Customer Reviews for

The Defiant Hero (Troubleshooters Series #2)

Average Rating 4
( 92 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(48)

4 Star

(22)

3 Star

(15)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

Exciting thriller

The hostage incident inside the Kazbekistan Embassy started with an extremist group kidnapping widow Meg Moore¿s seventy-five years old grandma Eve and her ten-year-old daughter Amy outside the Smithsonian. The terrorists demand Meg, who has access to the embassy, kill...
The hostage incident inside the Kazbekistan Embassy started with an extremist group kidnapping widow Meg Moore¿s seventy-five years old grandma Eve and her ten-year-old daughter Amy outside the Smithsonian. The terrorists demand Meg, who has access to the embassy, kill a rival leader, Osman Razein of the Islamic Guard of Kazbekistan if she wants to see her beloved family members alive.

Knowing the seriousness of the terrorist threat, Meg captures her target and several other hostages before holing up in a bathroom. Her only demand is that Navy SEAL John Nilsson negotiates with her. Meg knows John from an incident he successfully performed when she worked in the American embassy in Kazbekistan. John is stunned when he learns about the situation inside the DC embassy because Meg is the woman he loves and he will assist her in any way possible.

THE DEFIANT HERO is a fast-paced action adventure novel with a touch of romance that works because the reader will realize the dilemma facing the heroine feels real. The characters make her Hobson Choice feel genuine as everyone plays their part to near perfection, which in turn provides the audience with a powerful story line. Suzanne Brockmann will garner new suspense thriller fans even as her current audience will remain faithful with this action-packed drama.

Harriet Klausner

posted by harstan on December 9, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

My least favorite Brockmann book

I've read all of the Team 16 books and can't wait for the next one! But, this is my least favorite. I just could not get into Meg + Nils. Nils is a SEAL and he can't get a gun away from Meg after spending 3 days in a car with her - come on! The flash back WWII was my fa...
I've read all of the Team 16 books and can't wait for the next one! But, this is my least favorite. I just could not get into Meg + Nils. Nils is a SEAL and he can't get a gun away from Meg after spending 3 days in a car with her - come on! The flash back WWII was my favorite of the 'sub plots' that she's done, though.

posted by Anonymous on March 31, 2003

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 48 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted December 9, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    Exciting thriller

    The hostage incident inside the Kazbekistan Embassy started with an extremist group kidnapping widow Meg Moore¿s seventy-five years old grandma Eve and her ten-year-old daughter Amy outside the Smithsonian. The terrorists demand Meg, who has access to the embassy, kill a rival leader, Osman Razein of the Islamic Guard of Kazbekistan if she wants to see her beloved family members alive. <P>Knowing the seriousness of the terrorist threat, Meg captures her target and several other hostages before holing up in a bathroom. Her only demand is that Navy SEAL John Nilsson negotiates with her. Meg knows John from an incident he successfully performed when she worked in the American embassy in Kazbekistan. John is stunned when he learns about the situation inside the DC embassy because Meg is the woman he loves and he will assist her in any way possible. <P> THE DEFIANT HERO is a fast-paced action adventure novel with a touch of romance that works because the reader will realize the dilemma facing the heroine feels real. The characters make her Hobson Choice feel genuine as everyone plays their part to near perfection, which in turn provides the audience with a powerful story line. Suzanne Brockmann will garner new suspense thriller fans even as her current audience will remain faithful with this action-packed drama. <P>Harriet Klausner

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 19, 2011

    Highly recommend this entire series

    Again, this is a great series and will reread this often.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 3, 2004

    My favorite 'Troubleshooters' hero!

    I absolutely LOVED this book. The story between Nils and Meg was fantastic. For those reviewers who claimed it was unbelievable that Nils couldn't get the handgun away from Meg, one of the major points of the story was that he could have taken control at any time, but he wanted her to give it up VOLUNTARILY. Meg makes this realization herself in the book. For those of you who haven't read it, don't miss this book!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 4, 2012

    I Also Recommend:

    Exciting read!

    Terrorists holding hostages meet up against SEAL Team 16. Plenty of action, adventure and romance permeate the story. I would recommend the story for adults and for book clubs. I have read all of the Troubleshooters series (17 books to date) and enjoyed them all. I also enjoyed Brockmann's "Tall Dark & ..." series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 22, 2009

    Not disappointed at all...

    I rate all my books by content and romantic pull (some call it smutt) whatever you call it. I rate them in my catalog 1 being the lowest 5 being the best. This is definitely 5 content and 4 romantic pull. I thought there was plenty of chemistry. And just to get the story straight, she was not having an affair. Read it again.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 20, 2009

    sensational!

    Any and all the books in this series are a must read. They keep you on the edge of your seat.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 20, 2003

    Read it within 24 hours

    This is the first book by Suzanne Brockman that I have read and I loved it. I fell in love with Nils and his devotion to Meg. I can't wait to read all the other books by Suzanne.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 3, 2003

    Could not put this down!

    This is my favorite of the 5 books I've read about Navy Seals by Suzanne Brockman. While I agree that the plot was a bit far-fetched (a big Navy Seal can't get a gun away from an itty bitty woman??), the character of John Nilsson facsinated me, and I'm not even sure why. Maybe it's his deep love for Meg, his gentle demeanor or his undying trust in that Meg will do the right thing

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 11, 2002

    I Love This Book

    I couldn't put it down. If you've ever fantasized about Navy Seals, like I have, this is the book for you. But, Suzanne, you've GOT to change Sam Starrett's situation.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 28, 2001

    She Has Captured what it means to be a SEAL

    I spent six years of my life as a United States Navy SEAL. Suzanne Brockmann has captured on paper, the type of men, I worked with everyday of those six years. Not only does she get it right but she does with a great story. Enjoy the read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 22, 2001

    Hero of the Heart is more like it!

    The Defiant Hero was a great read. Several subplots and relationships add to the main and interesting action-adventure , love story. If you love love stories with suspense this is a book for you. Did I mention Navy SEALS!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 18, 2001

    Great

    This was the first book that I've read of hers I picked it up one day b/c I was at teh beach and it looked good. Needless to say I read through it in less than 2 days. I was stunned at how good it was and how the story goes from one relationship to another really kept me an my toes and I wanted to read more. I would tell anyone and everyone to pick this book up and give it a shot. You never know; I loved it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 3, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 24, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 16, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 5, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 2, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 1, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 17, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 18, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 48 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3