Customer Reviews for

Defending Jacob

Average Rating 4
( 2533 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(1112)

4 Star

(598)

3 Star

(324)

2 Star

(176)

1 Star

(323)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

163 out of 217 people found this review helpful.

You feel like your in this book

This book grabs you from the first page! It's heart racing, strong filled with emotions and you feel like your the parents! It really puts you in perspective of what it would be like if this was your child. I couldn't put the book down! It takes you right into the story...
This book grabs you from the first page! It's heart racing, strong filled with emotions and you feel like your the parents! It really puts you in perspective of what it would be like if this was your child. I couldn't put the book down! It takes you right into the story and you can feel every turn, every emotion, everything that the author is writing!!

posted by justmel71 on January 31, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

36 out of 91 people found this review helpful.

ZZZZZ Real easy to put down. Extremely slow paced and repetit

ZZZZZ Real easy to put down. Extremely slow paced and repetitive. Skip 10 pages and miss nothing. More than half way through and I am done with this stinker.

posted by Bookie4 on March 20, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 598 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 30
  • Posted February 9, 2012

    Good Book!

    A good story line and well written. For me it was an enjoyable book and I would recommend it.

    31 out of 43 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 11, 2012

    Thriller

    Definitely worth reading - keeps you guessing.

    26 out of 41 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 8, 2012

    Fabulous read with an amazing ending

    this book was one of the very best novels I have read in a long long time. The book is a legal drama but it is much more than that. It is a story of what it means to be a parent.. what you will or will not accept from your own child. The ending was Totally Awesome.. I did not expect it.. Alfred Hitchcock could not have written it better!!!

    24 out of 34 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 9, 2012

    Pretty Good

    It did not end the way I expected, so that was good, but it does seem a little drawn out a few times. Overall a good read & I would recommend it.

    20 out of 32 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 16, 2012

    Several twists...

    keep you guessing. The ending was a surprise, too. Being familiar with the functions and operations of a DA's office, I found this story very captivating. I think lawyers - prosecutors and defense lawyers - would enjoy this read as well as those of us who just enjoy a good suspense novel. Good job, William Landay.

    15 out of 19 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 8, 2012

    Awesome Ending

    I could not but this book down towards the end! Just when u think the book is over you are in for a surprise. I thought it was just dragging on till one little line hits you and then the twists keep coming. Wonderfully written and enoyable to read.

    12 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 3, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    William Landay's Defending Jacob is one of those books that will

    William Landay's Defending Jacob is one of those books that will slowly and methodically invade your mind, your thoughts and, yes, your fears. As a parent, this book scared the hell out of me.

    The primary question generated from this intense and powerful work is how well do we really know someone? While it's a conundrum faced by many characters, the character of Andy Barber is a novel one (no pun intended) because Andy looks at the situation as not only a father but as a prosecutor whose mind examines evidence legally and scientifically.

    Andy's inner turmoil radiates off each and every page, evidenced by his crumbling marriage to Laurie, his strained relationship with his son Jacob and a forceful reexamining of his own upbringing. These scenes, those with Andy's agitation, grief and shame over what his son has been accused of, are so incredibly powerful they are unnerving to read. I felt nervous and agitated, as if I was peeking in on a family situation that I had no right to view, and yet I couldn't put the book down.

    As much as I was frustrated with Andy, convinced that he was refusing to see what may or may not have been in front of him, I sympathized with him. I sympathized with his predicament, being ostracized by his neighbors and community, his profession.

    Equally, my heart broke for Laurie, who desperately wanted to believe in her son but also wanted to connect with Andy, and wanted her family to heal and return to the happy and safe place they had been in previously. I felt as though I was standing by her side as her marriage and headstrong joy for living slipped away, and as the trial started.

    The scenes dealing with the trial were fascinating to read. There was a bit of legal terminology and procedure but the average reader should have no difficulty in following and absorbing the drama.

    Defending Jacob threw a few curveballs at me during the course of the book and the ending was a surprise, to say the least. It certainly stuck with me after I had closed the book and while writing this review, I feel the same uneasiness and borderline panic I felt while immersed in the story.

    Defending Jacob was a compelling and thought provoking book that is a combination legal thriller, mystery and family drama. The writing is near flawless and author William Landay tells this story with a simple poignancy that packs an incredibly powerful punch. Portions of the book are akin to the eye of a hurricane, the calm before the coming storm and what a storm it is.

    I would not hesitate to wholly and unconditionally recommend Defending Jacob. It is a read that is well worth every moment spent with Andy "defending Jacob".

    Job well done, Mr. Landay. I anxiously await your next work.

    ©Psychotic State Book Reviews, 2012

    8 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 23, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Couldnt stop!

    I am not much of a reader. Lets be honest. I have 2 young children, a demanding school schedule, a dog to care for, plus all of the other "Stuff". But this book was really gripping. It only took me 4 days to read this book. The story line is complex and perverse and so relatable! MUST READ!!

    6 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 23, 2012

    I could not put this book down either... read it in a day and ha

    I could not put this book down either... read it in a day and half... had to know what happened... and in the end you are still surprised... I I would definitely recommend it to others...

    6 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 26, 2012

    Awesome

    Absolutely one of the best books i have read. Couldnt put it down. Read it in two days. A must. Now for another one by this marvelous author.

    5 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 5, 2012

    Page turner

    Really hooked me halfway through and never let go!

    5 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 26, 2012

    This was an engrossing story that focused as much on family rela

    This was an engrossing story that focused as much on family relationships as it focused on the murder mystery. This was the first book I read by Landay. I look forward to future novels.

    4 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2012

    Pretty good

    Good sample. I want to know what happens next!!!!!!!

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 23, 2012

    UNBELIELEBLE!

    Nothing like it!you will not put this down! Does have curse words though.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 22, 2012

    A good read

    This book grabs you from the beginning and will not let go to the last page. It is filled with the story of a tragic event but also the complex emotions of parents trying to come to grips with the truth.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 10, 2014

    A real page turner

    A little slow starting but then, as the characters developed, I couldn't put it down. It does remind me of Turow's Presumed Innocent . Enjoyed the author's style & will check out some of his other works.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 18, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    A teenager killed in a park on his way to school. No suspects, a

    A teenager killed in a park on his way to school. No suspects, and then a print, belonging to the ADA's son. The only print. And so the story rolls. A "can't put down" story with a jaw-dropping end. Must read!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 4, 2014

    Really good

    Couldnt stop reading. Surprised at the end

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 28, 2014

    Well written and entertaining. The writer has a good grasp of th

    Well written and entertaining. The writer has a good grasp of the criminal justice system and the politics in a prosecutor's office. The ending was disturbing and really stayed with me for a few days.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 7, 2014

    Makes you think!

    Read this book for a Christian Book Club, and I believe it was one of the most talked through books we have read in over 4 years of our club. The book as a parent makes you think "if this was me", yet it had the kind of story that could hold any reader. I especially like Mysteries and Crime stories (Baldacci and Grisham), and I will definitely be looking for other William Landay novels.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 598 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 30