Customer Reviews for

Definitely Not Mr. Darcy

Average Rating 4
( 38 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(18)

4 Star

(11)

3 Star

(5)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Don't miss this fun book!

I was fortunate to receive an ARC of Definitely Not Mr. Darcy and didn't want to put the book down. Thirty-nine-year-old Chloe Parker is a divorced mother from Chicago who thinks she's auditioning for a Jane Austen historical-recreation TV show and finds herself instead...
I was fortunate to receive an ARC of Definitely Not Mr. Darcy and didn't want to put the book down. Thirty-nine-year-old Chloe Parker is a divorced mother from Chicago who thinks she's auditioning for a Jane Austen historical-recreation TV show and finds herself instead in a Regency-era version of The Bachelor. It's a great premise that more than pays off in this debut novel. Chloe finds herself in over her head more than once and discovers that living in the past isn't all she expected. I enjoyed this book even more than I thought I would. It's funny, insightful, and ultimately very satisfying.

posted by Robijane on July 20, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Poorly written and disjointed

This was such a difficult book to read because it was so poorly written. Terrible grammar, awkward phrases, and abrupt plot changes. The ending seemed completely tacked on and was completely unsatisfying. I'm actually deleting it from my Nook.

posted by Bijou1313 on March 11, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 18 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 7, 2011

    A MUST read!!

    Hilarious!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 10, 2012

    I was pleasantly surprised by this book. The premise was enterta

    I was pleasantly surprised by this book. The premise was entertaining (and not at all unlikely) and the characters were funny. The book offers a lot of interesting historical facts about the Regency Era throughout, and Doornebos does a nice job of using these facts to point out how easy it is for the modern reader to romanticize Austen's England. Like Chloe, the idea of a Austen-themed dating show might seem ridiculous to the reader, but Chloe's likeable character and the author's attention to detail make it very easy to get sucked into the plot. Doornebos's fresh and amusing spin on Austen makes for a fun and interesting read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 26, 2012

    Loved it

    A must read if you're an austin fan

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 6, 2012

    YOU HAVE TO READ THIS!

    If you love romance and Jane Austen...then you have to read this. I couldn't put it down. It's funny, addicting and I loved Chloe! Could anyone as a Jane Austen fan really go back in time and live in 1812? Chloe does her best and takes us along for the ride. I seriously hope that Miss Doornebos continues the story with a follow up book. And this would make a cute movie....Austen meets The Bachelor! If there is ever a show like this....SIGN ME UP! I want my own Henry! :)
    I can't recommend this book enough!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2011

    Loved it!

    Let me just say this... three cheers for Henry! Im assuming research went in to make things as accurate as possible andnif so, yikes! It was a great read though and the reality show angle workes so well... i would so watch a show like this in real life!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 14, 2011

    Great Book

    A Little wordy, but great debut!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 25, 2011

    A great romance novel- with only a bit of bodice ripping...

    ** spoiler alert ** OMG- this book was amazing. I love romance novels and this one was wonderful. I would love to see a sequel to this- showing how things went after the email. I read some reviews where people said that the social media references were wrong- maybe I have a newer edition- it is the ebook- but mine said tweeting like it should have. I would recommend this book to anyone who likes romance novels- and a great- probably happy ending. Now I, unlike some other readers, did not see the twist at the end coming- it was a great twist. I always like Henry more- glad Chloe did too!

    PS- the author is super nice- I wrote to her to tell her that the book was AMAZING- and she wrote me back- personally- within a 1/2 hr- and it was 9:00 at night on a weekday. It is nice to see a writer that is good to her fans! I will most definitely buy her next book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 3, 2011

    Must read!!!

    I loved this book!!!! I hope Karen Doornebos writes a sequel to this book!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 7, 2011

    Definitely a terrific read!

    I was so happy to receive an ARC of this book to read. I am a huge fan of Jane Austen and the regency period so I was thrilled to begin reading. Chloe is a terrific heroine...she is flawed and imperfect and makes mistakes just like the rest of us. She is not model perfect in any way (which makes her a perfect character for me). The author obviously spent a lot of time researching the Regency period because thee was no detail missed in the descriptions. I liked the characters; I liked the surprises and I liked the twists and turns. I was so sorry to see it end; I was anxious to finish it, but wished I could have read more. I look foward to reading more from this author Is it wrong to hope we'll see a Regency-era reality show in the future? Someone should send a copy to Mark Burnett.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 17, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Karen Doornebos provides a fresh amusing spin by combining 1812 Regency England within a modern day reality show

    Though she thought she signed up for a documentary, not fortyish single mom of a young daughter, Chloe Parker leaves Chicago to join a reality show set in Jane Austen's England because she needs the $100,000 prize money as her antique letter press business is failing. The participants are eight bachelorettes who accept the conditions of Regency England in order to win the heart of Mr. Wrightman. Chloe gives up indoor plumbing, central heating, phones and much more in anticipation of men in tights.

    However, Chloe finds she fails nineteenth century activities as sewing is a foreign skill and the use of a fan seems inane. Her odious rival Lady Grace makes it worse as her shenanigans are to get Chloe kicked off the show by setting up the ancient moron to look even more like a loser. Her other rivals are just as young, beautiful and shark-like as Grace is. Then there is the prize.

    Just when a reader would think that there is no knew take on Jane Austen, Karen Doornebos provides a fresh amusing spin by combining 1812 Regency England within a modern day reality show. The story line is amusing as Chloe competes with women younger, prettier and nastier than she could ever dream of being. With a nod to the 1900 House reality show, fans will agree that Mr. Wrightman is Definitely Not Mr. Darcy, but to Chloe he may be the right man.

    Harriet Klausner

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 31, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 10, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 1, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 15, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 23, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 6, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 14, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 18 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1