Customer Reviews for

Defending Angels (Beaufort and Company Series #1)

Average Rating 4
( 37 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(17)

4 Star

(12)

3 Star

(5)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Highly Recommended for Those Who Enjoy Paranormal Mysteries

It was my lucky day when I discovered this series. The concept is novel and the the writing is very good. I enjoyed all the characters and the plot line was interesting. I'm thrilled there are 3 more books available and am hoping the author has many more in store. Highl...
It was my lucky day when I discovered this series. The concept is novel and the the writing is very good. I enjoyed all the characters and the plot line was interesting. I'm thrilled there are 3 more books available and am hoping the author has many more in store. Highly recommended if you like paranormal mysteries.

posted by Exotic_TeaLady on March 25, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Cannot Defend Defending Angels

Don't be fooled by the great cover...I was Looked so very promising but did not really deliver

posted by 737858 on May 30, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 17 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted August 16, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    A New Genre From A Favorite Author!

    Not being a fan of the paranormal genre, I hesitated starting this series. But due to the strength of Mary Stanton being the pseudonym of Claudia Bishop whose Hemlock Falls series have provided such enjoyable reading over the years, I considered trying this first issue of the "Beaufort & Co Mysteries". I am so glad I did! Brianna Winston-Beaufort, a young law graduate inherits a very unique legal practice from her Uncle who recently died in an mysterious fire, an esteemed past professor for her mentor, an office located in the "murderers cemetery" which is impossible to find, a timeless landlady, staff that is simply angelic, clients who are seemly beyond help, and a pet Bree saves from the jaws of death. The format unravels gradually keeping the reader wondering and enjoying this delightful, unusual and addictive cozy. After finishing this fun debut, I immediately bought and read the next two books in this series. Definitely looking forward to many more.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 16, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Unexpected & Intriguing

    An old cemetary is a odd place for a law office but it definitly works. If you enjoy stories about ghosts you'll like this one. Sorting out the living from the dead was interesting and unexpected!
    Can't wait to read the rest of the series.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 9, 2010

    Fun to read

    Very offbeat story that I wasn't sure about purchasing, but am pleased that I did. I enjoyed the originality. It moved quickly and I am looking forward to reading more of the series to learn more about the characters.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 7, 2009

    Picked up on a whim

    and the back cover grabbed me. I could not put the book and friends at church have wanted to read it. I cannot wait for the next one

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 22, 2009

    Original and well-written

    Mary Stanton has a winner with this series. It's premise is different from anything else I've read before. A real page-turner. I passed it on to my daughter and we are both waiting eagerly for the next in the series!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 6, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    UNIQUE, FUN, AND A GREAT READ

    I really enjoyed this book. It had the humorous dramatic mix that you find in Charlaine Harris, Evanovich (minus the paranormal, of course), and Casey Daniels. There is the potential for some romance although not clearly developed in this first book. In fact, there is a lot to keep you guessing and I can't wait for the next book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 18, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    superb paranormal legal thriller

    In Savannah, Georgia, Bree Winston-Beaufort takes over her late Uncle Franklin¿s law practice. While renovating his office, she temporarily rents space walking distance from her town house from weird elderly Mrs. Lavinia Mather who mentions the cemetery turns people off from the historical early eighteenth century edifice.<BR/><BR/>However, before she can settle into her practice, Bree receives a call from despised billionaire Benjamin Skinner, who pleads with her to defend him. However, as she considers taking on the case, Bree knows there is a minor problem with this client; he is dead. Benjamin desperately needs an attorney to defend him in the Celestial Court for violating the Celestial Law code on avarice. To make a case in his defense, she needs willing witnesses ready to testify that Skinner had altruistic moments. Private investigator Gabriel Striker accompanies Bree as their search for a character witness feels increasingly like finding a needle in a haystack.<BR/><BR/>The stunned Bree makes this superb paranormal cozy into a great tale as she adapts to the wonder yet perplexing celestial realm, celestial law, and celestial courtroom procedures. Readers will enjoy her journey into the supernatural side of Savannah along side the hunk of a sleuth. Fans who relish something different will want to accompany Bree as she mounts a defense for a client whose middle name is greed in an angelic court not of his peers. <BR/><BR/>Harriet Klausner

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 8, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 7, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 1, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 27, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 1, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 5, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 8, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 13, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 10, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 19, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 17 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1