Customer Reviews for

Defending Jacob

Average Rating 4
( 2532 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(1111)

4 Star

(598)

3 Star

(324)

2 Star

(176)

1 Star

(323)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

163 out of 217 people found this review helpful.

You feel like your in this book

This book grabs you from the first page! It's heart racing, strong filled with emotions and you feel like your the parents! It really puts you in perspective of what it would be like if this was your child. I couldn't put the book down! It takes you right into the story...
This book grabs you from the first page! It's heart racing, strong filled with emotions and you feel like your the parents! It really puts you in perspective of what it would be like if this was your child. I couldn't put the book down! It takes you right into the story and you can feel every turn, every emotion, everything that the author is writing!!

posted by justmel71 on January 31, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

36 out of 91 people found this review helpful.

ZZZZZ Real easy to put down. Extremely slow paced and repetit

ZZZZZ Real easy to put down. Extremely slow paced and repetitive. Skip 10 pages and miss nothing. More than half way through and I am done with this stinker.

posted by Bookie4 on March 20, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 324 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 17
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 28, 2012

    Very frustrating read!

    For me, this book moved slow at the beginning. Once you get into it, it seems pretty good. The ending was very frustrating. It left way to much for the readers imagination, as to what really happened. Leaving some things for the readers imagination is a good thing, but, to me, there was way too much missing for me to want to recommend this book to anyone. D.P.

    18 out of 28 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 10, 2012

    Possible Spoiler Reference

    George and/or Cindy Anthony could possibly relate to the Barbers. This was a good read. Andy Barber was every bit as consistant as Cindy. Laurie, like George, had a voice that just could not be heard. Parental love is so powerful! This is what made the story feel real and made it a worthwhile read. I felt the ending seemed very contrived. You, as a reader, may find it quite satisfying. It is worth taking the time to read and find out for yourself. Please do not let my Casey Anthony reference turn you away from choosing to purchase. Jacob is NO Casey! You' ll have to figure out Jake for yourself by reading. My reference to the Anthonys is only to point out that the story is one that will definately keep your attention. Respectfully, since the tradgic loss in the Anthonys story is so sadly, not fictional, I have to add that I truly wish that George and Cindy find as much peace, healing, recovery, and wellness as can be possible in their lives. I'm glad the Barbers and the Rifkins are indeed fictional....and that the author had the decency to not create a Nancy Grace-esque charactor.

    15 out of 31 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 5, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    I just finished the book and honestly it was too long. The revie

    I just finished the book and honestly it was too long. The reviews are great but the book kept losing my interest. Some things just don't need to be dragged out. The ending is unexpected and it is a good twist that probably could have been given more storyline. In all, this is my first book by the author and I don't know that I'd be inclined to read anything else by him. The book is not bad, it just isn't great.

    10 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 1, 2012

    Not as good as expected

    While the premise is compelling I was expecting more tension on the page. Characters lack depth and the ending felt forced. A good book. Not a great read.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 16, 2012

    The premise is good and makes one think about what he/she would

    The premise is good and makes one think about what he/she would do in Andy's situation. However, the book drags on and on in some places, making it hard to stay interested. The ending seems rather conveniently contrived and unsatisfying. I never felt the strong emotional feelings some reviewers have mentioned, and certainly can't list this as one of my favorite books, but neither is it one of the worst I''ve read. I'd have to put it into the average category.

    4 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 11, 2012

    Good book

    Great lawyer/mistery book. Glad i read it

    4 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 13, 2012

    This is a well written book. However it failed me on many level

    This is a well written book. However it failed me on many levels. Landay asked too many questions that never got resolved.. without giving plot and text away.
    Author does bring up a good point and .... what IF your son really is a murder? What if people just accidentally get killed when you child was around them?? This is the basis of the book and the last chapters .... ‘parrot’ a little of the "Joran van der Sloot” and Natalee Holloway story. This could have been a great book, but Landay just fails to be creative in his approach to the subject.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 2, 2012

    I never did get into this book. It seemed to drag in a lot of p

    I never did get into this book. It seemed to drag in a lot of places for me. It took me a few days to finally complete it. Maybe it was because I had just finished the Fifty Shades books but this book just wasn't that good of a book. The ending was a surprise though.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 4, 2012

    Not great but good ending

    Little disappionting

    2 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 3, 2012

    Good book, but not great

    This was a good book, especially for those that enjoy reading legal thrillers. For me there was a little too much filler and mundane details. Otherwise once you get passed that its a good book with a lil twist.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 23, 2012

    Somewhat dsiappointed

    This book has gotten rave reviews but I was somewhat disappointed. The courtroom drama was weak compared to other books in the same genre. The characters were a bit two-dimensional for me to really become involved with them. The story however was gripping and the ending was quite a surprise and quite riveting. It is worth reading but not the best book in the courtroom drama genre.

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 21, 2012

    Defending Jacob

    A regular who done it murder mystery, with an ending u dont see coming ..i guess it keeps u interested..i mean I didnt read it over nite...but finished in a week.

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 27, 2014

    Good at beginning....

    Good at beginning....

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 22, 2014

    ?

    I got the free sample and its ok although its only 61 pages its good

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 29, 2014

    Good book, but poor ending.

    Loved the character development in this story. The author does a good job at making you understand how these parents felt under the circumstances of having a child accused of a horrible crime. Loved the book, hated the ending.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 26, 2014

    This is a very disturbing book that centers on a parent's love a

    This is a very disturbing book that centers on a parent's love and protection for a child. Jacob Barber is accused of murdering a classmate and the story jumps back and forth between the past and the present. The transition is jerky. The language in the book is harsh and the grammar is atrocious, especially for white-collar workers. The cursing is too extensive. The story presents other characters that might have committed the crime: a pedophile and other classmates, but Jacob becomes the primary choice. The before, during, and after the trial scenes provide a glimpse of the life of the accused family. The doubt of the mother cascades into depression and action. The big issue of the story is the age-old argument of nature versus nurture. The answer is chilling. Landay hits the nail on the head with the characterization of Andy and Laurie Barber, but Andy seems a little flat at times. Andy's emotions simmer, just waiting to erupt, whereas Laurie acts on her emotions. The characterization of Jacob needs a little more development. The story line reminds me of The Bad Seed by William March.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 29, 2013

    WARNING!!

    You might want to be really carful... It is a very teen/adult book. Alot of cussing and some sexual parts. So be carful!!!:):(

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 1, 2013

    I enjoyed the basic story and the ending however I found it tedi

    I enjoyed the basic story and the ending however I found it tedious. Too much dialogue that wasn't at all necessary. It almost seems these days that the authors write words just as filler or possibly to arrive at a number count. I wish they would stop. I do not mind long books or very descriptive books but when it isn't necesary they need to stop and move on. And I believe every book should have a cast of characters listed in the front of the book mostly books where there are so many and they are only mentioned occasionally.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 17, 2013

    A likable book to fill in while perusing reviews for the next great read

    Must have been poor year for literture for this book to be considered "one of the best books of the year." Don't get me wrong, it is enjoyable. It is not a "can't put me down" book.a

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 26, 2013

    Defending jacob

    I got bored on the fifteenth page..... not reccomended unless you like really boring books

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 324 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 17