Customer Reviews for

Definitely Dead (Sookie Stackhouse / Southern Vampire Series #6)

Average Rating 4.5
( 1835 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(1140)

4 Star

(474)

3 Star

(161)

2 Star

(30)

1 Star

(30)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

A Fun Read

Definitely Dead is the sixth installment of Charlaine Harris's Sookie Stackhouse series. Fans of the quirky Sookie Stackhouse will once again find themselves absorbed in her world of vampires, werewolves, fairies, and other magical creatures. In Definitely Dead, our h...
Definitely Dead is the sixth installment of Charlaine Harris's Sookie Stackhouse series. Fans of the quirky Sookie Stackhouse will once again find themselves absorbed in her world of vampires, werewolves, fairies, and other magical creatures. In Definitely Dead, our heroin is subjected yet again to a series of strange and risky events which we are sure to find immensely entertaining. Avid readers of the "southern vampire" series may find themselves wanting to see more of Bill and Eric, but it's a fun read nonetheless. And fortunately for us, books seven through ten of the series (which do feature more of Bill and Eric) are waiting at our local Barnes and Noble bookstore.

posted by Veggie-Girl on May 9, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

14 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

The Truth

I must say that I became addicted to this series after the first book however, my love is waning. The books and relationships are predictable. Every book there is a new guy that falls head over heels in love with Sookie, and it's becoming tiresome. Charlaine never give...
I must say that I became addicted to this series after the first book however, my love is waning. The books and relationships are predictable. Every book there is a new guy that falls head over heels in love with Sookie, and it's becoming tiresome. Charlaine never gives us closure on any of her relationships or flings. This means that Sookie is loved, wanted, and lusted after by all who have had her. So...what's the count now? There's Sam, Alceade, Bill, Eric, Quinn, and the newcomer that's bound to love her too in the next book. Enough already! I started reading this series because I liked Sookie's character, but I've come to dislike Sookie and her continuing need to have her ego stroked. I now read the books for Eric alone. I hope that Charlaine goes back and reads her own series so that she may be reminded of how independent and humble Sookie was in the beginning. If the series continues on its current path I'm afraid it will lose one of its followers.

posted by Anonymous on March 11, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 30 review with 2 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted July 8, 2009

    soooo confusing!!

    i was sooo confused on what was going on right from the beginning. when the book started mentioning sookie's cousin hadley having died i thought i had the wrong book, and had to go back and check to see if i had missed something. and when i found out i hadnt and the book started getting more indepth about hadleys story i kept getting more confused and more frustrated!! this was the worst book so far in the series in my opinon, the other books flowed and didnt confuse the heck out of me like this one did. i was very dissapointed.

    11 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 11, 2009

    Blah

    I felt like I read my books out of order when I found out about Sookie's cousin becoming a vamp then dying. What's that all about? I felt like a major part of the story was skipped.

    9 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 4, 2009

    A fun read but not on par with the others

    I've been tearing through this series at lightning speed and it's been a very enjoyable read but I have to say this book left me a little cold. I agree with a lot of other reviewers that it felt like we were missing some important information that we should have known about from a previous book. I'm also a little over Sookie and her semi-relationships with everyone under the sun. Bill, Sam, Eric, Calvin (she at least considers it), Alcide and now Quinn. I feel like her relationship with Quinn is filler material just to stretch the series out, it's just not that substantive. Her relationship with Eric is by far the most interesting and the addition of yet another love interest feels like stalling more than enhancing the story line. By the way, is Sookie just desperate to date someone? Anyone who will give her the time of day? It's beginning to feel like that. Harris keeps dragging out all of these superfluous characters that seem to dilute the best parts of the story line. I have really, really enjoyed this series but I hope that she gets back to some of the core characters because it's getting to where the best characters are absent and you find youself reading on just to get to something better.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 13, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Why do I keep reading?

    Again Charlaine Harris has too many ideas for one book and did not organize them well. This book has many misspelled words and poorly written sentences. Another thing I did not like was the fact that Harris wrote a question about what would happen to the Were who was turned Vamp. It was something like can he still shape shift, but she does not answer it. Plus she was bit by this VampWere and was not even worried she might change into something herself. That would have been a major concern of mine. Then the Werewolves that attacked Sookie and Quinn were working for someone yet there were no clues given as to who and why. Yet Sookie suddenly knew who hired the attackers as if a light turned on. Then as I read that I knew who she was talking about. It was quick to figure out by process of elimination of characters, not clues from reading. I skipped about 1/4 of this book due to the repetitive style of writing. There is potential for this series but the Harris did not pull it off.

    I think the best part of the book is when Sookie said to Quinn something like, You look better than a happy meal to a three year old. I am not sure if I wrote it word for word but it was something like that. The ideas where good but...

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 23, 2011

    Least Favorite

    I am sorry to say, but this one was my least favorite so far. Sookie seemed rude and snippy and nothing like she was in other books. There was too much going on but no clear direction. And I was not interested at all in her relationship with Quinn and just skipped over most of it. Not enough Eric, Bill, or Pam in this book at all. I wish I would have skipped this one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 2, 2011

    So Confusing...

