Customer Reviews for

Defensive Zone

Average Rating 4.5
( 23 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(14)

4 Star

(7)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Good follow up

Silver is an ex Hollywood drama queen and daddys girl. Shes been given a hockey team and decides to prove she can be professional and turn things around for the team. She doesnt expect to enjoy playing submissive to the teams GM. But Dean wont stop at just letting her p...
Silver is an ex Hollywood drama queen and daddys girl. Shes been given a hockey team and decides to prove she can be professional and turn things around for the team. She doesnt expect to enjoy playing submissive to the teams GM. But Dean wont stop at just letting her play a scene. She also builds a strong relationship to the teams top goalie, who also happens to be a Top. Complications arise when Silver asserts herself in the workplace and the bedroom.

This is book two of the series and, while it does not have to be read in succession, book one was preferred. This one had the same caliber of character formation and depth of plot, but certain chapters seemed to drag along and the number of grammar errors could not be overlooked.

The book also contains subject matter that is for adults only, including, but not limited to M/M interaction, M/F/M interaction, and heavier BDSM scenes than what is included in mainstream BDSM erotica.

Recommendation: Read it because you enjoyed the first book, because you fantasize about hockey players, or because you enjoy heavier erotica.

posted by perfecttx on December 25, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Good, but...

I enjoyed this book, but it needs a really, really good edit! Words were missing from sentences, extra words were added to sentences, and at least once a word was spelled correctly, but was the wrong spelling for it's intended meaning. I can overlook a few editorial mis...
I enjoyed this book, but it needs a really, really good edit! Words were missing from sentences, extra words were added to sentences, and at least once a word was spelled correctly, but was the wrong spelling for it's intended meaning. I can overlook a few editorial mistakes because everyone is human and even NY published books miss stuff. But this was beyond ridiculous. It's why I gave the book 3 stars instead of 4.

posted by GracenMiller on March 2, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 23 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 2, 2013

    Good, but...

    I enjoyed this book, but it needs a really, really good edit! Words were missing from sentences, extra words were added to sentences, and at least once a word was spelled correctly, but was the wrong spelling for it's intended meaning. I can overlook a few editorial mistakes because everyone is human and even NY published books miss stuff. But this was beyond ridiculous. It's why I gave the book 3 stars instead of 4.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 25, 2012

    Good follow up

    Silver is an ex Hollywood drama queen and daddys girl. Shes been given a hockey team and decides to prove she can be professional and turn things around for the team. She doesnt expect to enjoy playing submissive to the teams GM. But Dean wont stop at just letting her play a scene. She also builds a strong relationship to the teams top goalie, who also happens to be a Top. Complications arise when Silver asserts herself in the workplace and the bedroom.

    This is book two of the series and, while it does not have to be read in succession, book one was preferred. This one had the same caliber of character formation and depth of plot, but certain chapters seemed to drag along and the number of grammar errors could not be overlooked.

    The book also contains subject matter that is for adults only, including, but not limited to M/M interaction, M/F/M interaction, and heavier BDSM scenes than what is included in mainstream BDSM erotica.

    Recommendation: Read it because you enjoyed the first book, because you fantasize about hockey players, or because you enjoy heavier erotica.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 1, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    DEFENSIVE ZONE (Dartmouth Cobras, #2) by Bianca Sommerland *

    DEFENSIVE ZONE (Dartmouth Cobras, #2) by Bianca Sommerland




    *** This title was provided to me by NetGalley in exchange for an HONEST review. ***




    Silver Delgado is the younger daughter of the Cobra's owner & Oriana's sister. She left for Hollywood to become an actress and model but after her father suffers a severe heart attack,  he names HER the new acting owner. Somehow, she has to shed her spoiled, rich, snobby princess persona and become the person that the team and staff can respect.




    Dean Richter is the General Manager of the Cobra's and co-owner of a kink club down the street from the arena. At Tim's insistence and Dean's utter dismay, Blades & Ice is hosting Oriana's wedding,  collaring & committing  ceremony to Max, Dominik & Sloan. Since Dean's bitter divorce, he's not been interested in relationships, but may make an exception for the hot sub that just walked through his doors.




    Landon Bower has just been signed on as the starting goalkeeper for the Cobras. He's a Dom with an intriguing specialty. He also takes notice of Silver upon her arrival to the ceremony, not knowing who she is at first. 




    Silver arrives at Blades & Ice with her gay boyfriends but when she breaks the code of conduct during Oriana & Sloan's part of the ceremony, Asher does not claim her as HIS sub. Dean cannot allow the infraction to go in his club so he's only happy to step in and teach this feisty little sub a lesson in manners. After her punishment is served, Landon steps in to comfort her. He vows his friendship to her, taking what he can get, in hopes of getting more later. 




    -------------------------------------------------------------------------------




    Silver is an interesting character  & it's hard to decide if you like her or not. She's naive in several things, but she's far from innocent. She's an assertive sub. She's insecure, but bossy.  She's drawl to the primal intensity that is Dean, but equally pulled to Landon's calming strength. She does not understand her sister's relationship with the three men & really takes issues with Sloan, causing a rift between the two siblings.
    Dean and Landon are both strong characters. Both have a troubled past but manage to be top notch in their respective jobs as well as in-control Doms. Their chemistry with Silver is good. I enjoyed the interactions.
    Carter is a fun secondary character and Demyan is interesting. I sense a deeper story for both.
    The minute the old man had his heart attack towards the end of book 1, I had hoped he'd keel over. He's a very detestable man, made even moreso in this installment of the series. 
    The plot was decent, but I found myself getting easily distracted. I think this was due to my lack of connection to Silver for the first half of the book. The second half of the book, she is more tolerable as the plot starts taking a few twists that are unexpected & things liven up a bit here and there.
    There are a few minor conflicts that are more pacified than resolved. The epilogue really did not provide any closure, but rather left several things hanging. I will assume that is to leave an opening for book 3, BREAKAWAY.
    Overall, not bad. An enjoyable read.




