BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Defending Jacob

Average Rating 4
( 2627 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(1156)

4 Star

(623)

3 Star

(338)

2 Star

(182)

1 Star

(328)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

169 out of 223 people found this review helpful.

You feel like your in this book

This book grabs you from the first page! It's heart racing, strong filled with emotions and you feel like your the parents! It really puts you in perspective of what it would be like if this was your child. I couldn't put the book down! It takes you right into the story...
This book grabs you from the first page! It's heart racing, strong filled with emotions and you feel like your the parents! It really puts you in perspective of what it would be like if this was your child. I couldn't put the book down! It takes you right into the story and you can feel every turn, every emotion, everything that the author is writing!!

posted by justmel71 on January 31, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

36 out of 92 people found this review helpful.

ZZZZZ Real easy to put down. Extremely slow paced and repetit

ZZZZZ Real easy to put down. Extremely slow paced and repetitive. Skip 10 pages and miss nothing. More than half way through and I am done with this stinker.

posted by Bookie4 on March 20, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 2628 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 132
  • Posted January 31, 2012

    You feel like your in this book

    This book grabs you from the first page! It's heart racing, strong filled with emotions and you feel like your the parents! It really puts you in perspective of what it would be like if this was your child. I couldn't put the book down! It takes you right into the story and you can feel every turn, every emotion, everything that the author is writing!!

    169 out of 223 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 1, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Superb Courtroom Drama!

    William Landay knocked my socks off with this thriller that grabbed me from the first page and didn't let go until the last sentence. The book shows how the judgment of the most professional people can be skewed when they get emotionally involved in their work with a relative. Andrew Barber is an Assistant District Attorney called upon to open an investigation into the murder of a teen. Andrew decides to take it on himself and doesn't get swayed by the fact that the victim was a student in the same school as Andrew's teen son.

    When some troubling things seem to give clues pointing to his son (Jacob), Andrew brushes them away. Even when his son becomes the prime suspect, Andrew chooses to look towards another suspect. Andrew's actions will later come into question and he will have to defend what he did to the man who was eager to take his job.

    Andrew must also confront his "hidden" past and the author brings into play the theory of a "murder gene" where the tendency to be violent is passed down from father to son through the genes. A pure "tour de force." Should not be missed!

    104 out of 121 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 11, 2012

    Waiting for the movie!

    One of the best books I have read in years.
    I found myself bouncing back and forth with, "he did it! No he couldn't have done it! Oh my God, maybe he did do it!" Even with all the evidence piling up, and the psychological profile against his son, Andy had me seeing through his blind eyes right up until the very end. And then I STILL found myself wanting to give his son the benefit of doubt!
    After I finished the book, I was still so engrossed in the story that I felt compelled to explain the whole darn thing to my husband! I read alot and have NEVER described in detail any book to my husband. I couldn't seem to get the story out of my head.
    That's how good this book is. It will draw you in and take your breath away. The ending...oh my God, the ending. You won't see it coming.

    78 out of 93 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 4, 2012

    One of the VERY best books I've in forever

    I'm not sure I can write a review to do Landay's book justice, but I will try. He has woven together the very best of a legal/courtroom thriller and a story of family/parental devotion told through a character's voice (a DA, who is also a father) that is as compelling as it is genius. This book rivals the best of Grisham, Turow, Connolly - and may even surpass them. It is an absolute MUST READ.

    70 out of 85 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 4, 2012

    Highly Recommend

    A child is murdered on his way to school. ADA Andy Barber decides to keep the case, seeing no conflict based on the fact his son, Jake, is another 8th grader at the same school. Until Jake is charged with murder.

    How well does anyone know their child? When students are finally interviewed concerning the murder, Andy discovers maybe he doesn't know his son as well as he'd thought. After being removed from the case, Andy sets out to prove his son innocent. Having spent years in the DA's office, he knows all too well the 'tricks of the trade', that guilty/innocent doesn't matter as much as the conviction rate. Does he have to prove this to his wife Laurie too?

    Defending Jacob will keep you reading, turning page after page as evidence is gathered. You'll feel the ostracism from the community. And you'll probably be able to understand.

    52 out of 69 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 3, 2012

    Highly Recommended for Groups!

    Captivating from the very beginning! Great read for book groups, plenty of discussion possible!

    39 out of 53 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 20, 2012

    ZZZZZ Real easy to put down. Extremely slow paced and repetit

    ZZZZZ Real easy to put down. Extremely slow paced and repetitive. Skip 10 pages and miss nothing. More than half way through and I am done with this stinker.

    36 out of 92 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 22, 2012

    Sware words

    It has every sware word that i know of.

    33 out of 159 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 9, 2012

    Good Book!

    A good story line and well written. For me it was an enjoyable book and I would recommend it.

    33 out of 46 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 5, 2012

    Rivals To Kill a Mockingbird

    While no book could ever rival the famous legal classic (and deservedly so), William Landay has managed to weave the righteousness, morality, and character of Atticus Finch with the foibles of a powerful and sometimes weak man. Andrew Barber's commitment to his job as prosecutor and father are diametrically opposed in this page turner. The character development, normally a tedious process of childhood traumas and shadowy, evil characters of a long ago past, is set as a vague background, alluding to what Andy strives to overcome an eventually must face. Told through the viewpoint of only Andy, he splinters in polar directions, as a prosecutor, a father, husband, and community member. The story is always the main character of the book. It will keep you guessing until the very last page, a shocker and well worth the wait.

