Customer Reviews for

Defying Gravity

Average Rating 5
( 64 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(64)

4 Star

(0)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 64 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Keith Urban is fantastic!!!

    Talk about a terrific album!!! Ever since the release date on March 31, I haven't stopped listening! Urban is well-known for his hopeful, feel-good songs, such as the hit "Somebody Like You" ; this album is wholly comprised of such songs- how fitting for the current times!
    Much like his previous albums, this one is inadvertently designed for the optimistic realist; hope, joy, and fantastic music. I highly recommend this album.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    It Truly Does Defy Gravity!

    I became a fan of Keith Urban about a year ago and have to say that this CD is fantastic. It shows how truly talented he is in all his songs. Keith manages to pull out every emotion humanly possible when listening to this CD. Kiss a girl has become my favorite on this CD and truth be known I actually played it over and over again for 30 minutes on my way to a radio station I work with. I just can't get enough of Keith Urban. His opening 2009 concert at Mohegan Sun was incredible, just as this Defying Gravity CD is. You won't be dissapointed with this purchase.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    The Best

    This is a must-have!!! Keith has done an amazing job putting this much anticipated album together!!!! The music is amazing- instruments, lyrics, and of course, the singing!!! Congrats Keith on another wonderfully amazing album!!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    GREAT!!

    Not often do you buy a CD where MOST of the songs are great. I love this one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Rockin' Smooth Country

    I'm not a country music fan. In fact, with the exception of a few artists, like the Dixie Chicks and Willie Nelson, I rarely listen to this genre of music. However, I've been in love with Keith Urban's voice and songs ever since radio crossed him over and began playing his work on Top 40 radio stations. After hearing You'll Think of Me, I was hooked.

    I bought Keith's Greatest Hits CD and listened to it daily, for weeks. To this day, I adore the songs on that CD. I was worried that I wouldn't like Defying Gravity as much as I liked Keith's previous work. After all, I'm not a C&W music fan. What is Defying Gravity sounded more like Toby Keith's work? I bought Defying Gravity with some hesitation, but I was not disappointed. Keith's voice is still beautiful and his songs are complex, speaking to all aspects of life and love.

    It's official - I like some C&W music.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Defying Gravity

    Keith Urban is one of my favorite singers. This CD is awesome. We expect perfection with him and we get it again on this CD. I truly enjoy listening to it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Defying Gravity

    Absolutely love this cd! Music from the heart. Beautiful music, beautiful artist! It gets a 5 star +++++++++!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Best one yet

    To date this is probably his best work. I loved it and would tell all my friends to buy it.
    He is an amazing artist who just gets better.
    Drug and alcohol free makes for great music..............

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    love everything he does

    Waited anxiously for release and not disappointed. One of his biggest fans. Thank you really moved me.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    FROM THE HEART

    There is good reason why this album shot up to #1 on the Billboard Top 200 of All Genres. It is wonderful on so many levels. If you have someone special in your life this album celebrates that love, if you are searching for that someone, it will give you hope and embolden you, and if you are wary of love, it will change your mind. Keith sings with the sincerest emotions straight from the heart and plays guitar (and multiple other instruments) like no one else. It is a fantastic collection of songs that you will play over and over without skipping a one. Get this album, listen and love it and then see it performed live at one of Keith's concerts! You will never be the same!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Another Aussome Album

    I am a huge fan of Keith Urban and this album does not disappoint. There is a song for everyone. There is the upbeat very fast paced "Hit The Ground Running" and the soulful "If Ever I Could Love." Thre is no doubt that this album comes right from his heart. I know it will touch yours also.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    He did it AGAIN.

    Being a huge Keith Urban fan.. I waited for MONTHS to hear this album. And I was not in the least bit disappointed! It's AMAZING from beginning to end. The guitar solos will make you melt (Listen to 'Til Summer Comes Around<3), and lyrics are just amazing. Keith Urban's ability to write and play great music, and all of his talent really shines through this album and I HIGHLY recommend buying it.

    :]

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    "Defying Gravity" is the perfect title for this cd....

    As my headline stated, this album truly defies gravity!! Every song is a breath of fresh air! The lyrics are amazing, the music is great!
    I feel that this is a perfect snapshot of Keith's mentality right now. This is a cd that is truly worth every penny. You can listen from the beginning to the end and all over again and again.
    This is a cd that I can share with the family and we all enjoy it! My 6 yr old LOVES Keith, and we have to fight over this cd. LOL!!

    Run out and buy your copy to see what I mean!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    Keith Urban's Defying Gravity - A Must Have CD

    The music world was definitely blessed with Keith Urban. This CD is a must have and the songs are straight from the heart of this man. That is what makes this man so unique. You not only hear the passion in music, but you feel it also. The guitar playing on this CD, as the others in the past, are something you do not want to miss hearing. This man plays the guitar so smoothly, it is amazing.

    I bought this CD the first day it was released and if I am not listening to it, I am singing those 11 fantastic songs in my head or aloud in whatever I am doing. This is must have CD to add to your collection. All 11 songs are amazing and this CD shot to No 1 first week out on the Billboard Charts. Once you hear this, you will know what a true musician, songwriter and kind of person Keith Urban is, passionate for life and his music. There are definitely not enough stars in the sky to rate this CD.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Keith Defies Gravity

    Keith Urban gets back to what he's best at with Defying Gravity,writing upbeat, optomistic Love Songs. this CD will produce hit single after hit single. Every song on this CD is great in it's own right. A must have!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    KEITH URBAN ROCKS AGAIN!

    Loved the new CD. I keep thinking that the quality of music can't get better but Keith is still as good, if not better than ever. This CD is a must!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Keith Urban's newest Amazing Album

    Keith Urban has trully blessed the music world with this new AMAZING album. Its almost like you are listening to a love fairytale from the beginning to end. The songs start with finding new love and each song describes a new step in a relationship. Its such a raw and honest album. Makes your heart feel alive and ready to give love away. The world is better place with this cd in it. Its one of those cds you could hear over and over and not get tired of it. There's not a single song in the track list that I don't absolutely love. Not to mention the awesome lyrics and the amazing guitar solos you'll hear. When Summmer Comes Around has guitar riffs that will give you goosebumps and make the hair on your neck standup. I highly recommend this album, you won't be dissappointed

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    Defying Gravity

    Ever since the first time i heard "Sweet Thing", I knew this CD was going to be amazing, and that it would be my favorite. I think this is Keiths best CD ever!! Its amazing. It has a little bit of everything. It has slow songs, upbeat songs, different and unique sounds, and amazing guitar solos. It already has 2 huge hits and I could easily see them all being a huge hit. This is a must buy!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    LOVE IT!!!!!

    I've been listening to this CD nonstop since getting it. I just LOVE it! It's an uplifting CD with beautiful music. It's definitely a must for any music lover out there! Keith has outdone himself!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Heart Felt and Soulful

    Keith Urban does it again with another wonderful CD that has some of the most beautiful songs ever written!!! His music is the most heart felt and sung with full genuine love that i've ever heard!!! Keep up the great work Keith!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 64 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4