    I love Quinn and Sookie together, but this book was so confusing. I thought that i had missed a entire book all together. With Hadley, and how she became a vampire, and her death. It was just so, so confusing. I love this series but this book wasn't my favorite.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 21, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Confusing

    Confusing storyline, and boring plot, or rather lack of.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 12, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    This one wasn't one of my fav's

    I really didn't care for this book of the series, just couldn't get into the story and didn't care much for who killed the other vamps..blah blah. Hopefully the next one will be better for me.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 11, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Printing Error, April 2007 edition

    My copy of Definitely Dead is missing pages 55 through 86.

    I got my copy in the 7 book box set, and it's printing history labels it as "Ace mass-market edition / April 2007".

    Hopefully this is just a fluke with my copy, but I felt obliged to come share this information to others interested in buying it for themselves. A good head's-up never hurt anyone. :]

    I'm enjoying the book as much as I have the others in the series, but missing out on chapters 5, 6, and half of 7 has certainly effected the experience.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 5, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Slightly Disappointing

    Definitely Dead is not a terrible book, but it's not a particularly good book, either. As a reader who has found herself quickly wrapped up in Charlaine Harris's fictional world, I found this installment of the Southern Vampire Series to be lacking in excitement and complexity. I kept waiting for something to happen...and waiting...and waiting. The plotline is very flat and I finished the book feeling unsatisfied. However, I enjoyed the next book in the series, All Together Dead, very much and I would recommend reading Definitely Dead simply as a means of bridging the gap between books #5 and #7.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 9, 2009

    Bland..

    This series is pretty mindless. It's fun if you aren't looking to read anything serioius, deep, or emotional. It's an easy light read and enjoyable to a younger audience. Could use some real love lines and relationships that last.. I got bored with the relationships never going anywhere.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 9, 2006

    Save your money, check this one out at the library

    I don't know what's up with this book. The other Sookie books are great, but this one felt like it hadn't been edited properly, or it was rushed to publication. The scenes with the witches were boring, the long, drawn out 'action' scenes were very boring. There were a couple of good points, the parts where you learn what Bill was really up to, and why Sookie is so attractive to vampires, but all in all, a disappointment after the first five books. On the positive side, it looks like Sookie and Bill are over forever, which I think most people will like, since not very many people seemed to like him. Quinn is likeable, but his character needs to be developed a little more fully. Not a lot of Eric in this book, and where he pops up, he's usually not very funny, unless you think bowling for vampires is funny. Hopefully in the next book? I hope this is just a transitionary book. Maybe book 7 will bring us back to the Sookie we know and love.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 28, 2006

    It was ok

    I love the Sookie series, but this book just was a let down. Harris was wonderful with her other books with all the twists and turns, making you think one thing but it really was another. This book was just too predictable. You knew that Bill had more behing his relationship with her, that Tanya was up to something, where the gift was hidden, who was chasing her, it was just too easy. There also wasn't as much action as in the other books. It was nice that Sookie had a break from getting beaten close to death, but it seemed like she really didn't do much but deal with her relationship issues and the people around her. I do like Quinn though, she deserves someone who likes her for her. I think that Eric does care for her in some way, maybe more as a cherished friend if he could suck his pride up enough to have friends. Bill got what he deserved. I liked him in the earlier books but he has become a completely different vamp. The book should be read, but the expectations lowered from the previous books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 19, 2006

    The 'stars' says it all

    I have been reading the Sookie saga since her books have first come out and have enjoyed all of them with the exception of this one. I agree with the some of the other reviews, get the book in the discount bin (if you must buy it) or get it from the library. I was disappointed in the direction of the relationship that Sookie and Bill have taken, as well as Sookie and Eric. Cannot say much more without it spoiling the storyline. Hopefully, the storyline will return to what it was in the beginning.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 6, 2006

    Disappointed

    Normally Charlaine Harris has a strong narrational hook, her imagery is flawless even if underdeveloped. The first sentence grabs you and soothes you, suddenly you are in a smoky bar or on the porch swinging away a lazy southern day. You know Sookie and look forward to getting to know her better. Unfortunately this time her beginning fell flat. Within two paragraphs I was wondering if maybe I had opened the wrong book. The names were right, the places right, but this was not the Sookie I had come to love reading about. She was not half as clever. It made my head split open in despair just trying to find the Sookie I knew. The sad thing is this book quite possibly holds alot of promise, but with an opening like this one not many first time readers will go beyond the first chapter. For die hard Sookie fans this will be a little too mundane, however they will likely rent it at the library to find out what happens. I largely blame the publisher for releasing this before it was properly edited. Books need to flow seamlessly for imagery to work and the editing on this piece is largely grammatical. Claude, at best a secondary character, being the focus of opening the book was not wise and it could have been done better. If the author insisted on this scene then it should have been written largely starting with Sookis's emotions on being arm candy or something of the sort. Her thoughts, by the way, were muddled and the emotions Sookie showed were not transferable to the audience. Perhaps, if you can get threw the first chapter this will be a good book but for me it simply wasn't worth it. I wish I could say differently as I really have enjoyed Charlaine Harris's past works and had a feeling if she could just strength up her imagery she could be as good, if not better, than Laurell K. Hamilton. Hopefully the errors I caught and the ones I have meantioned have already been fixed and won't come out in the finished product. This is probably unlikely. Just incase do check it out of the library, it would be a shame to miss this book if it were fixed. Just as it would be a shame to buy the book if it isn't.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 29, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 22, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 13, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 10, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 20, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 30 review with 2 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2