Customer Reviews for

Definitely Dead (Sookie Stackhouse / Southern Vampire Series #6)

Average Rating 4.5
( 1837 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(1140)

4 Star

(475)

3 Star

(162)

2 Star

(30)

1 Star

(30)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

A Fun Read

Definitely Dead is the sixth installment of Charlaine Harris's Sookie Stackhouse series. Fans of the quirky Sookie Stackhouse will once again find themselves absorbed in her world of vampires, werewolves, fairies, and other magical creatures. In Definitely Dead, our h...
Definitely Dead is the sixth installment of Charlaine Harris's Sookie Stackhouse series. Fans of the quirky Sookie Stackhouse will once again find themselves absorbed in her world of vampires, werewolves, fairies, and other magical creatures. In Definitely Dead, our heroin is subjected yet again to a series of strange and risky events which we are sure to find immensely entertaining. Avid readers of the "southern vampire" series may find themselves wanting to see more of Bill and Eric, but it's a fun read nonetheless. And fortunately for us, books seven through ten of the series (which do feature more of Bill and Eric) are waiting at our local Barnes and Noble bookstore.

posted by Veggie-Girl on May 9, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

15 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

The Truth

I must say that I became addicted to this series after the first book however, my love is waning. The books and relationships are predictable. Every book there is a new guy that falls head over heels in love with Sookie, and it's becoming tiresome. Charlaine never give...
I must say that I became addicted to this series after the first book however, my love is waning. The books and relationships are predictable. Every book there is a new guy that falls head over heels in love with Sookie, and it's becoming tiresome. Charlaine never gives us closure on any of her relationships or flings. This means that Sookie is loved, wanted, and lusted after by all who have had her. So...what's the count now? There's Sam, Alceade, Bill, Eric, Quinn, and the newcomer that's bound to love her too in the next book. Enough already! I started reading this series because I liked Sookie's character, but I've come to dislike Sookie and her continuing need to have her ego stroked. I now read the books for Eric alone. I hope that Charlaine goes back and reads her own series so that she may be reminded of how independent and humble Sookie was in the beginning. If the series continues on its current path I'm afraid it will lose one of its followers.

posted by Anonymous on March 11, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 1854 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 93
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 11, 2008

    The Truth

    I must say that I became addicted to this series after the first book however, my love is waning. The books and relationships are predictable. Every book there is a new guy that falls head over heels in love with Sookie, and it's becoming tiresome. Charlaine never gives us closure on any of her relationships or flings. This means that Sookie is loved, wanted, and lusted after by all who have had her. So...what's the count now? There's Sam, Alceade, Bill, Eric, Quinn, and the newcomer that's bound to love her too in the next book. Enough already! I started reading this series because I liked Sookie's character, but I've come to dislike Sookie and her continuing need to have her ego stroked. I now read the books for Eric alone. I hope that Charlaine goes back and reads her own series so that she may be reminded of how independent and humble Sookie was in the beginning. If the series continues on its current path I'm afraid it will lose one of its followers.

    15 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 8, 2009

    soooo confusing!!

    i was sooo confused on what was going on right from the beginning. when the book started mentioning sookie's cousin hadley having died i thought i had the wrong book, and had to go back and check to see if i had missed something. and when i found out i hadnt and the book started getting more indepth about hadleys story i kept getting more confused and more frustrated!! this was the worst book so far in the series in my opinon, the other books flowed and didnt confuse the heck out of me like this one did. i was very dissapointed.

    11 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 11, 2009

    Blah

    I felt like I read my books out of order when I found out about Sookie's cousin becoming a vamp then dying. What's that all about? I felt like a major part of the story was skipped.

    9 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 22, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Alright.

    Come on Charline Harris!!!! Another man that falls in "love" with Sookie?? So now Sookie has feelings for...Eric,Bill,Sam,Alcide,uhh Quinn, am I missing someone? See! There are so many guys now I can't even keep track! This book was pretty confusing but I still liked it just because it's part of the series. The ONLY guy I want Sookie to get together with is Eric and Eric only. He's been by her side all along but Charline keeps bringing in new guys. I hope the next book is better and Sookie starts to settle down with a man.

    8 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 9, 2010

    A Fun Read

    Definitely Dead is the sixth installment of Charlaine Harris's Sookie Stackhouse series. Fans of the quirky Sookie Stackhouse will once again find themselves absorbed in her world of vampires, werewolves, fairies, and other magical creatures. In Definitely Dead, our heroin is subjected yet again to a series of strange and risky events which we are sure to find immensely entertaining. Avid readers of the "southern vampire" series may find themselves wanting to see more of Bill and Eric, but it's a fun read nonetheless. And fortunately for us, books seven through ten of the series (which do feature more of Bill and Eric) are waiting at our local Barnes and Noble bookstore.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 17, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I am addicted to this series!

