Customer Reviews for

Delirious

Average Rating 4.5
( 34 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(18)

4 Star

(8)

3 Star

(7)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

This is a super psychological thriller

In Massachusetts, software engineer Charlie Giles, who works at SoluCent, develops InVision, a quantum technical leap ahead in automobile entertainment systems. Charlie is excited as the firm's top management arranges to meet with General Motors on a deal to standardiz...
In Massachusetts, software engineer Charlie Giles, who works at SoluCent, develops InVision, a quantum technical leap ahead in automobile entertainment systems. Charlie is excited as the firm's top management arranges to meet with General Motors on a deal to standardize InVision in their cars.

However, he is stunned when a SoluCent employee Anne Pedersen informs Charlie that his boss Jerry Schmidt will nix the GM deal. Fuming and out of control, Giles crashes into an executive meeting where he confronts Schmidt. Thinking his employee is insane; Schmidt insists he supports the deal with GM. Giles apologizes but explains marketing employee Anne Pedersen fed him the crap. Charlie is shocked when he learns no Pederson works for the firm. In spite of his creative skills, he is fired. Meanwhile Giles fears he suffers from mental illness just like his father and brother. His trepidation being besieged by his failing mind is further exasperated when he finds a note written by him naming those SoluCent executives who must die. He wonders if he needs to join his sibling in a ward lock up before he hurts someone; that is if has hasn't already.

This is a super psychological thriller that enables the reader to get inside the apparent sick mind of a brilliant technician who fears he has become as Delirious as his family and ergo a dangerous threat to others. The story line focuses on Giles' deteriorating mental state leaving the audience to wonder what is real and what did he imagine as real. Although the climax is a major let down for such an otherwise strong thriller, mindful of the Hoffman movie Who is Harry Kellerman and Why Is He Saying Those Terrible Things About Me? fans will appreciate Daniel Palmer's exciting spotlight on mental health.

Harriet Klausner

posted by harstan on December 29, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

eh

i have to give it credit, its a wonderfully written book and im sure if i got more into it, it would be better but to be honest the book bored me. he talked about his fog and his work, which is hard to get into, maybe im. not old enough for this yet.

posted by mobchick16 on February 9, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 34 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted December 29, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    This is a super psychological thriller

    In Massachusetts, software engineer Charlie Giles, who works at SoluCent, develops InVision, a quantum technical leap ahead in automobile entertainment systems. Charlie is excited as the firm's top management arranges to meet with General Motors on a deal to standardize InVision in their cars.

    However, he is stunned when a SoluCent employee Anne Pedersen informs Charlie that his boss Jerry Schmidt will nix the GM deal. Fuming and out of control, Giles crashes into an executive meeting where he confronts Schmidt. Thinking his employee is insane; Schmidt insists he supports the deal with GM. Giles apologizes but explains marketing employee Anne Pedersen fed him the crap. Charlie is shocked when he learns no Pederson works for the firm. In spite of his creative skills, he is fired. Meanwhile Giles fears he suffers from mental illness just like his father and brother. His trepidation being besieged by his failing mind is further exasperated when he finds a note written by him naming those SoluCent executives who must die. He wonders if he needs to join his sibling in a ward lock up before he hurts someone; that is if has hasn't already.

    This is a super psychological thriller that enables the reader to get inside the apparent sick mind of a brilliant technician who fears he has become as Delirious as his family and ergo a dangerous threat to others. The story line focuses on Giles' deteriorating mental state leaving the audience to wonder what is real and what did he imagine as real. Although the climax is a major let down for such an otherwise strong thriller, mindful of the Hoffman movie Who is Harry Kellerman and Why Is He Saying Those Terrible Things About Me? fans will appreciate Daniel Palmer's exciting spotlight on mental health.

    Harriet Klausner

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 17, 2010

    Greatest Debut thriller

    I have always been a huge fan of new authors because it can open a whole new world to us the readers and find that new talent that is sure to be a super star writer. So I go out of my way to find these rising stars and make sure I give them a try, because most of the time to get to the point where they get published in this world of very tough standards it has to be special to have made it to the finished product.
    Delirious is one of those books from new comer Daniel Palmer and I was glad I had the honor to get my hands on an advanced readers copy to read before it is released around the 25th of the new year. I have found over the years sometimes it takes a couple books for the author to really settle in and become a very good writer. Not this time! Daniel Palmer has hit a home run at his first at bat!!!!!
    Delirious is a HUGE thriller that starts with a slam against the wall and holds you so tight in its grip you can not and will not put it down. He has taken thrillers to a completely different place that had me mesmerized from the 1st page. It takes you into the world of high tech
    corporate America and a family that has some serious mental health problems. One of two brothers has escaped the illness that destroyed his father and brother. He immersed himself in his education and becomes one of the most gifted people in the consumer electronics industry. In a partnership with another genius they invent and develop the greatest new addition in the car computerized intelligence system, light years ahead of anything on the market. After being bought out by a huge company it comes to the point where he is still running that end of the business and getting ready to finally put this new system into production that will shatter and change for ever the car industry.
    His world falls apart and he believes that the haunting past of his father and brother has caught up with him as his mind can no longer comprehend what is happening to him he ends up in the same hospital lock down that his brother has been in.
    This story is a white knuckle hold me down thriller of a whole different breed. The twist and turns are so many you have to stop and catch a breath and try and figure out what just happened in front of your eyes. Everything points to him losing his mind and becoming a vicious killer and he knows the only way to find the truth is staying free. What a ride. I pride my self on being able to have some idea of where the story is going, boy was I wrong. Daniel Palmer has taken the word thriller to a whole new meaning. This is not the common themed thriller we have become so used to, it writes a whole new line to the definition. One that will be remembered for years to come. This is by far one of the greatest debut novels I have had the pleasure to read and am already waiting for the next one.


