Customer Reviews for

The Defiant Hero (Troubleshooters Series #2)

Average Rating 4
( 93 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(48)

4 Star

(22)

3 Star

(16)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

Exciting thriller

The hostage incident inside the Kazbekistan Embassy started with an extremist group kidnapping widow Meg Moore¿s seventy-five years old grandma Eve and her ten-year-old daughter Amy outside the Smithsonian. The terrorists demand Meg, who has access to the embassy, kill...
The hostage incident inside the Kazbekistan Embassy started with an extremist group kidnapping widow Meg Moore¿s seventy-five years old grandma Eve and her ten-year-old daughter Amy outside the Smithsonian. The terrorists demand Meg, who has access to the embassy, kill a rival leader, Osman Razein of the Islamic Guard of Kazbekistan if she wants to see her beloved family members alive.

Knowing the seriousness of the terrorist threat, Meg captures her target and several other hostages before holing up in a bathroom. Her only demand is that Navy SEAL John Nilsson negotiates with her. Meg knows John from an incident he successfully performed when she worked in the American embassy in Kazbekistan. John is stunned when he learns about the situation inside the DC embassy because Meg is the woman he loves and he will assist her in any way possible.

THE DEFIANT HERO is a fast-paced action adventure novel with a touch of romance that works because the reader will realize the dilemma facing the heroine feels real. The characters make her Hobson Choice feel genuine as everyone plays their part to near perfection, which in turn provides the audience with a powerful story line. Suzanne Brockmann will garner new suspense thriller fans even as her current audience will remain faithful with this action-packed drama.

Harriet Klausner

posted by harstan on December 9, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Just ok...

I love most Suzanne Brockmann novels, but this one was just ok. The main storyline between Meg and Nils was frustrating at best. I tried to sympathize with Meg, but she was just too stubborn to be believable. However, the character of Nils was sweet, endearing, funny an...
I love most Suzanne Brockmann novels, but this one was just ok. The main storyline between Meg and Nils was frustrating at best. I tried to sympathize with Meg, but she was just too stubborn to be believable. However, the character of Nils was sweet, endearing, funny and sexy.

It was the sub-plot of Sam and Alyssa that really held my interest. Since I didn't start this series at the beginning, I was already familiar with them as a couple, but it was good to see how it all began for them. Even the memory recall by Grandma Eve of her romance back in the 1940's was more enjoyable for me than listening to Meg whine and continually resist the assistance that Nils was offering.

If you are a "Troubleshooters" fan, I don't think you should miss this story. But if this is your first attempt at this series, I'd say pick some of the other books to start with and then come back to this one. The wonderful thing about this series is that you don't have to start with the first book to understand what is going on and to become thoroughly hooked. It really is one of my favorite series!

posted by Vet_Med_Diva on December 24, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 93 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5
  • Posted December 9, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    Exciting thriller

    The hostage incident inside the Kazbekistan Embassy started with an extremist group kidnapping widow Meg Moore¿s seventy-five years old grandma Eve and her ten-year-old daughter Amy outside the Smithsonian. The terrorists demand Meg, who has access to the embassy, kill a rival leader, Osman Razein of the Islamic Guard of Kazbekistan if she wants to see her beloved family members alive. <P>Knowing the seriousness of the terrorist threat, Meg captures her target and several other hostages before holing up in a bathroom. Her only demand is that Navy SEAL John Nilsson negotiates with her. Meg knows John from an incident he successfully performed when she worked in the American embassy in Kazbekistan. John is stunned when he learns about the situation inside the DC embassy because Meg is the woman he loves and he will assist her in any way possible. <P> THE DEFIANT HERO is a fast-paced action adventure novel with a touch of romance that works because the reader will realize the dilemma facing the heroine feels real. The characters make her Hobson Choice feel genuine as everyone plays their part to near perfection, which in turn provides the audience with a powerful story line. Suzanne Brockmann will garner new suspense thriller fans even as her current audience will remain faithful with this action-packed drama. <P>Harriet Klausner

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 9, 2010

    Military Men Have Feelings Too

    What I love about this series is that is a combo romance (the sex scenes will get you as hot and bothered as the characters) and thriller (terrorists, kidnapping, etc) with touches of historical reference (WWII).

    Another surprising aspect to this series is that the protagonists are military men.... and the author reminds you that their tough exteriors are filled with soft, emotional tendencies.

    It combines all my favorite escapist tendencies when reading. I am up to book 4 in the series!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 24, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Just ok...