    After five books in the series, I've come to understand Ms. Harris' writing style and know that her books really do take place in a very short period of time, with roughly several weeks separating one book from the other in the life of the characters. So imagine my surprise when I pick up this book and discover an entire storyline with which I was not familiar. I checked and double-checked the bibliography at the beginning of my book to find out if I accidentally skipped one. I even went back to my personal library to flip through the previous book, Dead as a Doornail, to see which book it says was the next in the Sookie Stackhouse series. While all my research indicates that I did not skip a book, Hadley's story and the fact that we come in on it after her death, have already been introduced to several new characters, including the Queen, continues to rattle me. You would think that something like this was worth mentioning prior to this book, and I still believe that I must have missed something or that one of my books was missing entire chapters. I mean, it's the Queen of the Louisiana vampires! She deserves a better introduction than in hindsight because Sookie's already met her. So if anyone can shed any light on this little mystery, I would greatly appreciate it.

    Getting that out of the way, Ms. Harris does it again! She continues to amaze, entice, confuse, and thrill me with this story. Battles and intrigue, mystery and blossoming romance - it doesn't get any better than this. Quinn may just be my new personal favorite, and I am definitely anxious to see how their story continues. Sookie has been through the emotional wringer more times than is healthy in a very short period of time and deserves to find some long-term happiness. The confidence and self-assurance, and the fact that he won't drink her blood, is definitely an attraction. Think Alcide, who I really liked, without all the attitude and issues over ex-girlfriends.

    I'm still reeling from the announcement about Bill and his motives for moving back to Bon Temps. I finished the book last night, and I still feel stunned and more than a little betrayed. This might just very well be the first vampire book where I am not rooting for the vampires anymore, or at least one of them. It will be interesting to see if he continues to profess his love for her and if she can ever forgive him, as I can't get over the idea that Bill and Sookie belong together. Angel and Buffy, Edward and Bella, Spike and Buffy - you can see where a girl might get such ideas. Still, Bill's betrayal is unfathomably low. This continuing storyline alone will keep me coming back for more.

    In spite of my concern that I skipped a book, I remain completely enamored with this series. I am still surprised by what the characters do, and I am rooting for Sookie to find less drama and more happiness with every fiber of my being. Bring on the next book!!

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 5, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Definitely Dead

    I have to agree with some of the other reviewers in that this was my least favorite of the series so far. I'm actually a Bill fan (probably one of the only ones) even after reading this book. I already knew he would betray her but I believe he actually loves her. Maybe because I'm a hopeless romantic. I am getting a little tired of how everyone seems to want to have sex with Sookie. And how in pretty much every book she's kissing at least 2 boys. Even when she's dating someone. Like during the part where she's at the queen's place and all of a sudden Eric kisses her. I'm like...where did that come from? ALthough I don't think Sookie will end up with someone like Quinn, I believe he's a good change for her. She needs to get away from the vampires for a while but I feel like it wont be for long. It's not my favorite but I'll of course keep reading so I can read all of the other story lines and go even deeper into the world Harris creates!

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 4, 2009

    A fun read but not on par with the others

    I've been tearing through this series at lightning speed and it's been a very enjoyable read but I have to say this book left me a little cold. I agree with a lot of other reviewers that it felt like we were missing some important information that we should have known about from a previous book. I'm also a little over Sookie and her semi-relationships with everyone under the sun. Bill, Sam, Eric, Calvin (she at least considers it), Alcide and now Quinn. I feel like her relationship with Quinn is filler material just to stretch the series out, it's just not that substantive. Her relationship with Eric is by far the most interesting and the addition of yet another love interest feels like stalling more than enhancing the story line. By the way, is Sookie just desperate to date someone? Anyone who will give her the time of day? It's beginning to feel like that. Harris keeps dragging out all of these superfluous characters that seem to dilute the best parts of the story line. I have really, really enjoyed this series but I hope that she gets back to some of the core characters because it's getting to where the best characters are absent and you find youself reading on just to get to something better.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 26, 2012

    Quinn vs bill

    I loved this story! I also fell for quinn hes a great guy but for some reason my hart is still set on sookie and bill being together yes i understand he lied but jusr the person he was he still remains even thow he is no longer alive but think about it hes had a wife and children he knows what love is and what it feels like the most and this didn happen in the book but for you all who are sookie stackhouse fans in the episode on true blood after she found out the truth bill said the sweetest words he said "its not what you are i fell in love with its who you are" and i fell in love with bill myself after that moment we have all had first loves thats someone you'll never forget and she shouldnt either

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 10, 2011

    One of my favorites!

    Loved this book! A wonderful addition to the Sookie series. I loved the parts with Quinn.

