Customer Reviews for

Define "Normal"

Average Rating 4.5
( 179 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(128)

4 Star

(31)

3 Star

(10)

2 Star

(5)

1 Star

(5)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Eveyone has their own definition of what normal is...

This story was great i finished it in one day i just couldnt put it down! the storyline is very organized and amazing. i love how both girls, Jazz and Tone, have family problems that needs solving. they did so together. i also like how they both can get along and not ju...
This story was great i finished it in one day i just couldnt put it down! the storyline is very organized and amazing. i love how both girls, Jazz and Tone, have family problems that needs solving. they did so together. i also like how they both can get along and not just let such prejudices get in the way of getting along. well tone and Jazz both did at first but when they got to know eachother they thought one another was bode. and getting along goes a long way. it resulted in a more positive influence for chuckie michael and Tone, and on Jazz's part too, i think that this is a great book to read i suggest anyone who has free time or anyone that is able to MAKE free time should get it and read it. its life changing!

posted by 4226000 on July 27, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Christina

Wonderful book! It makes me wanna stop not talking to people that arent like me. It makes me see, how good friends can be! (: Well Written..

posted by Anonymous on December 3, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 128 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 7
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 27, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Eveyone has their own definition of what normal is...

    This story was great i finished it in one day i just couldnt put it down! the storyline is very organized and amazing. i love how both girls, Jazz and Tone, have family problems that needs solving. they did so together. i also like how they both can get along and not just let such prejudices get in the way of getting along. well tone and Jazz both did at first but when they got to know eachother they thought one another was bode. and getting along goes a long way. it resulted in a more positive influence for chuckie michael and Tone, and on Jazz's part too, i think that this is a great book to read i suggest anyone who has free time or anyone that is able to MAKE free time should get it and read it. its life changing!

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 28, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    What IS noRMal???????

    I ReAd IT in 6th Grade And Fell in LovE WiTh IT!!!!!!!!!!! The StTORY LinE Was GreAt And it SuckEd ME in FRoM BEGGinIg To EnD!!! IT did HAvE A Few Parts That DraggEd oN, BUt fOR ThE MoSt PARt IT was An amazing Read tHat i sTill RememBer... IT Shows you that people Aren't Always WHat thEy seem and everyone has their own struggles that they have to deal with... It keeps you thinkingfrom beggining to end...

    3 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 13, 2012

    Stop Judging

    This shows you everybody haves problems nobody is different from each other. This will help people understand other people in way not by the way the dress. Or by the way the act.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2011

    Loved

    You find a friend in the strangest

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 26, 2011

    I love this

    This book is so amazing. I cant even put it down

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 23, 2010

    i buy this book over and over and continue to give it to others. julie anne peters is an amazing author.

    i love this book. I think that this is a wonderful book for anyone who wants to remember that normal is impossible. julie anne peters is an amazing writer.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 7, 2014

    Amazing

    Loved it. Very heartwarming with a touch of spunk(edge). HIGHLY RECCOMENDED

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 29, 2013

    Anonymous

    Best book I've ever read!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 25, 2012

    Define normal

    I have had a horrible life and i mean horrible people make fun of me and now they dont as ive asked them many times but they cannot define normal not only that but i have been so hurt by what the people have said about me i had to do consuling not peer consuling though and my counsler gave me this book and now im more happy 87% thanks for helping me and the people at my school see its impossible to define normal and truly nobody is normal!:)

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 4, 2014

    Sweet Death

    Dun dun DUUUUUUUUUN!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 4, 2014

    Normal me #3

    (Now I might have a little language problems so im sorry.)

    I started to go off and dream. Queen Chrysalis was trying to take my powers."Give me your powers little hedgehog.",Chrysalis.

    "You little *beep* changeling.",I said."Do not say that to your ruler of equestria.",Chrysalis said."No your not. Your just a *beep* little changeling.",I said.

    "Well say that to Firework you little *beep* hedgehog.",Chrysalis said. I sighed."Why would you do this Chrysalis?",I asked.

    "You suck Chrysalis.",I said. Chrysalis was putting me on this weird platform with straps."This is how I will take your powers.",Chrysalis said. When she was about to strap me in I woke up terrifyed.

    "Blazin what's wrong",Firework said."Wait what are you doing here?",Blazin said."I'm living with you now remember.",Firework said. I remembered. I put my face on the pillow.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 15, 2014

    Queen Bree's review

    I read this book in fifth grade, then again in eight grade. I absolutely love it and it teachers tweens and teens out there that there is no "normal" and ppoe hould not be judge by their appearances. Good issue

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 11, 2013

    I have read this book several times throughout my life. I read i

    I have read this book several times throughout my life. I read it when I was in middle school, and then at least twice when I was in high school.
    In recent years, I have graduated college and have since become an elementary school teacher. I would absolutely suggest this book to a somewhat older crowd of kids.
    The themes and situations portrayed in the book are quite heavy at times, therefore so relevant to our current day and age. The generations we are raising up need to know they are loved and have their own identities.
    This book helps to unveil certain situations that many families face as well as loving resolve. I would recommend this book to adolescents and adults alike!  :)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 6, 2013

    Normal: An Illusion

    As an introverted outsider who has felt the wrath of depression and bullying, I thought that all the others who were talented (because I am not in any way talented) were "normal". All that is is a vicious image of a "perfect human" (oxymoron) that we compare ourselves to. It is an illusion of the mind. Althouh I still suck at everything, I have to say that this book made me much more confident about myself and "normalicy".

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 31, 2012

    New years resulution

    My news year resulution is to do my best to get rid of my habits.But only through the LORD will i ever be able to quit my addictions.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 13, 2012

    Awsome book


    I had this book for summer reading and when I read ,it is like you can relate from someone's perspective which is what i like about this book . Nicely written . It is like two people from differrent worlds collide .

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 26, 2011

    Wow

    This book is an amazing book its weird diffrent and very interesting i love it and will recomand it to anyone

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 24, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    A must read book

    I read this for an 8th grade project and I fell in love with this book from cover to cover. I'm not one to read Realistic Fiction but I read it and I loved it. This book shows that you can relate to people outside of your comfort zone. It tells of two girls that are oppisite in all ways and yet, they find things that relate to each other.

    This is a must read book! The books I recommend may not be realistic fiction but they are really good.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 16, 2009

    An Eye Opener (For Mrs. Q)

    I loved this book. Its not the type of book that tickles your ears. Its a hard book to read, but you wont ever let it go. I read this in one afternoon. This book challenges the reader to define normal. It teaches you to not look at the outside of a person. It forced buried emotions out of me. It made me look at people differently. Readers will be able to relate to either Jazz or Antonia.
    It is written from Antonia's point of view. She is a perfectionist, hates being teased and is easily embarrassed. She seems 'normal.'
    Jazz is a punk, druggie, and a gang hanger. At least that is what everyone thinks.
    If I tell you what they really are, it would give away the entire story. This book holds twists that one couldn't imagine but is a very realistic book. I think this is a book that everyone should read. And if you dont get anything from it, you are probably a hardened person. Reread it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 22, 2008

    I Also Recommend:

    Its a good book WARNING: I CAN NOT SPELL

    I think this a great book it help with self-a-steam problems and it is good to share with your frends it is an easy quick read if that is what you are looking for than this is the book it is also a for just wanting something to read I picked this up in a fit to have something to read becuase I needed to have something new to read for LA9 I had many other books with me they were just already read so when I started to read this book I was kinda surprised I mean i did not even look at the cover until i got to LA9 so I had no idea what it was about becaus normaly i have to sit in the library for like an hour because even tho I read alot i am kinda picky about what I read

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 128 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 7