Customer Reviews for

Delicious!

Average Rating 4.5
( 33 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(23)

4 Star

(7)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

8 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

Billie Breslin is the kind of girl I'd befriend: hungry and book

Billie Breslin is the kind of girl I'd befriend: hungry and bookish. Always agog and somewhat bumbling, this romantic comedy lead stumbles onto the foodie magazine scene in an enviable scenario (somewhat reminiscent of Reichl's own haphazard trajectory), where she endur...
Billie Breslin is the kind of girl I'd befriend: hungry and bookish. Always agog and somewhat bumbling, this romantic comedy lead stumbles onto the foodie magazine scene in an enviable scenario (somewhat reminiscent of Reichl's own haphazard trajectory), where she endures bullying and a repeat caller who comically messes up the magazine's recipes. Hoping to prove her writing chops from the editor's assistant position, Billie's new job at Delicious! magazine still leaves wiggle room for a weekend job dishing Italian sides at a close-knit family shop, the fodder for Billie's first published article and an unsurprising romance.

The book's unexpected turn comes when Billie unearths a series of letters between a teenaged girl and James Beard written during World War II and hidden in a secret room of the magazine's boarded-up library. As Billie follows the late librarian's clues to find the hidden letters, her search also leads to deepened friendships and self-discovery, and, naturally, a makeover. (I said romantic comedy, right? Totally a Drew Barrymore moment.)

I've closely followed Reichl's writing for numerous reasons — okay, mainly the food writing with a large side of intrigue — and was excited to find her foray into fiction such a believable transition. Yes, there are several plot wrinkles that feel heavy-handed, but they're minor and, in my opinion, forgiveable. The characters, Billie in particular, are well-drawn and familiar, friendly people whom you want to like, making it easy to be drawn along with the story. But Reichl's imagined letters to James Beard are the real gems in this book, rich with history and curiosity.

posted by Christine_Emming on May 6, 2014

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

I'd "fig"getabout it

I'd give this less than a star if I could. I wish I liked it better, but I really get tired of Reichl's books replacing therapy. She needs to move on

posted by rokinrev on July 14, 2014

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 33 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted May 6, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Billie Breslin is the kind of girl I'd befriend: hungry and book

    Billie Breslin is the kind of girl I'd befriend: hungry and bookish. Always agog and somewhat bumbling, this romantic comedy lead stumbles onto the foodie magazine scene in an enviable scenario (somewhat reminiscent of Reichl's own haphazard trajectory), where she endures bullying and a repeat caller who comically messes up the magazine's recipes. Hoping to prove her writing chops from the editor's assistant position, Billie's new job at Delicious! magazine still leaves wiggle room for a weekend job dishing Italian sides at a close-knit family shop, the fodder for Billie's first published article and an unsurprising romance.

    The book's unexpected turn comes when Billie unearths a series of letters between a teenaged girl and James Beard written during World War II and hidden in a secret room of the magazine's boarded-up library. As Billie follows the late librarian's clues to find the hidden letters, her search also leads to deepened friendships and self-discovery, and, naturally, a makeover. (I said romantic comedy, right? Totally a Drew Barrymore moment.)

    I've closely followed Reichl's writing for numerous reasons — okay, mainly the food writing with a large side of intrigue — and was excited to find her foray into fiction such a believable transition. Yes, there are several plot wrinkles that feel heavy-handed, but they're minor and, in my opinion, forgiveable. The characters, Billie in particular, are well-drawn and familiar, friendly people whom you want to like, making it easy to be drawn along with the story. But Reichl's imagined letters to James Beard are the real gems in this book, rich with history and curiosity.

    8 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 13, 2014

    Wonderful!

    This book is everything i want a book to be. Great characters whom i care about. Food. And a little mystery. I am halfway through and cannot put it down.

