Customer Reviews for

Delia's Crossing (Delia Series #1)

Average Rating 4.5
( 36 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(25)

4 Star

(7)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 36 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted February 24, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Reviewed by Jaglvr for TeensReadToo.com

    Delia Yebarra's life is about to change.

    Living a content life in her small Mexican village, Delia has just celebrated her fifteenth birthday. She lives with her parents and her grandmother in a small house. They don't have a lot of money, but Delia knows she is loved and wouldn't trade her life for anything.

    But Delia's parents are killed in a freak accident and her grandmother is too old to provide for her. Her grandmother tells her that she is going off to America to live with her aunt. Delia doesn't know her aunt. Isabela left Mexico and married an older rich American. Isabela refuses to acknowledge any reminders of her life in Mexico.

    Upon arrival in Palm Springs, Delia hopes for a new life. She is homesick for her grandmother, but vows to make the best of things. However, her aunt has other ideas. After arriving at the house, Delia is sent off to a dingy room at the back of the grounds. Because of her limited grasp of the English language, she is to be treated as an employee rather than as a long-lost relative. No one besides Isabela and the English tutor knows her true identity.

    Delia struggles to do everything her aunt asks of her. But things go from worse to tragic. It's only after her cousin, Edward, learns who Delia truly is, does life take a turn for the better. Delia finally gets to attend school. Rather than the private school that her cousins Edward and Sophia attend, Delia is stuck in the ESL class at the local high
    school.

    But as with any V.C. Andrews story, life doesn't remain rosy for long. Sophia has plans of her own that may sabotage Delia's tentative happiness.

    DELIA'S CROSSING started out a bit slow. The background was being set for the hardships that Delia was about to encounter. But once Edward is brought into the picture, the story unfolds at a brisk pace, pitting Delia against all the evil people she meets in America. Delia is an innocent thrust into the den of lions.

    There are redeeming characters in America, such as her cousin Edward and his friend, Jesse, but it's the evil ones that Delia must endure that make the book so exciting.

    Delia's struggles in America continue in the next installment, DELIA'S HEART.

    (Note: There are situations that Delia is thrust into that are best left for the older reader.)

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 28, 2012

    I read all three books of the series within 4 days, LOVED them!

    I read all three books of the series within 4 days, LOVED them!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 5, 2013

    Great Book!

    This is one of VC Andrews best since the Flowers in the Attic Saga!!! I loved it, read all three books in a week!!! It's a must read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 7, 2012

    Great

    One of the good ones

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 6, 2012

    Awful!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    This has to be in the top five of the worst three books i've ever read. Delias should have been killed of in the first chapter. I suffered through all three books thinking it has to get better, it did NOT. I have to give it a one star in order to post this review. It doesn't deserve one star.

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 30, 2011

    Enjoyed very much

    This was a really good book cant waite to read the whole series i used to read vc andrews when i was a teen and this still has the same style of writing

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 18, 2011

    Great Book!!!

    I'm going to reread it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 28, 2011

    Highly emotional book, have Kleenex handy.

    I read this book in two days, couldn't put it down. I have been a V. C. Andrews reader since my Grandmother got me hooked on The Flowers in the Attic series. This book had me crying in the first few chapters as well as at the end. I can't wait to start the second one in this series. I hope you will love this book as much as I did, but don't for get to have a box of Kleenex ready.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 26, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Very good VC Andrews book!

    I am torn with VC Andrews books because they all essentially have the same plot with different characters. If you are looking for your typical VC Andrews book, this one definitely fits the norm.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 22, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    GOOD!! :)

    Delia's parents are killed and she is sent to live with her mother's rich sister in America where things are different than the way she was raised in Mexico. She's an outcast in her family and the only one she trusts is her cousin Edward. She learns the hard way not to trust people. I liked this book,it's like a soap opera lol! You know most stuff in this book would probably never happen in real life but you can't help but read it and like it anyways

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 12, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    the book and story line was fantastic very fantasticly done i bougth the whole set

    the cast was great i have all three in my libary cover was very colorful, i have loved the auther for many years

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 11, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    WOW!

    Highly emotional. A book not meant for slow, relaxing reading. Charged with action and feelings, you won't want to put it down. The characters will anger you, sadden you, and make you cheer. Even to the very end, you are kept guessing on what will happen on the next page. All characters are highly memorable. A must read for the avid reader. An excellent choice for those who need encouragement to pick up a book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 8, 2009

    Good Book

    If you are a fan of V.C. Andrews you wold like this one too. I will reccommend this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 29, 2008

    Excellent suspense thriller

    Delia Yebarra is dreaming in school about yesterday¿s quinceanera celebration when her grandmother bursts into the school and takes her home. She informs the teen that her parents died in an auto accident. Delia leaves her Mexican village to live with her wealthy aunt Isabella in Palm Springs, California. Isabelle married an older rich man. The grieving teenager is shocked that her aunt is taking her in because Isabelle turned her back on her family and village years ago. When she arrives at her aunt¿s vast estate, Delia is told she will live in a rundown building and will be a servant until she learns to speak English fluently. Nobody will know they are related, but eventually Delia¿s cousins Edward and Sophia learn the truth. Edward welcomes her to the family and tries to protect her. However Isabelle and Sophia try to harm her so Delia flees for home with a Mexican fugitive at her side. --- If this tale is any indication, V.C. Andrews¿s new series starring Delia will be a big hit. Delia feels like a fish out of water in the states especially since she does not speak English and thereby unwelcome by her aunt who along with Sophia uses her niece for personal reasons Delia has no idea how to fight back. Even her relationship with Edward is ruined by her aunt¿s machinations leaving her isolated as a stranger in a foreign land. This is a great tale of people in crisis learning to cope with the hand fate (and a cruel relative) dealt them. --- Harriet Klausner

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 11, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 16, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 13, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 8, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 14, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 11, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 36 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2