Customer Reviews for

Defending Jacob

Average Rating 4
( 2487 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(1091)

4 Star

(587)

3 Star

(316)

2 Star

(172)

1 Star

(321)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

163 out of 217 people found this review helpful.

You feel like your in this book

This book grabs you from the first page! It's heart racing, strong filled with emotions and you feel like your the parents! It really puts you in perspective of what it would be like if this was your child. I couldn't put the book down! It takes you right into the story...
This book grabs you from the first page! It's heart racing, strong filled with emotions and you feel like your the parents! It really puts you in perspective of what it would be like if this was your child. I couldn't put the book down! It takes you right into the story and you can feel every turn, every emotion, everything that the author is writing!!

posted by justmel71 on January 31, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

36 out of 91 people found this review helpful.

ZZZZZ Real easy to put down. Extremely slow paced and repetit

ZZZZZ Real easy to put down. Extremely slow paced and repetitive. Skip 10 pages and miss nothing. More than half way through and I am done with this stinker.

posted by Bookie4 on March 20, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 172 review with 2 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 9
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 31, 2012

    dissapointment

    I did not really enjoy this book, but it does make a point of how parents are usually the last to "really" know their children.

    14 out of 28 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 6, 2012

    The story had such potential but the cliches ruined it

    This story really had potential. Whoever the editor was, I would fire. How can you let someone use the phrases and choice of words this author did? The narrator had told the reader dozen of times in little less than 3 chapters "how ashamed" or "humiliated" he was. Ok, we get it - don't beat us over the head with the repetition. There were only a few insights about the boy, the family, the narrator him self that kept the book going but by page 200, I skipped to the end. I couldn't keep reading because the language and the barrator grated on me. The narrator tried to come off as a wise ass, a "hard boiled" DA, and somewhat clueless husband/father. It read more like the author was trying to get someone's attention "hey this story can be a movei!!!" . Too bad, the author was on to something may be not the genetic idea of violence but how teenagers are just stupid about their internet usage. Those descriptions, the ones where the son posts the stupidist stuff online and thinks "its just a joke" is really where a theme and story can be developed. That is what was interesting. The way kids are letting their brains be influenced and shaped by the internet. My suggestion to the author is go deeper into the heart and mind of your character and stop trying to write a potential movie script. Or just write a movie script and get it done with.

    13 out of 21 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 25, 2012

    It was OK

    This book did not hold my attention. It was one that I had to make myself finish. The unexpected ending was the only thing I will remember. I didn't like any of the characters, I'm glad I finally finished so I can move on. I think it could have been a better book if the writer had used a different format to tell the story.

    10 out of 20 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 14, 2012

    Weirdo

    I can't believe Iv'e only read 19 pages and I've gotten a fact ,I DON'T RECOMMEND THIS BOOK!!!!!!!!!!!

    6 out of 20 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 25, 2013

    Dark

    Very emotional book. Drags in some places. Personally didnt care for it but was picked by my bookclub.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 10, 2013

    Zzzzzz Dont waste your time

    Mmmm....maybe not such a good pick. The author forces the reader to keep reading out of curiosity (the only reason I give 2 stars), but it was snail slow and very disappointing.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 2, 2012

    Jsmsk


    4 out of 20 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 14, 2012

    Didn't like the characters and found the book hard to get throug

    Didn't like the characters and found the book hard to get through...not very realistic.

    2 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 14, 2013

    Not a "page turner"

    I purchased this book with high expectation due to such positive reviews. I was fairlydissapointed with the purchase. It was as if I kept reading anticipating it to get better. The story is quite dull and seems to drag on and on with no real excitement. I honestly cannot fathom how so many people found it so wonderful. I found it mediocre at best.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 14, 2013

    I didn't care for the subject matter in this book. I had hoped i

    I didn't care for the subject matter in this book. I had hoped it would be something like To Kill a Mockingbird, but wasn't anything like it. I'm deeply surprised at Barnes and Noble allowing all the offensive, inappropriate comments about this book. Many of these readers seem to be nothing but trolls who enjoy writing nasty comments.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 20, 2013

    Slow

    Long and drawn out. You can skip whole pages, and you will, and not miss a thing. Hated the ending!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 26, 2012

    I hate it wow ii I hate it so much wow i thought ki I hate it so much wow i thought i would love it and never stop reading it it suckks so much

    Deccember 26 ,2012

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 19, 2012

    Not impressed

    I will be in the minority with this review. I was not a fan of this book. I thought it moved incredibly slowly and could have been shortened quite a bit. It took me a week to finish it, which is pretty slow for me. I had to force myself to finish it and even then I skipped some pages. I rarely find a book that I don't like but this unfortunately is one of those books.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 13, 2013

    Way too drawn out. I wouldn't recommend.

    Way too drawn out. I wouldn't recommend.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 7, 2013

    Long...

    I read this book to discuss in our book club. I found it to be drawn out and unrealistic. However, if you enjoy court room he said/did banter, you may enjoy this book. I wish I could get my money and more so my time back that was spent on this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 6, 2013

    Have Read Better Books

    Was not a "page turner" for me. Thought it waaay too long. Only read because it was a read for our Book Club. Would not have spent the money otherwise.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 8, 2013

    Book

    Ok Book not the bestbook

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 9, 2013

    From aletheia To everyone out there

    This book was okay not all that..

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 15, 2013

    Not my favorite read

    There are definitely times when the plot twists and the reader gets a surprise but overall, it was rather depressing.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 2, 2013

    Disappointed by the ending

    Was able to start putting the pieces together. Became predictable.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 172 review with 2 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 9