    32 out of 41 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 11, 2012

    Thriller

    Definitely worth reading - keeps you guessing.

    28 out of 43 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 8, 2012

    Fabulous read with an amazing ending

    this book was one of the very best novels I have read in a long long time. The book is a legal drama but it is much more than that. It is a story of what it means to be a parent.. what you will or will not accept from your own child. The ending was Totally Awesome.. I did not expect it.. Alfred Hitchcock could not have written it better!!!

    24 out of 34 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 20, 2012

    I Also Recommend:

    Stomach-clenching, this book puts you right in there feeling the

    Stomach-clenching, this book puts you right in there feeling the pain and angst of a parent, loving your child more than anything and faced with horrible decisions, facts coming at you from every direction that break your heart. This is a legal thriller, shocking and emotionally draining, about a murder trial with heartbreaking details that lead to so many twists in the storyline. What would we do if our son was implicated as the prime suspect of a murder case? The writing is superb! The conversations are so real, so filled with love, compassion but also doubt, and misery. This will leave you emotionally drained. It couldn’t have been written better!

    21 out of 28 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 9, 2012

    Pretty Good

    It did not end the way I expected, so that was good, but it does seem a little drawn out a few times. Overall a good read & I would recommend it.

    20 out of 32 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 28, 2012

    Very frustrating read!

    For me, this book moved slow at the beginning. Once you get into it, it seems pretty good. The ending was very frustrating. It left way to much for the readers imagination, as to what really happened. Leaving some things for the readers imagination is a good thing, but, to me, there was way too much missing for me to want to recommend this book to anyone. D.P.

    19 out of 29 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 10, 2012

    Possible Spoiler Reference

    George and/or Cindy Anthony could possibly relate to the Barbers. This was a good read. Andy Barber was every bit as consistant as Cindy. Laurie, like George, had a voice that just could not be heard. Parental love is so powerful! This is what made the story feel real and made it a worthwhile read. I felt the ending seemed very contrived. You, as a reader, may find it quite satisfying. It is worth taking the time to read and find out for yourself. Please do not let my Casey Anthony reference turn you away from choosing to purchase. Jacob is NO Casey! You' ll have to figure out Jake for yourself by reading. My reference to the Anthonys is only to point out that the story is one that will definately keep your attention. Respectfully, since the tradgic loss in the Anthonys story is so sadly, not fictional, I have to add that I truly wish that George and Cindy find as much peace, healing, recovery, and wellness as can be possible in their lives. I'm glad the Barbers and the Rifkins are indeed fictional....and that the author had the decency to not create a Nancy Grace-esque charactor.

    16 out of 32 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 16, 2012

    Several twists...

    keep you guessing. The ending was a surprise, too. Being familiar with the functions and operations of a DA's office, I found this story very captivating. I think lawyers - prosecutors and defense lawyers - would enjoy this read as well as those of us who just enjoy a good suspense novel. Good job, William Landay.

    16 out of 20 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 4, 2012

    Great Read

    I am only about half way through this book and can hardly put it down, definitely recommend this book. A+++++

    16 out of 25 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 6, 2012

    The story had such potential but the cliches ruined it

    This story really had potential. Whoever the editor was, I would fire. How can you let someone use the phrases and choice of words this author did? The narrator had told the reader dozen of times in little less than 3 chapters "how ashamed" or "humiliated" he was. Ok, we get it - don't beat us over the head with the repetition. There were only a few insights about the boy, the family, the narrator him self that kept the book going but by page 200, I skipped to the end. I couldn't keep reading because the language and the barrator grated on me. The narrator tried to come off as a wise ass, a "hard boiled" DA, and somewhat clueless husband/father. It read more like the author was trying to get someone's attention "hey this story can be a movei!!!" . Too bad, the author was on to something may be not the genetic idea of violence but how teenagers are just stupid about their internet usage. Those descriptions, the ones where the son posts the stupidist stuff online and thinks "its just a joke" is really where a theme and story can be developed. That is what was interesting. The way kids are letting their brains be influenced and shaped by the internet. My suggestion to the author is go deeper into the heart and mind of your character and stop trying to write a potential movie script. Or just write a movie script and get it done with.

    15 out of 24 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 18, 2012

    Move over John Grisham, there's a new writer in town!

    Although I know that William Landay is anything but a "new" writer, he is new to me, and he is WONDERFULLY TALENTED. I was drawn in by the first page. Mr. Landay weaves his story so tightly that before you know it you are captive in his web. More later when I'm done! I am SO glad that I won this book, I can't even tell you how exciting it is to add a "new" author to my shelves - Harlan Coben is one of my favorites, and Landay writes as well as "seasoned" Coben (let's face it, Coben has GROWN to be a "master" writer, he wasn't one with his first books, he was only good). Anyway, more later![author:William Landay|218843]

    I cannot praise this book enough, it's everything, intriguing, thought-provoking, and plausible. I'm so thrilled that I've recently seen this book highlighted on Amazon, Barnes & Noble, and other sites. He's climbing the charts like a fast train, and I recommend you take a ride. I was so impressed that I got copies for everyone in my sister's book club. All I ask is that Landay keep writing; I promise, I'll keep buying!

    15 out of 20 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 2628 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 132