Customer Reviews for

Defiance

Average Rating 4
( 22 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(13)

4 Star

(3)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

Wow !!!!

This book had everything I wanted in a MC book , the characters were well developed and you couldn't help but to root for them Caspar was the ultimate bad boy after reading this I'm pretty sure I need to join me a biker gang cuz man I would not mind being his old lady !...
This book had everything I wanted in a MC book , the characters were well developed and you couldn't help but to root for them Caspar was the ultimate bad boy after reading this I'm pretty sure I need to join me a biker gang cuz man I would not mind being his old lady !! This book was hot and everything you'd expext in a biker book with out being predictable a must read for 2013 and worth every penny !! Reminded me ofSons of Anarchy -one question left would a biker gang accept me on my scooter ?

posted by notyourmamasbooks on June 11, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

Plagiarism alive and well

Cas thinks of Tru as his "technicolor" in the new post-Chaos world. Anyone else see the blatant borrowing from Kristen Ashley's "Motorcycle Man"? And Ms. Tyler doesn't stop the stealing there. She goes on to take huge portions of storylines straight from the Sons of A...
Cas thinks of Tru as his "technicolor" in the new post-Chaos world. Anyone else see the blatant borrowing from Kristen Ashley's "Motorcycle Man"? And Ms. Tyler doesn't stop the stealing there. She goes on to take huge portions of storylines straight from the Sons of Anarchy show. I enjoy Kristen Ashley's books and watch SAMCRO in action on FX. REALLLLLLYYYY do not need regurgitated version when the original is so much better. Spend your money elsewhere.

posted by 8509126 on July 8, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 22 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 11, 2013

    Wow !!!!

    This book had everything I wanted in a MC book , the characters were well developed and you couldn't help but to root for them Caspar was the ultimate bad boy after reading this I'm pretty sure I need to join me a biker gang cuz man I would not mind being his old lady !! This book was hot and everything you'd expext in a biker book with out being predictable a must read for 2013 and worth every penny !! Reminded me ofSons of Anarchy -one question left would a biker gang accept me on my scooter ?

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 8, 2013

    Plagiarism alive and well

    Cas thinks of Tru as his "technicolor" in the new post-Chaos world. Anyone else see the blatant borrowing from Kristen Ashley's "Motorcycle Man"? And Ms. Tyler doesn't stop the stealing there. She goes on to take huge portions of storylines straight from the Sons of Anarchy show. I enjoy Kristen Ashley's books and watch SAMCRO in action on FX. REALLLLLLYYYY do not need regurgitated version when the original is so much better. Spend your money elsewhere.

    3 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 6, 2013

    Like the other reviews, this was an awesome motorcycle club book

    Like the other reviews, this was an awesome motorcycle club book! I am a huge fan of the TV show Sons of Anarchy, and clearly so is the author, so I really loved how she took things even further and really made it gritty and violent. Can't wait for the next one!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 1, 2013

    A really BAD good guy! The ultimate alpha biker! Can't wait fo

    A really BAD good guy! The ultimate alpha biker! Can't wait for more of this series.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 28, 2013

    enjoyed

    it's violent and the hero and his friends do very bad things to survive. there is a thin line between the good guys and the bad guys. i enjoyed it and our leading lady didn't make me want to rip my hair out to much. cant wait for the other characters stories.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 3, 2013

    I really enjoyed this book! I loved the storyline and experienci

    I really enjoyed this book! I loved the storyline and experiencing Tru's pain and redemption. Cas was a great character. I don't agree with the review that it copies from Motorcycle Man (other than they both involve MCs) and definitely doesn't follow the script of SOA. I was a little rattled by the dialogue and the fact that Cas spoke in weird phrases. I don't agree with that... I just don't think a man would say those stilted phrases. But over-all the book was wonderful. The story was fun to follow. I actually went on to read the Chaos series and then read all of the Dream Man series (which this is the last one of). Kristen Ashley is now on my "to read" list!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 27, 2013

    From the excerpt, overview, and various customer reviews, I anti

    From the excerpt, overview, and various customer reviews, I anticipated LOVING this book--alpha males, bikers, post-apocalypse dystopian clans....all of it. I WANTED to LOVE it.

    Despite my happy anticipation when delving into this book, I had to force myself to finish it. I skimmed a lot. The dialogue was stilted (Tyler was evidently going for stylized)...and frankly, difficult to follow. Language never bothers me....but when every third word is f*ck, it's tiresome and does absolutely nothing to flavor the story, develop the plot, or enhance characterizations.

    Two stars is too generous. If there are more in this series, I'll pass. Cannot recommend.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 24, 2013

    Wonderful

    So many of my favorite things in one book! Post apocalyptic with bikers and childhood love revisited. I can't wait for the next book in the series. The world building was clever and not overly complex so it did not distract from the characters. And of course a yummy alpha male was the cherry on top!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 14, 2013

    Hell yeah !

    End of world two things remain, love and mc. Loved this book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 14, 2013

    Awesome book

    I bought this book on a whim, to waste a little time. I was pleasantly surprised. This book had me hooked from the beginning and i couldnt put it down. I think i might be in love with Casper!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2013

    I wish I could say that I loved this book. However, I didn't tot

    I wish I could say that I loved this book. However, I didn't totally fall in love with any of the characters. I think they were written properly for the tone, and perhaps this just isn't my genre. I wasn't totally on the same page with the way they all spoke. I have seen a few SOA episodes and I don't remember any of them talking in that clipped way of speaking.

    The setting just put me off. First we are just told something horrible happened to change the world, but at the same time we aren't actually told what caused this until about 60% through the book I would say. I thought it was an EMP, but it turned out to be an asteroid hitting the earth.

    I had partial respect for Tru, but then we had to deal with Casper that was this barbaric figure slamming on his chest asking her to trust him but not SHOWING her he could really be trusted. I can handle the violence, I can even handle the reality of how women were treated in this setting. There was just something that forced me to detach from the whole story. I think it was Casper, although written as that bad boy Alpha, he was too detached from Tru. Yeah, she left, why would begrudge ANYONE that wasn't down with living that lifestyle? I just didn't get it. I would run too.

    Stay and be a hole and a punching bag. Leave and have a real life. Yeah the real world has bad stuff in it but they were acting like being away from the MC was worse. I'm sorry, but not in my world, even with a zombie apocalypse I would rather be with my own family than and MC. Maybe it will get better now that Casper is in charge, but I felt he was cold for the sake of trying to be more alpha. I didn't buy is 'caring' for her. I felt like the whole end game was for his own personal gain and revenge.

    I got book two on netgalley, I'm hoping we see a little more light at the end of tunnel than a bunch of men just acting with cold disconnect. This wasn't a win for Alpha male for me. Although the writing is strong for me, I felt like it was trying to hard to make a bad boy.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 12, 2013

    This is the first book by Stephanie that I read, and I am hooked

    This is the first book by Stephanie that I read, and I am hooked! She puts together a great story,
    some violence, and love and it all works well!  I am looking forwards to more!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 22, 2013

    Good series.

    Worth reading.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 30, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 23, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 13, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 9, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 30, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 15, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 2, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 22 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2