    If when reading the book you feel that you are missing some information on Sookie's cousin and her background... you haven't read the short story, "One Word Answer" found in BITE by Charlaine Harris. This will give you all the background on Hadley.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 26, 2008

    Just Okay

    I really am addicted to this series - unfortunately, this was by far my least favorite book. You may find yourself lost in the beginning - wondering if maybe you skipped a book - don't panic, you haven't! It's a little disconcerting but you get through it. I am so disappointed that the author made Bill such a loathesome character - what's all that about? I just hope that there can be some reconciliation between Bill and Sookie!!!

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 5, 2006

    Poor Bill....

    I have to say that the new man in Sookie's life is wonderful, he can go out in day light and they can share things like breakfast and maybe even kids. But I have to say that it hurt like hell to learn those things about Bill. I was almost hoping that Sookie and Bill had a chance. But besides that the book was great, it set it up for another great read and I can't wait to see what happens in the next one.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 16, 2012

    Loved it!

    This one was actually one of my favorites so far. I read it in a couple of days because I could not put it down. Can't wait to start reading the next one.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 20, 2012

    Good

    Good mystery had you guessing to the very end.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 28, 2012

    Sookie

    Great series

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 13, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Why do I keep reading?

    Again Charlaine Harris has too many ideas for one book and did not organize them well. This book has many misspelled words and poorly written sentences. Another thing I did not like was the fact that Harris wrote a question about what would happen to the Were who was turned Vamp. It was something like can he still shape shift, but she does not answer it. Plus she was bit by this VampWere and was not even worried she might change into something herself. That would have been a major concern of mine. Then the Werewolves that attacked Sookie and Quinn were working for someone yet there were no clues given as to who and why. Yet Sookie suddenly knew who hired the attackers as if a light turned on. Then as I read that I knew who she was talking about. It was quick to figure out by process of elimination of characters, not clues from reading. I skipped about 1/4 of this book due to the repetitive style of writing. There is potential for this series but the Harris did not pull it off.

    I think the best part of the book is when Sookie said to Quinn something like, You look better than a happy meal to a three year old. I am not sure if I wrote it word for word but it was something like that. The ideas where good but...

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 17, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Definitely Good

    Ok so I knew from reading other teasers on the books and other peoples reviews that Bill was going to betray Sookie even more then he already had. However, I had no idea that I was going to hate him with such flair. I was ready to throw my book at the wall, kick and scream, but most of all I wanted to cry(and kill Bill). I was devistated and hurt by his betrale. I could not understand why he would be like that, I never took into consideration that he is only a vampire and he was constintally telly Sookie that he was not human and not a nice person. I understand her need for (slighly) human companionship now, and that is where Quinn steps in, but I want her to go to Eric. I want them to get together and be a couple. Eric, unlike Bill, really, truely loves Sookie. And I am desperatly hoping that in the next few books they get together and stay together. I think that Eric is really good to Sookie and that they are great for each other, they are each others perfect half. I am with Sookie on the fact that Bill could go on vaccation and maybe a stake will fall on him!! He would deserve it! I can't wait to read the next book!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 5, 2008

    I Also Recommend:

    LOVE THE SERIES

    These books have gotten better with each installment and this one is no exception. First, I have really come to love Harris' writing style. She makes the sentences and dialogue flow and really makes her story and characters come alive in a simplified way. She makes writing a novel seem easy! Second, the plot was exciting and once again kept me turning the pages. I've really come to love Sookie as a character; she has her insecurities like everyone else and is considered a "good girl" but takes risk and doesn't worry too much about the moral dilemmas. Which I personally find refreshing. I'm tired of reading about characters who do something drastic then spend pages on their regrets. I was shocked about the revelation about Bill (which I won't spoil for other readers here) but it seems to fit perfectly with his character. I love Eric more and more with each installment. I'm not too sure how I feel about Quinn at this point. Quinn seems a little too perfect and cookie cutter, but I'm excited to see what might happen in the next book. Highly recommended.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 1, 2007

    Great read- but some confusion

    I love all of the books in this series. They're the kind that you just can't put down! Normally, her books flowed smoothly into the next. However, this book confused me quite a bit. Several times I had to check to see if I had missed a book. From the get-go, Sookie talks of her dead vamp cousin, and of meeting the queen. WHAT?! She talks about it in a way that makes you feel out of the loop. I had no clue what was going on for quite a while! But I kept on reading, and loved it. I can forgive Charlaine Harris for the confusion, because overall the book was delightful. I'm glad Sookie is done w/ Bill, though I'm not thrilled w/ Quinn. I'm cheering for Eric!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 24, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Harris certainly has a knack for her vampire tales, and this boo

    Harris certainly has a knack for her vampire tales, and this book hits the spot! While I am personally a big fan of Bill and wish Sookie would get over her anger, the book still has all the all the Stackhouse pieces that readers crave; vamps, weres, fairies, magic, shifters, and a little violence. Great book! A+

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 1854 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 93