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 7, 2014

    terrific! can't wait for the next novel

    I absolutely loved this book. I had read the story about her mother and knew something about her work, but just happened to pick this up. I absolutely loved it. Good story, good characters, liked the relationships, could enjoy food and not consume calories. Only bad thing about it? It ended! Hoping she writes another novel soon.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 14, 2014

    Get a pink ipad

    Kiss your hand three times repost this on three other books and look under your pillow tonight.

    3 out of 19 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 15, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    Recipes, libraries, letters, books, food, authentic Italian butc

    Recipes, libraries, letters, books, food, authentic Italian butcher and cheese shops, aromas you can smell through the pages, and marvelous characters. What more can a reader ask for?

    DELICIOUS is a reader's and a cook's paradise. DELICIOUS is one wonderful page of words after another.

    The magic never stopped as Ms. Reichl introduced the reader to her believable, lovable characters and to mouthwatering food. Billie and every single character will steal your heart. The characters just had something that pulled you in.

    When Billie finds letters in the library of a now defunct magazine company that were sent to a famous chef, Mr. Beard, from 13-year old Lulu during WWII, the book continues with the same mood of enjoying life, enjoying food, and discovering oneself. If you love old buildings from the 1800's, you will be in for another surprise.

    These letters became the basis of DELICIOUS and also created a mystery about who Lulu was. The letters were used by a librarian as a fun game of finding clues that were very cleverly hidden and ones that led to the next clue...was the game ever over? If Lulu were still alive, Billie knew what a wonderful treat it would be to meet her.

    If you want to be entertained and have your taste buds taken to the highest level, be sure to read DELICIOUS. You will also have the pleasure of learning how to face hidden fears in your life and share your life with those you should share it with.

    DELICIOUS is unlike any book I have read. It grabs hold of you and takes you along for a "delicious" adventure and a very pleasurable reading ride.

    My rating of DELICIOUS is a taste tempting, entertaining, and loving 5/5.

    Don't miss reading DELICIOUS. It is a beautiful, delightful book.¿

    I received this book free of charge and without compensation from the publisher in return for an honest review.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 14, 2014

    I loved this book . Started reading it and could not put it down

    I loved this book . Started reading it and could not put it down.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 30, 2014

    This book is delicious. I love the story about Billie and the v

    This book is delicious. I love the story about Billie and the various people she comes in contact with while working for a food magazine in NYC. The story is charming and the description of the foods made my mouth water. The story line was charming and moved along at a nice pace. Loved all the characters, Sal, Rosalie, Maggie, Mitch and Thursday. And the best was that it takes place in New York City. I am from the city and moved several years ago. It brought back so many memories and reminds how much I miss the city. I have can't forget to mention the great letters from Lulu to James Beard. Very clever. Great read.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 14, 2014

    I'd "fig"getabout it

    I'd give this less than a star if I could. I wish I liked it better, but I really get tired of Reichl's books replacing therapy. She needs to move on

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 23, 2014

    Terrific Story!

    I could not put this book down! I love to cook and greatly enjoyed how the world of food was immersed in this story. While some of the story was a bit predictable, I was not expecting the story to include life during WWII. That storyline was an added treat to an already interesting read.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 21, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    This was one of the best books I've ever read. I didn't want it

    This was one of the best books I've ever read. I didn't want it to end. I hope Ruth Reichl can write another one. Hard to top this. Loved the chaacters, mystery, and the food.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 5, 2015

    I don't like to cook and I'm not a foodie but a friend recommend

    I don't like to cook and I'm not a foodie but a friend recommended this so highly I bought it anyway. What a waste of money and time. It reminds me a book written for pre-teens,very unsophisticated. Not much of a plot, nothing surprising or unpredictable or even interesting. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 28, 2015

    So glad I read this.

