Customer Reviews for

Definitely Dead (Sookie Stackhouse / Southern Vampire Series #6)

Average Rating 4.5
( 1839 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(1140)

4 Star

(475)

3 Star

(162)

2 Star

(30)

1 Star

(32)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

A Fun Read

Definitely Dead is the sixth installment of Charlaine Harris's Sookie Stackhouse series. Fans of the quirky Sookie Stackhouse will once again find themselves absorbed in her world of vampires, werewolves, fairies, and other magical creatures. In Definitely Dead, our h...
Definitely Dead is the sixth installment of Charlaine Harris's Sookie Stackhouse series. Fans of the quirky Sookie Stackhouse will once again find themselves absorbed in her world of vampires, werewolves, fairies, and other magical creatures. In Definitely Dead, our heroin is subjected yet again to a series of strange and risky events which we are sure to find immensely entertaining. Avid readers of the "southern vampire" series may find themselves wanting to see more of Bill and Eric, but it's a fun read nonetheless. And fortunately for us, books seven through ten of the series (which do feature more of Bill and Eric) are waiting at our local Barnes and Noble bookstore.

posted by Veggie-Girl on May 9, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

15 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

The Truth

I must say that I became addicted to this series after the first book however, my love is waning. The books and relationships are predictable. Every book there is a new guy that falls head over heels in love with Sookie, and it's becoming tiresome. Charlaine never give...
I must say that I became addicted to this series after the first book however, my love is waning. The books and relationships are predictable. Every book there is a new guy that falls head over heels in love with Sookie, and it's becoming tiresome. Charlaine never gives us closure on any of her relationships or flings. This means that Sookie is loved, wanted, and lusted after by all who have had her. So...what's the count now? There's Sam, Alceade, Bill, Eric, Quinn, and the newcomer that's bound to love her too in the next book. Enough already! I started reading this series because I liked Sookie's character, but I've come to dislike Sookie and her continuing need to have her ego stroked. I now read the books for Eric alone. I hope that Charlaine goes back and reads her own series so that she may be reminded of how independent and humble Sookie was in the beginning. If the series continues on its current path I'm afraid it will lose one of its followers.

posted by Anonymous on March 11, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 1140 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 57
  • Posted September 10, 2011

    One of my favorites!

    Loved this book! A wonderful addition to the Sookie series. I loved the parts with Quinn.

    If when reading the book you feel that you are missing some information on Sookie's cousin and her background... you haven't read the short story, "One Word Answer" found in BITE by Charlaine Harris. This will give you all the background on Hadley.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 16, 2012

    Loved it!

    This one was actually one of my favorites so far. I read it in a couple of days because I could not put it down. Can't wait to start reading the next one.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 28, 2012

    Sookie

    Great series

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 17, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Definitely Good

    Ok so I knew from reading other teasers on the books and other peoples reviews that Bill was going to betray Sookie even more then he already had. However, I had no idea that I was going to hate him with such flair. I was ready to throw my book at the wall, kick and scream, but most of all I wanted to cry(and kill Bill). I was devistated and hurt by his betrale. I could not understand why he would be like that, I never took into consideration that he is only a vampire and he was constintally telly Sookie that he was not human and not a nice person. I understand her need for (slighly) human companionship now, and that is where Quinn steps in, but I want her to go to Eric. I want them to get together and be a couple. Eric, unlike Bill, really, truely loves Sookie. And I am desperatly hoping that in the next few books they get together and stay together. I think that Eric is really good to Sookie and that they are great for each other, they are each others perfect half. I am with Sookie on the fact that Bill could go on vaccation and maybe a stake will fall on him!! He would deserve it! I can't wait to read the next book!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 5, 2008

    I Also Recommend:

    LOVE THE SERIES

    These books have gotten better with each installment and this one is no exception. First, I have really come to love Harris' writing style. She makes the sentences and dialogue flow and really makes her story and characters come alive in a simplified way. She makes writing a novel seem easy! Second, the plot was exciting and once again kept me turning the pages. I've really come to love Sookie as a character; she has her insecurities like everyone else and is considered a "good girl" but takes risk and doesn't worry too much about the moral dilemmas. Which I personally find refreshing. I'm tired of reading about characters who do something drastic then spend pages on their regrets. I was shocked about the revelation about Bill (which I won't spoil for other readers here) but it seems to fit perfectly with his character. I love Eric more and more with each installment. I'm not too sure how I feel about Quinn at this point. Quinn seems a little too perfect and cookie cutter, but I'm excited to see what might happen in the next book. Highly recommended.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 24, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Harris certainly has a knack for her vampire tales, and this boo

    Harris certainly has a knack for her vampire tales, and this book hits the spot! While I am personally a big fan of Bill and wish Sookie would get over her anger, the book still has all the all the Stackhouse pieces that readers crave; vamps, weres, fairies, magic, shifters, and a little violence. Great book! A+

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 20, 2013

    Great!

    Great series. 6 down!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 20, 2013

    Elizabetha

    *puts the triplets in their cribs and kimberly to bed as i lay down*

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 25, 2013

    Awesome Series

    Great book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 19, 2013

    Awesome book

    Left me wanting more.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 8, 2013

    Solid Read after the short story 'One Word Answer'

    Like other reviewers I was completely confused when I started this book thinking I had started the wrong one. I hadn't, I just had not read the short story "One Word Answer" from the anthology "Bite". It makes things a bit easier to understand from that point out. I actually liked this book alot- I love the character of Amelia the witch- she is fantastic- though I'm disappointed how she leaves later on in the series but that's spoilers that I won't share.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 9, 2013

    Good

    I liked how this one finally tied up some loose ends! Another page turner for sure.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 20, 2013

    Sloan

    Hey whats up?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 21, 2012

    Love the book, love the series. Sookie can't stay out of trouble

    Love the book, love the series. Sookie can't stay out of trouble (man, physical, and supernatural) and I wouldn't want it any other way. Even though the book deals with supernatural creatures the characters actions just make complete sense and at times I am agreeing wholeheartedly with Sookie and then other times I'm look, don't be silly! However, I'd probably have the same reaction too (you know if I was ever a telepath with ex-boyfriends who were vampires). Must read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 20, 2012

    This was one of my favorites in the series. I definitely like Q

    This was one of my favorites in the series. I definitely like Quinn and
    would choose him for Sookie.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 30, 2012

    I enjoyed this book

    I really enjoyed this book alot i thought it was vary good. i love the different careters in it

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 16, 2012

    Quinn...rawr!

    This is by far my favorite Sookie Stackhouse book, because Quinn and Sookie are my favorite pairing!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 31, 2012

    I love Sookie!

    I devoured this book and all the otgers in the series!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 29, 2012

    Great read

    Great read

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 19, 2012

    Highly Recommended

    Loved the book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 1140 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 57