on how to cope with this particular issue. He discusses the five minute rule (where a person asks himself if a problem can get resolved in five minutes) and the ten year rule (Will the problem be resolved or matter in 10 years?). This helps someone to develop calm and sense about situations in order to minimize mental disorders that can arise easily if someone is dealing with depression. I highly recommend this book to anyone who wants to overcome depression. The author did a fantastic job making it practical for the reader to understand the concepts that were presented throughout. I appreciated the calm and sense aspect of it because these are important when dealing with depression so that a person is able to enjoy life fully. Not only that, but since this is a common phenomenon that many deal with on a regular basis, I believe that a person will gain new skills to become a success and conquer his/her issues. Those in the medical and mental health fields would also benefit reading this book because of the practicality of it. As a result, I believe people everywhere will have some level of peace in their lives because of reading this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 25, 2012

    Reviewed by Joy H. for Readers Favorite No one wants to be depr

    Reviewed by Joy H. for Readers Favorite

    No one wants to be depressed, but a huge number of people today deal with depression. In his book “Defeating Depression,” author Leo Battenhausen uses a different approach dealing with depression called Calm and Sense. The author starts with teaching the basic components of Calm and Sense, and how the approach can help find happiness and contentment in your life. Calm and Sense works like no other approach to treating depression because it is honest, simple realistic, practical, genuine and put you in charge of your own destiny, no matter who you are, where you have been, or what is in your past.

    What I really like about this self-help book is that Leo Battenhausen doesn’t just use what someone else says here, but through his extensive research, his own personal experiences and what he has learned from his clients, he uses what he has seen first hand about how the approach to depression works. He talks about all of the issues a depressed person deals with such as worry and fear, emotions, self-confidence, surviving, finding a purpose in life, to name only a few. I appreciate the simplicity of Mr. Battenhausen’s teachings, which I feel is important to the depressed person. But most of all, I appreciate the compassion the author has for those dealing with depression. Being one that deals with this disease, I could feel that compassion as I read and re-read the pages of his book.

    I just can’t say enough about this book. There is so much information here, you really need to go out and purchase a copy of “Defeating Depression” for yourself. If you are dealing with depression, then I HIGHLY recommend this book for you. Applying these principles can change your life.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 25, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Reviewed by Sylvia H. for Readers Favorite In the book Defeatin

    Reviewed by Sylvia H. for Readers Favorite

    In the book Defeating Depression: The Calm and Sense Way to Find Happiness and Satisfaction, author Leo J. Battenhausen explains how his many different techniques can help to conquer, overcome and restore a life that is wrought with despair and depression. One of the main techniques that he uses that lays a foundation for all of his other techniques, is the use of a term that that he calls Calm and Sense. With this approach, a person learns more positive ways to handle life’s stresses, difficulties, and life’s setbacks in a more empowering way. Author Leo J Battenhausen also goes through s of what can cause and lead someone to depression. He gives case studies on clients of his that sought his help with their depression and their relationship problems. By doing this, author Leo J. Battenhausen shows compassion, and lets the readers know and understand that they are not alone on their journey to seek help and recovery in dealing with depression.

    Defeating Depression by author Leo J. Battenhausen has to be one of the most remarkable and the most profound self-help books that I have ever read on depression in my life time. I too have had to struggle with major depression for most of my life and I have read many books on the subject. This book by far as been more helpful with its clear, concise, practical, and no nonsense approach to defeating and beating depression than any other book that I have come across throughout the years. And not only does this book cover all of the basic ways to overcoming depression, it also gives readers precise details on what a person needs to lead a life of emotional prosperity and not a life that is based on misery and suffering. I loved how the author uses the analogy that life is happening right now- and that life isn’t a dress rehearsal, it’s the show! Every day is show time, and the time to act is now. There are just so many things that I loved about this book. I can only say that anyone who has ever dealt with depression, despair, or the pangs of loneliness in relationship matters needs to own a copy of this book, and I wished that author Leo J. Battenhausen had written this book long before now.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 25, 2012