    I wanted nothing to do with this book initially because it was not about serial killer or some other gripping mystery. I recognized where Billie was in the first third of the book and the rest was about putting her back together and processing her feelings. My dad died when I was about a third of the way through and this cast of characters kept me company for 125 pages that first night and then it took me two weeks to finish the rest of it. I'm so thankful I had this book to keep me company during that time that I will always remember that and Billie's healing helped me to process my feelings. Thank you to the author for all of that.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 16, 2015

    Recommend

    Quite interesting and an easy read !

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 1, 2014

    A fun read!

    I would love to spend time with the "characters" in this story. Major drawback: The descriptions of the food and drink. Hungry all the time.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 14, 2014

    Great read

    Wonderful novel. Compelling story grabs you right away. I hope she writes more novels like this.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 14, 2014

    Loved it

    Such a lovely book, with such wonderful characters. I had a tuck in day yesterday with a nasty bout of bronchitis, and it was a great book to cuddle up with. A nice cozy mystery solved through clues in an old fashioned card catalog in a locked secret library. Historical building and renovations, a bit of foodie talk, a love story, more foodie talk, travel talk, table setting talk, what more could a girl ask for? And thank you, not peppered with recipes. And a marvelous back story, of food rationing during World War II and James Beard which supplied one of the mysteries. I hated to have it end. I need to learn more about James Beard.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 20, 2014

    Ruth Reichl is also a foodie, who once worked as a restaurant cr

    Ruth Reichl is also a foodie, who once worked as a restaurant critic for both the New York Times and the L.A. Times.  She also worked as an editor in chief at Gourmet Magazine, before the magazine closed in 2009.  That’s quite a career – and even though I never read Gourmet, I have enjoyed her writing.  This is not her first book, but it is her first works of fiction.
    Writing, like cooking, is a labor of love.  Delicious is the name of a fictional magazine, that the main character works at.  She’s from California, and fresh out of college leaves her home, to take this job in NYC.   The city, like her home in California is a foodie’s paradise, and though it takes her a while to adjust to life away from home – she falls in love with the city, it’s people, and its food.  The main character’s name is Billie, and there seems to be quite a bit of Ruth in the character.  I think that’s okay – it makes Billie much more real, and her work at the magazine so much more familiar.  She struggles at first at the magazine, she landed this great job at a food magazine – yet doesn’t even cook (yet is forced to cook something for the editor at the job interview)!
    She turns out to be a pretty good cook, and thrives at the magazine.  There is a bit of history in the story, which I really loved.  She’s connected to the magazine’s past when she discovers a series of letters written to a famous chef from a young girl named Lulu.  These two exchanged letters during WWII, and Billie finds the letters just behind the magazine’s library.  This was quite an experience for her, and seems to lift her out of her fog, since moving so far away from home – and the sister she very close to.
    At the end of the book there’s a great recipe for gingerbread that I can’t wait to try.  Even though I consider tmyself to be an experienced baker, this will be a challenge!  Having just finished this book, I’m now going to find some of her other books.  Before writing this book, she had published a few memoirs – about food, life, and her mother.  Those will now be on my TBR list!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 7, 2014

    Reichl has written a lovely story of love and loss and hope and

    Reichl has written a lovely story of love and loss and hope and growth. Even the most flamboyant characters are, somehow, believable. I wasn't sure I'd like it and then I couldn't put it down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 12, 2014

    I loved this book! I actually picked this book up at the BookCon

    I loved this book! I actually picked this book up at the BookCon. I loved the storyline. The characters were great and inviting. I usually dont 
    read books like this BUT I enjoyed this book so much that I am adding her to my list of authors to look out for. Also, I loved that she put a 
    recipe at the end of the book! 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 21, 2014

    Check out the full review at Kritters Ramblings Billie Breslin

    Check out the full review at Kritters Ramblings

    Billie Breslin was an easy character to fall in love with and root for and the eccentric characters of Delicious! were just fantastically entertaining!  Billie gets a job as an assistant (which was fun to read as that is my job title) to the editor of the magazine Delicious, but she is extremely overqualified as she has taste buds that defy all odds and has a past in the culinary industry.  

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 33 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2