    I love most Suzanne Brockmann novels, but this one was just ok. The main storyline between Meg and Nils was frustrating at best. I tried to sympathize with Meg, but she was just too stubborn to be believable. However, the character of Nils was sweet, endearing, funny and sexy.<BR/><BR/>It was the sub-plot of Sam and Alyssa that really held my interest. Since I didn't start this series at the beginning, I was already familiar with them as a couple, but it was good to see how it all began for them. Even the memory recall by Grandma Eve of her romance back in the 1940's was more enjoyable for me than listening to Meg whine and continually resist the assistance that Nils was offering.<BR/><BR/>If you are a "Troubleshooters" fan, I don't think you should miss this story. But if this is your first attempt at this series, I'd say pick some of the other books to start with and then come back to this one. The wonderful thing about this series is that you don't have to start with the first book to understand what is going on and to become thoroughly hooked. It really is one of my favorite series!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 31, 2003

    My least favorite Brockmann book

    I've read all of the Team 16 books and can't wait for the next one! But, this is my least favorite. I just could not get into Meg + Nils. Nils is a SEAL and he can't get a gun away from Meg after spending 3 days in a car with her - come on! The flash back WWII was my favorite of the 'sub plots' that she's done, though.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 19, 2011

    Highly recommend this entire series

    Again, this is a great series and will reread this often.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 3, 2004

    My favorite 'Troubleshooters' hero!

    I absolutely LOVED this book. The story between Nils and Meg was fantastic. For those reviewers who claimed it was unbelievable that Nils couldn't get the handgun away from Meg, one of the major points of the story was that he could have taken control at any time, but he wanted her to give it up VOLUNTARILY. Meg makes this realization herself in the book. For those of you who haven't read it, don't miss this book!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 16, 2014

    Eh....this book didn't do it for me. There were too many storyli

    Eh....this book didn't do it for me. There were too many storylines and too many characters to keep it interesting. I didn't even get too interested in the main characters, John and Meg, because so many other things were going on. I felt this story should've stated it was about Sam and Alyssa to begin with. It was mainly about those two and had John and Meg's story barely in the background. I did enjoy Eve's story of her and Ralph. It was a beautiful love story. Their love conquered everything that was thrown at them. I wish Suzanne (the author) would've eliminated the story with Sam/Alyssa and focused on the main characters. I also didn't enjoy the flip flopping back and forth. It was Meg, Sam/Alyssa, John, Kidnappers, Eve/Ralph, Eve/Meg, repeat in as many forms as possible. I'm a huge fan of this author but this book just fell too flat for me.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 24, 2013

    When some terrorists, that have taken her daughter and grandmoth

    When some terrorists, that have taken her daughter and grandmother hostages, approach Meg Moore she doesn't think twice and agrees to go to the Kazabeck embassy and abduct the ambassador. She has no demands except to talk with Lt. John Nilsson, a navy SEAL that she met a long time ago.
    When John gets the call to go into a hostage situation and learns that it is Meg the abductor, all he can do is help her even if he loses his career. And all because he never had forgotten her or the kiss they shared in the past.




    I didn't like this one. I like John character, even if he was/is a liar I still get why he did it but Meg, even after all the things she been through, she keeps on lying and lying. This love affair for me does not stick (sorry Suzanne), it seems rushed and a little forced, as if Meg was doing John a favor. 
    On the other hand, I loved Sam, Alyssa, Eve, and Ralph. For me, in this book, the subplots worked better.
    Overall, it was good to read and yeah, I will read it again but only because of Sam.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 22, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    I'm addicted to the Troubleshooters books - there, I've said it.

    I'm addicted to the Troubleshooters books - there, I've said it. I started with the Jules related books: Hot target, Force of Nature, All Through the Night and Beginnings &amp; Ends, and then decided to start from the beginning. I read The Unsung Hero and The Defiant Hero in 2 days. I really enjoy the way Suzanne Brockmann weaves her way through 2 or 3 storylines, and they all come together in the end. In this particular story, I loved the story of Eve and Ralph. I absolutely love Sam, and had already read about he and Alyssa in the other books I'd read, so I was surprised at how nasty she was to Sam! Honestly, I understand working in a &quot;man's world&quot; and having resentment for that, but geez - she was over the top nasty to him, even after all the compassion he showed her. I'm looking forward to seeing how their story progresses in a later book.

    As for the main story, Meg and John Nilsson - I loved Nil! What a great guy he is, and certainly not for lack of Meg trying to push him away over and over and over again. I understand a mother willing to do anything to protect her child, I have 3 children of my own, but she seemed to be all over the place. And honestly, for most of the book, I didn't like her very much. In the end, I wanted them to have their happy ending because that's what John wanted so much, and I wanted Amy to be able to experience having John in her life.

    It was exciting and kept me reading - I didn't want to put it down! Another great one! On to &quot;Over the Edge&quot;....

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 17, 2012

    Good

    Some of the reviews I read were negative. I liked this book and completly understood Meg's reluctance to trust Nils. Her daughter's life was at stake. I don't blame her at all. This is the third troubleshooters I've read. It wasn't as good as Tom's or Stan's stories, but it still was good. Am looking forward to the rest of the series, especially Sam and Alyssa's story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 29, 2012

    4stars --Barely I’ve read a few books in this long running

    4stars --Barely
    I&rsquo;ve read a few books in this long running series but had somehow managed to miss this one. The adventure, tension and storyline were all there. The boys were in fine form. As much as I liked book one of the series (The Unsung Hero), later books were written more in this style which I&rsquo;ve decided is the true Troubleshooters style. The drama that is Alyssa &amp; Starrett was ongoing and fun; meeting Jules for the first time was a treat. I even enjoyed the second storyline running thru Eve.