    Reviewed by Alice D. for Readers Favorite Self-help books aboun

    Reviewed by Alice D. for Readers Favorite

    Self-help books abound but "Defeating Depression" is a keeper and well-worth adding to anyone's list. Each page is filled with common sense information that can be applied to daily life. Author Battenhausen cites known facts such as by 2020, depression will be the second largest killer after heart disease. He gives practical suggestions that reduce depression such as turning off the nightly television news, finding something to laugh about, getting a good night's sleep and re-examining current medications. But then Leo Battenhausen goes into explaining Calm and Sense, the tools that will help the reader find happiness and satisfaction. Calm will allow a person to endure a negative experience and then move on with life. Sense will give the ability to sense one's self-worth and come out of a bad time appreciating and accepting one's self and making changes only if something needs changing. Does "Defeating Depression" really work? Read, apply the author's advice and find out!

    "Defeating Depression" is both well-written and easy to apply in daily life. It does not avoid telling the reader that bad things will happen, that someone will say something really negative about the reader, but all events are endurable because, as the author writes on page 108, "We are all good people and deserve love, value and respect." Calm pertains to our feelings while sense helps us accept who we are. "Defeating Depression: The Calm and Sense Way to Find Happiness and Satisfaction" guides anyone who reads it into a better frame of mind as it is practical and useful. This is a self-help book for everyone, even the most balanced of personalities.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 11, 2011

    Very Helpful

    There are so many people who walk through life with the burdens of various events. At times, it is extremely difficult to forget about past issues or incidents. Sometimes, the method of thinking positively becomes very tedious and we tend lose track of self-confidence and self-awareness. Leo J. Battenhausen's Defeating Depression gives readers an insight on how to conquer such a deadly disease.
    In his book, Battenhausen addresses major steps on overcoming depression. Calm and Sense is definitely identified at the beginning of the book. Everyone has the ability to discover calm and sense from their inner being. It is always recommended to stay calm in every situation, but sometimes, it is difficult to realize the simplicity of performing such a simple act. You have to stay focus and find your inner peace. It doesn't matter the depth of a dilemma, it is very important to stay calm. Battenhausen explains by being calm, we are having complete control of our feelings, which is Emotional Invincibility. It is imperative to control how we feel by having a positive mindset and this is the way to incorporate Calm in our lives. Battenhausen kindly shares with us immediate progress tools of success, which are the following: The Ten Year Rule and The Five Minute Rule. The Ten Year Rule allows us to determine the amount of energy each individual should implement in a faced challenge or interruption. The Five Minute Rule questions the duration of fixing a problem. If something takes longer than five minutes to solve, it might become an overwhelmingly, burden-filled issue, which isn't equivalent to being calm.
    In regards to defining Sense, the procedure of sense is the complete understanding and acknowledgement that nothing in this entire universe can bring us complete happiness. Only you can make yourself happy. Furthermore, Sense allows individuals to reflect through rethinking and relearning the way you identify yourself. When you indulge in Sense, you'll realize the need to cease mental negativity and simply just perform to the best of your ability.
    Overall, the book goes further into various aspects of Calm and Sense. Readers will learn how to let go of the past, believe in yourself, take ownership of your life through finding courage, and developing self-identity. Once you're balanced with inner calm and sense, there are steps to doing the same in love and relationships, but of course, individuals will learn that love begins with yourself and then the love for others. Battenhausen definitely provides helpful tips in various life aspects, which includes: family matters, friends, and careers. Personally, I enjoyed the individual attention on men and women. Men and women handle situations differently and it's quite amazing to read advice that is specified by gender. All of these insights will lead to a calm and sense life. I definitely recommend this book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 18, 2011