    Mr. Plamer takes what could be the every day existence of anyone in the world and takes that and turns it upside down and shakes it till you are believing everything is crazy.One of the most original and by far the best thrillers to come by in a long time. This is a must read for all thriller fans and a great book to sit inside the house this winter and get lost in a world that will not let you go till the very last page. This writer has taken the gene to a whole different level with a completely refreshing story that is so different from the normal thrillers we have come to enjoy as the mainstay of the industury. DO not miss this diffrent thrill

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 23, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Good Book

    Definitely! Keep you on the edge of your seat.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 28, 2011

    brilliant

    this book will keep you interested from begining to end. brilliantly written and definitely a suspensful thriller. love this book!

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 9, 2011

    eh

    i have to give it credit, its a wonderfully written book and im sure if i got more into it, it would be better but to be honest the book bored me. he talked about his fog and his work, which is hard to get into, maybe im. not old enough for this yet.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 24, 2011

    Not My Favorite

    Okay, ya'll know I love to do honest opinions but HATE giving bad reviews. So, my honest opinion is this: this novel, this debut, by a surely talented author, was okay. Simply okay. But, that is just this one reader's opinion. I can't really pinpoint what it was lacking for me. The characters were great, the plot line was very intriguing. But, there was just something missing.

    That being said, I will not discourage anyone from reading this. The psychological, edge-of -your-seat thrills is definitely there, if you love that kind of novel. The use of the language is there as well, but if you love this kind of novel, it would be easy to over look.

    All in all, this is a 3 star novel that I encourage everyone to try. It just wasn't my taste. I know that there are lots of readers out there who will sit down, open this debut novel, and be so completely pulled in, they will feel a part of the plot as if Daniel Palmer wrote it for them!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 12, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Disappointing

    Charlie Giles and his partner created software for an automobile entertainment system. Following his partner's suicide, Charlie's company was purchased by SoluCent and he continues to work on his software in his new capacity with them. SoluCent is on the cusp of selling InVision to GM which will make Charlie wealthy beyond his dreams.

    Approached by Anne Pedersen, a SoluCent employee, he learns that his boss is going to veto the GM sale. When he confronts Jerry Schmidt in a high level meeting, everything begins to go awry. He's suddenly out of a job, his mother has suffered a stroke and he's forced to move in with his schizophrenic brother. When Charlie begins to evidence symptoms of the same disease, is he just paranoid or is someone really out to get him?

    DELIRIOUS is muddled, drawn out and has a seriously disappointing ending despite Mr. Palmer's intriguing storyline in this debut novel. Lynn Kimmerle

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 29, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Delirious

    Charlie Giles is a self-made electronics genius whose company was purchased by a larger company and he finds out from a seemingly concerned co-worker that they are not going with his product (a digital entertainment center for cars) and kick him out. When he confronts upper management, they think he is nuts. Schizophrenia runs in his family (his brother has it). Charlie begins to wonder if he is nuts or is some trying to make him nuts. Then people involved with getting him fired start dying. Is Charlie having blackouts or is it something else. Daniel Palmer has written a strong thriller that keeps you riveted. Although, I figured out some of it, I enjoyed this novel.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 15, 2010

    Fantastic debut!

    Delirious is the perfect name for this psychological thriller from author, Daniel Palmer -- engrossed, thrilled, and in a frenzy to find out where the story was headed, I read this book late into the night and didn't want to put it down! The author did such a fantastic job putting this story together. I spent the entire reading experience completely enthralled by what was happening and determined to read more so I could figure out what was going on. One of the things I really appreciated about this book was the mental health aspect. It fit so perfectly into the story and added such an interesting dimension to the regular thriller. I also learned a little about musicogenic epilepsy, when a song triggers a seizure, that was fascinating. Palmer maintained a level of suspense that was well done and didn't seem forced at all. This book has also been referred to as "techno-savvy". I would say that's a fairly accurate description. I think I feared that it would be drenched in technological terms that would distract from the reading, but it wasn't like that at all, and really gave me some things to think about! Will cause delirium!! =) (parts taken from my blog, Take Me Away)

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 17, 2013

    Unexpected ending

    The plot was great and the characters very believeable. The story was new...not one that has been written over and over. Charlie was an impoortant part of a major company when his job was swept from him. He suspects that some one is framing him for murder. He is questioned for murder and finds unexpexcted help from his schizophrenic brother and the brother's psychiatrist. It is a very interesting book with a lot of action.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 2, 2013

    I couldn't put this book down!

    Easy read and well written! I was extremely impressed and kept turning the pages. I highly recommend this novel! You will not be disppointed!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 14, 2013

    Im buying his next books!

    Great read

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 10, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 3, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 23, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 24, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 10, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 18, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 23, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 17, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 34 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2