Customer Reviews for

Degree of Guilt (Christopher Paget Series #2)

Average Rating 4
( 18 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(4)

4 Star

(8)

3 Star

(5)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 18 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted October 25, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Keep reading, it will be worth it

    Christopher Paget is San Francisco attorney who is compelled to defend Mary Carelli the estranged mother of his live-in son for the murder of a famous writer she accuses of trying to rape her. For the sake of his son Chris tries his best to defend her as he searches for the truth about what really happened in that hotel room. But as the courtroom drama unfolds Marnie Sharpe, the prosecutor, skillfully exposes the lies in Mary's story portraying her as a pre-meditated murder rather than a victim. And everyone is searching for missing audio tapes between Mary and her psychologist that can potentially end Mary's chance of an acquittal and reveal truths about Chris and their son that could end his career and turn his life upside-down.

    This book was originally published in 1993. It's re-release in paperback form 17 years later is curious. Although a courtroom thriller built around the murder of rapist by one his victims it is at least as much about the psychology of the criminal and the victim. And while this may sound macabre Patterson's story unfolds in way that is both revealing and captivating. However, this is very much an adult book with a candid expose' of a sociopath that can leave the reader grimacing. Tedious at first it becomes a compelling read. Highly recommend.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 26, 2010

    Second Time Around

    When I started this book, I realized I had read it before -- five years ago. However, I enjoyed it as much in rereading and recalled only a few major details.

    A great escape/rainy day read when you can curl up with your favorite beverage, a purring cat, and a few hours to yourself.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 3, 2013

    Recommend this book

    This book is a fast read and I could not put it down. The interpretation of the law
    and the twists and turns kept me wanting to find out what happened. The main
    character, Chris Paget, is a complex person who makes the storyline even
    more interesting. After reading this author,I would want to read more of his books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 7, 2005

    Solid but not great

    I picked up Richard North Patterson's first novel The Lasko Tangent at a used bookstore one day, just on a whim. My wife read it, recommended it to me, and I enjoyed it also. I thought the plot and pacing lurched around too much, and some of the dialog was painfully stilted, but the characters were more fleshed out than those of most bestsellers, and some of the dialog was actually pretty funny. I decided to read Lasko's sequel, Degree of Guilt, and I am glad I did. In the years between Lasko and Degree, RNP has sharpened his craft, specifically with regard to plot. Lasko's protagonist (and likely alter-ego) Christopher Paget returns, having relocated to San Francisco, where he finds himself defending his previous lover (and mother of his son) Mary Carelli from a murder charge. She claims to have been assualted in an attempted rape, but the eveidence seems to suggest otherwise. I found myself eager to find out what surprises awaited me around each corner and although some plot twists were predictable, others were not. Unfortunately, Patterson has not improved his dialog one iota; the witticisms have been trimmed back and there is nary a page without at least one cringe-worthy line solemnly delivered. Still, Degree of Guilt was a big step in the right direction for Patterson, and I look forward to reading the third installment in the series, Eyes of a Child.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 30, 2002

    HARD TO PUT DOWN.

    I THOROUGHLY ENJOYED 'DEGREE OF GUILT' AS A LEGAL THRILLER. IT IS ALSO A BOOK THAT TALKS OF INTRICATE FAMILY RELATIONSHIPS AND THE WAY THEY AFFECT EACH MEMBER OF A FAMILY. THE ENDING WAS UNEXPECTED YET SATISFACTORY AND THE AUTHORS OWN QUOTES ABOUT WHAT CONSTITUTES THE FAMILY BOND IS TOTALLY ACCURATE. YOU WILL ENJOY THIS BOOK FROM START TO END AS THE PACE IS FAST AND CARRIES THE READER WITH IT.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 26, 2002

    A real COURTROOM THRILLER

    I love RNP and this is one of the books in which he really is at his vintage best. RNP really knows how to get reader hooked, the book runs like motion picture in your mind. Christopher Paget is the protagonist.The lady who is the mother of his only son, the lady who once tried to murder him is forced to re-enter his life. The reason - the death; or rather murder of an eminent American novelist Mark Ransom.Mary says that she had gone to the hotel room in San Fransisco to interview Mark Ransom and to gain some information on the death of a famous actress, connected with a senator. She claims that he had tried to rape her and in the process killed him in self defense.Chris is to defend Mary Carelli in one of the best and exemplarily written courtroom dramas I have ever read. A few tapes of evidence and other evidence make it a tough courtroom war. Mark Ransom's obsession to the dead actress, evidence that show Mary is capable of murder and Chris forced to face a complex past are all part of this intense thriller.The book after some time moves at an electrifying pace and certain surprises really sting you. A definite worthwile and amazing read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 30, 2001

    not just on the surface

    I can't agree with the previous review. May be it is obvious to some how the trial will end, but even so, the book is not about it. I greatly enjoyed the intricate relationships between characters and the careful portrayal of their inner selves. To me, 'degree of guilt' is the book about real people with their not-so-perfect personalities. I turn pages just to find out that the author lives in my world as well.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 9, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 2, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 27, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 4, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 25, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 11, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 24, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 21, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 31, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 16, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 27, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 18 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1