Customer Reviews for

Defiant

Average Rating 4
( 29 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(16)

4 Star

(2)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 29 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted December 12, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    enjoyable medieval romance

    Jared St. John escapes from jail and an obvious execution for the murder of his brother. He has no time to grieve his sibling as he must find a way to prove his innocence beyond a shadow of a doubt and uncover the real culprit before he is killed. However, he fails to reach home because someone abducts him after drugging him. He is forced to marry Gwyneth of Windrose, whom he met years ago and was attracted to her back then.

    Gwyneth was given a choice between a husband and poverty; as remaining unmarried meant losing her lands. She selected Jared as he reminded her of a kind monk who gave to her a book several years ago. Jared rages in hopelessness not just because she kidnapped him and married him, but because he is attracted to her and admires her grit. As they fall in love working her land together, she continues her efforts to help accused innocent women from being sentenced into slavery. However, when he perceives his beloved betrayed him, he wants nothing more to do with her. His rejection puts his wife in peril.

    This is an enjoyable medieval romance with a great twist that brings a uniqueness rarely seen in the sub-genre. Fast-paced from the moment Gwyneth ties Jared to her cot and never slowing down, fans will enjoy the love story of the defiant ones as each understands imprisonment and the craving for freedom as well as each other.

    Harriet Klausner

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 22, 2010

    A must read.

    Page turner, I'm now hooked on the author.How could I have missed these treasures from Jessica?

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 18, 2012

    Once I picked this book up, I couldn't put it down. I particula

    Once I picked this book up, I couldn't put it down. I particularly liked the hero, who's standards kept getting compromised by the defiant heroine. I was left wishing for more sexy conversation and wanting to know more about the characters. It was an easy read and a good escape. I will be looking for Jessica Trapp's other books!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 13, 2012

    Another winner

    A fast read very intriguing as we start back before The Pleasures of Sin. Almost liked this one better....

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 25, 2011

    Wow

    Sexy smart read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 19, 2011

    Pass this one by

    The hero rapes the heroine on their wedding night to pay her back for forcing him to marry her. They like the way each other smells, yet they don't bathe for days and their clothes aren't washed. There is no mention of how the heroine will get the money to restore her lands and to free the women who have been unjustly enslaved. Also, how can the heroine be respected when her husband has paraded her around with a brank (a metal head piece with a tongue depressor)on her head? These two had no chemistry and the story had too many holes. He was in the very place where his brother was killed and no one recognized him? At the end he cuts off her hair so no man will think she is beautiful and she can not flirt. He is no hero and she is no heroine.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 28, 2011

    Cruelty against heroine by husband ruined the book for me

    I was very disappointed in this book. The hero was insufferable, arrogant and cruel. His abuse of his wife on their wedding night (even though he had been forcibly married), the whole affair with the brank (a cage device fitted over a women's head with a tongue depressor so she cannot speak), parading her through town by a leash with the brank on her to humiliate her, constantly threatening her with it afterwards and finally cutting off her hair because he was jealous of the attention men gave her. I found his actions a bit too much to enjoy the book. I will NOT read anything by this author again

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 8, 2011

    A Sexy Romp through the Middle Ages! Don't Miss It!

    "Defiant" is another sexy romp through the Middle Ages with author Jessica Trapp. I am not typically not a fan of the Medieval era but the author really brings the period to life and creates a passionate and winning romance.

    Jared St. John doomed himself to life as a monk for his lustful tendencies but even his impending vows can't keep him from longing for Lady Gwyneth of Windrose. Beautiful and headstrong Gwyneth is tired of being controlled by the men around her. When her family arranges a marriage for her, Gwyneth decides to take matters into her own hands.
    The handsome green-eyed stranger at the brothel doesn't look dangerous, so Gwyneth drugs Jared, abducts him and forces him to marry her. She bribes him to leave after the marriage, but Jared wants a real marriage.
    "Defiant" is the story of a blazing battle of wills that will leave you breathless! I wanted to run off to a Renaissance Fair and find my own Jared! It's definately not the Dark Ages you learned in history!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 27, 2010

    Defiant - Loved this book!

    This is my first time reading a book written by Jessica Trapp and I must say I was NOT disappointed! Loved the story plot and it certainly kept me guessing. It was easy to get transported into medieval England and caught up in the lives of Gwyneth and Jared as the story unfolded. I didn't want it to end! Jessica is clearly a gifted author and I can't wait to read her other books already published and any forth coming! I just wonder where on earth can I find my own Jared? He sounds like the man of every woman's dreams....

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 21, 2010

    wonderful!!!! a must read!!!

    jessica is a wonderful person, who writes a mixture of a book. serious, funny, humorous, romantic, sexy, & interesting. i know jessica personally, she is all the above & that is how she can write such great books. jessica provides a great escape in her books & i really need that in a book, to get away from real life for a little bit each day!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 15, 2010

    A Page Turner - Loved it!

    I have enjoyed all of Jessica's books, but Defiant is my favorite. As always I wish Jared and Gwyneth would have been a little more open with each other and Jared willing to listen, but these are the things that add to the conflict. I stayed up late and gave up much needed sleep for these characters ... really couldn't stop reading! I especially liked hearing from both Jared and Gwyneth ... listening in on their thoughts. I admired Gwyneth's commitment and turmoil and Jared's integrity and emotion ... and of course the image I have of his body. The love scenes are moving, the stories satisfying and meaningful beyond the immediate tale. Thanks, Jessica, for the escape.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 8, 2010

    A+ Book

    This was my first time to read a book by this author...can't wait to read her other books. I would highly recommend it to others.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 7, 2010

    Must Read

    This book is a definite must read! Love this author....

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 5, 2010

    This is a book to get Trapped in!

    Loved Jessica's book cant wait for the next one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 13, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 21, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 18, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 3, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 3, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 12, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 29 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2