    As much as there is good about this episode, there is a humungous elephant in the middle. It was the so-called heroine, Meg. I intensely dislike TSTL heroines and she must be the queen of that particular brand and she sucked the joy out of the book for me and gave me a thought I never have. I didn&rsquo;t think she was good enough for him and I didn&rsquo;t want them to have a HEA.

    I&rsquo;m definitely continuing this series secure in the knowledge that I don&rsquo;t have to read Meg as a lead again.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 4, 2012

    I Also Recommend:

    Exciting read!

    Terrorists holding hostages meet up against SEAL Team 16. Plenty of action, adventure and romance permeate the story. I would recommend the story for adults and for book clubs. I have read all of the Troubleshooters series (17 books to date) and enjoyed them all. I also enjoyed Brockmann's "Tall Dark & ..." series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 6, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Eh...it was okay....

    This one definitely wasn't of the same caliber of the first in the Troubleshooters series, The Unsung Hero. For this one, I definitely was looking forward to hearing the stories of the secondary characters--Eve and Ralph from World War II era and Sam and Alyssa from present day--more than those of the main characters, Meg and John. Actually, come to think of it, Alyssa was really annoying me as well, with her larger-than-the-average-boulder-sized chips on her shoulder regarding her gender and race. I'm not saying there isn't some truth to what she experienced, but she took it way to far. For someone who wants to be judged on her own merits, she sure is awfully judgemental about Sam/Roger/Houston (at this point, I don't even remember what his real name is. Hopefully I'll have it figured out by his book, which I think is number six). She definitely has a lot of growing to do before she gets my vote as a sympathetic character; at this point I'm thinking Sam can definitely do better. Which leaves me with Eve and Ralph. I loved their story! Definitely a highlight of the book, especially since it wasn't obvious from the start what was going to happen there. It almost made up for the rest of the book. Almost. I'm definitely looking forward to reading more of this series, but this one will never be counted among one of my favorites.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 14, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Setting Up the Series

    This is the second book in Brockmann's Troubleshooter Series. I don't recommend reading them out of order but if you do, PLEASE don't start with this one. It's not the best. ---

    In Defiant Hero we are introduced to more of the circle that become The Troubleshooters. The main characters are Niels and Meg, but honestly their storyline isn't the best in this book. The other two couples in this story are far more interesting. (FYI: Brockmann usually tells her stories from the perspective of three different couples.) ---

    The second couple is Meg's grandmother and her beau during WWII. (FYI: The first few books in the series have a WWII story line told from a character's perspective.) ---

    The third couple is Sam and Alyssa. They were in Unsung Hero, but we get a better introduction to them - and all of their dysfunction - in this book. (That's HUGE plus for me because I &lt;3 this couple.) ---

    A good book. I recommend it because it's part of the series and the series is worth the read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 22, 2009

    Not disappointed at all...

    I rate all my books by content and romantic pull (some call it smutt) whatever you call it. I rate them in my catalog 1 being the lowest 5 being the best. This is definitely 5 content and 4 romantic pull. I thought there was plenty of chemistry. And just to get the story straight, she was not having an affair. Read it again.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 20, 2009

    sensational!

    Any and all the books in this series are a must read. They keep you on the edge of your seat.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 6, 2007

    Not what i expected

    I was so looking forward to this book but i was disappointed. the hero and heroine did not have any chemistry. And the whole romance with the married woman and younger man was not that romanctic. I didn't like how her husband gave her permission to cheat and she was going to do it. I didn't see where she was actually inlove with the hero.I like ms.Brockman's writing but i find that the supporting characters take away from the main hero and heroine. She make you more interested in the other characters than the main ones. Like sam and Assyla, A havent read their story yet but i hope it's good.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 28, 2006

    Wonderful!

    I've never read a Suzanne Brockmann book before, but you can bet I will be getting more of her books! I couldn't put this book down. Lately I've been lucky to read a book a week, but I read this book in two days. I loved how Ms. Brockmann made Nils (the male lead) a decent guy with feelings and depth. So often military men are portrayed as cavemen beating their chests. But in this book the author took the time to make him human and the effect was sensational. I especially liked the way he allowed Meg to come to certain realizations on her own instead of using brute force. I also loved the fact that there were really three stories going on at once. It was AMAZING. Eve's story was touching and fit perfectly into the context of the book despite the fact that it had happened sixty years ago. And I liked how the author launched Alyssa and Sam's story within the context of Nils and Meg's story as well. I feel all the characters were as developed as they needed to be to serve their purpose within the story and I was particularly appreciative of the fact that the story was never allowed to drag. Don't miss this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 15, 2004

    Outstanding Read!

    I loved this book. I thought Brockman did a another great job with this book. I love they way she included the love story of Meg's great grandmother and also Sam and Alyass's rocky start. I love all the novels she has written about Team Sixteen and can't wait to read more. Great Job Suzanne. Can't wait to read more!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 20, 2003

    Read it within 24 hours

    This is the first book by Suzanne Brockman that I have read and I loved it. I fell in love with Nils and his devotion to Meg. I can't wait to read all the other books by Suzanne.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 93 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5