    Lead Male(s): 4.5
    Lead Female: 3
    Secondary Characters: 4
    Chemistry: 4
    Dialogue/Interaction: 4 
    Plot: 4
    Conflict & Resolve: 3
    Predictability: 5
    HOT factor: 4
    Flow/Ease: 3.5
     ------------------
    Overall: 3.9 / 5.0

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 25, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    This is an erotic romance that like the characters will have you

    This is an erotic romance that like the characters will have you testing boundaries.  Silver Delgado is a gorgeous young woman with serious Daddy issues (as in Daddy is complete and total jerk which we learned in Game Misconduct, Dartmouth Cobras #1).  When her father takes ill he puts Silver in charge of the Dartmouth Cobras hockey team.  Silver, unlike her sister Oriana, knows nothing about hockey.  Silver is going to need a lot of help.  That help comes in the form of two deliciously dominant men, Dean Richter the Cobra’s GM and the Cobra’s new goalie Landon Bower.  These men have issues of their own but they may find that each has something to offer that may make life just a little bit better.
    As I said earlier this book, like the first one, will push boundaries and that isn’t a bad thing.  I’ll admit that I skipped over a scene which pushed a hot button for me but it didn’t keep me from really enjoying this book.  Bottom line this is a scorching hot book filled with a good story, smoking hot atheletes, and a whole lot of sex.  

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 17, 2013

    Good Read

    Just finished the 5th of the Dartmouth Cobras series...loved them all.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 2, 2013

    must read

    really loved this story cant wait to read the others!! once I started the book I couldnt stop really enjoyed the people in it and story!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2013

    great second book

    i look forward to more books in this series

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 22, 2013

    check it out

    I hope there are a lot more to come

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 8, 2013

    good story

    i love the fact that this is about a hockey team that is filled with doms. cant wait to see what happens next. i like how the new story stills lets you know what is going on with the characters from the first book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 20, 2013

    When I first started this series and met Silver I thought I migh

    When I first started this series and met Silver I thought I might not like her....but I ended up loving this book and Dean and Landon....PHEW!  Hot!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 8, 2013

    love this story

    Don't miss reading the first it is steammy but this doesn't disappoint it is just as HOT!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 30, 2013

    Wow

    Hot, hot, hot. This one follows right where Game Misconduct leaves off.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 13, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Sommerland Scores Again with Defensive Zone!

    Bianca Sommerland scores again with Defensive Zone, writing another page-turning erotic romance.

    Sommerland’s female protagonist, Silver Delgado, lacks confidence as she takes over the Dartmouth Cobras at the beginning of the story. Dean Richter, General Manager of the Cobras and a Dom, sees past the spoiled little rich girl façade to the young woman ready to come into her own. Their chemistry ignites instantly as Dean’s strength and experience help Silver find her way at work and in the bedroom. Silver, through her relationships with Dean and Landon Bower, begins to learn that she is smarter and stronger than she thought she was. Silver’s emotional growth throughout the story had me glued to my e-reader.

    Meanwhile, Sommerland beautifully advances the friendship between Silver and Landon. It’s refreshing to see their sweet, just friends relationship take flight and grow without sex. When they do finally cross the line from just friends to lovers, their chemistry is breathtaking. With the triad now complete, the intimate BDSM scenes are unique, intense, and exciting for the reader. The various punishment scenes allow an inexperienced Silver to learn that when she does something wrong she’ll be forgiven after she accepts her discipline. Sommerland consummately creates a unique ménage relationship that is completely different from the foursome in the first novel in this series.

    The hockey scenes are a joy to read. Even if you aren’t a huge hockey fan, you will be able to follow along without confusion. With engaging characters, well-executed hockey scenes, and toe-curling intimacy, Sommerland delivers an emotionally fitting conclusion while leaving you craving the next novel in the series.

    I received an eBook copy from the author for purpose of an honest review for The Jeep Diva. I was not compensated for this review, and all conclusions are my own responsibility.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 9, 2013

    Refreshing

    This author takes you on a journey discovering what it's like to give into your deepest desires. Love, lust and trust are not as cleanly laid out as some may want but sometimes the darker sides of our natures will get us something infinitly more precious.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 17, 2012

    Sexy read!!!

    Great read. This is better then the first. It is not necessary to read them in order but it does help. Awesome book. -DINK

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 2, 2012

    Another winner!!

    Bianca Sommerland delivered another winner! I stayed up reading this book until I fell asleep and woke up and finished it! I couldn't put it down! Oriana and her men are in this book and you find out what happens with them. Silver, Dean and Landon are awesome! None of them have had an easy life, but they all have persevered and can open up to each other about their pasts. They help each other and are there for each other. I didn't expect it to end how it did, but it was so totally great! How could you not fall for Dean and Landon! I love hockey so having hockey in the book was an added bonus to me! I am looking forward to the next book in the series and will definitely re-read this book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 18, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 7, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 30, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 11, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 23 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2