    Powerful with Practical Solutions, Highly Recommended

    Holder of the MA, MSW, LCSW, LCADC credentials, Leo J. Battenhausen's Defeating Depression: The Calm and Sense Way to Find Happiness and Satisfaction is the perfect book for those who are knee-deep in depression as well as individuals who may be suffering from onset. The book provides critical facts, such as the average age of the onset of depression going from 29 years old a half century ago to an astonishing 14! More importantly, what Battenhausen writes and discusses in the book is concrete; he provides a realistic and rational way to not only identify depression but to overcome it.
    Defeating Depression revolves around two major factors that are essentially linked: calm (controlling the emotions) and sense (the mind aspect). Using a number of examples and actual cases from his years of experience as a social worker, relationship specialist, and alcohol and drug counselor, Battenhausen shows that the first step to any recovery-even achieving calm and being sensible-entails that one love himself.
    Often times, depression is a result of loneliness and a lack of a purpose or goal in life. The author does a magnificent job of getting this idea through to readers and devises countless ways to help avoid common pitfalls such as procrastination and avoidance. Though depression is a predicament where fear and uncertainty are expected, Battenhausen encourages readers to live in the moment and trust themselves and others.
    From antidepressants to television infomercials, the author runs the gamut of companies and industries trying to benefit from depression. Nevertheless, what Defeating Depression does best is help the individual change their perspective and look at the world from a different point of view. Instead of feeling like everyone is against them, Battenhausen proposes to his audience to search within and discern any particular behaviors that may shut others out. The one thing to take from this book is that depression can only be defeated from within. There will be no magical cure or perfect moment that will change one's life; the longer one hopes that they will be rescued from the outside, the deeper they will fall into depression.
    Battenhausen also offers tips on careers, finance, friends, family, etc, as negativity from these elements tend to trigger the depressive state. Overall, Defeating Depression is highly recommended; it's well written, clear, and gives audiences a tangible approach to defeating depression.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 17, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Depression...Defeated!

    Leo J. Battenhausen uses his expertise honed through over two decades of work as a Licensed Clinical Social Worker Licensed Clinical and Alcohol and Drug Counselor, Certified Relationship Specialist and Certified School Social Worker to guide and help readers through troubling times in Defeating Depression: The Calm and Sense Way to Find Happiness and Satisfaction. For anyone who is tired of medications, failed treatments and feeling down all the time, Battenhausen helps to uplift the spirit through a logical, simple approach that changes lives by changing perspectives.

    Battenhausen uses a "calm and sense" approach to teach readers how to "remain Calm and make Sense of all the adverse and unpleasant situations and people you encounter." For readers who struggle to find calm and the serenity of inner peace, Battenhausen serves as a guide for discovering our "Emotional Invincibility" in which "we are in control of our emotions and don't hand control of them over to people or circumstances." The second key to the approach, sense, helps readers to find self-acceptance, take control of their own destinies, and take responsibility for their own happiness, rather than waiting for external people and events to create happiness for them.

    By guiding readers through the applications of Calm and Sense, Battenhausen helps them to first mend their own lives, then to move on with a renewed and complete sense of self. In so doing, readers are able to mend their relationships, enhance their careers, as well as other aspects of their lives. The author shares real-life stories, showing readers that they are not alone in their struggles, and to realize how the teachings are applicable in real-life scenarios.

    Battenhausen systematically dismantles all of the hurdles that people create for themselves, preventing true happiness. These hurdles present themselves in a number of ways, from failure to attain financial success or to failure to find a relationship. By overcoming such mindsets as feeling owed by the world or even trying to change others, readers can learn to overcome depression through acceptance and a renewed joy in life.
    Defeating Depression motivates introspection, asking readers if they need an "emotional makeover," and equips them with the tools for defeating the "demons" that are emotionally holding them back from improving the overall quality of their lives. It is a truly inspirational work by an author who takes a realistic and simple approach that does not rely on anyone, save the readers themselves and their own willingness to change and create a lasting happiness.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 24, 2011

    LOVE LOVE LOVE this book!!

    Never have I ever been so pleased with a self-help book as I have been with this one. Battenhausen has truly captured the exact thing needed in order for the "regular" person to read. This book is not like other self-help books in that it relates to the reader on the reader's level. He touches on so many emotions and notes on all situations that people relate to every day. I saw myself in many different examples that he used and find it incredibly easy to put forth his ideas in my every day living. Never have I ever seen a self-help book be so exactly what I was looking for. I applaud Battenhausen for being able to capture the exact thing needing to be put out there!! He certainly deserves some kind of award for this one! I hope he continues on with more books. I will buy them all!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 3, 2011

    Recommend...

    Battenhausen's voice is truly inspiring.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 16 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1