Customer Reviews for

Delirium (Delirium Series #1)

Average Rating 4.5
( 1851 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(1201)

4 Star

(398)

3 Star

(147)

2 Star

(42)

1 Star

(63)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

149 out of 157 people found this review helpful.

Oliver captivated my heart with Delirium!

Delirium had me from the first sentence: "It has been sixty-four years since the president and the Consortium identified love as a disease, and forty-three since the scientists perfected a cure." I thought to myself, this is going to end badly. And I didn't mean it as t...
Delirium had me from the first sentence: "It has been sixty-four years since the president and the Consortium identified love as a disease, and forty-three since the scientists perfected a cure." I thought to myself, this is going to end badly. And I didn't mean it as the book was going to suck, I meant that it was going to end with me in pain for these characters. That prediction was dead on.

Lena's life has never been normal. Her family has been surrounded by controversy due to her mother committing suicide when Lena was six and her cousin's husband being identified as a sympathizer. She now lives with her aunt Carol, tries to follow all the rules and stay under the radar. She is counting down the days to when she can receive the procedure that will forever take away all the pain and memories of everything that has haunted her all her life. For Lena, the procedure will mean a fresh start. A new, normal life. But how could she want anything different if she really doesn't know what love, the disease, could truly bring to her life. To her, all it has brought is abandonment.

Enter Alex, with his hair the color of autumn leaves and his bright amber eyes. He is gorgeous, sweet and fun. They begin this incredible forbidden relationship full of love, trust and kisses. Lots of kisses. :D He shows her what love is really like.

So what does she do now? Go on with life as planned, get "cured" and live out her predetermined future or risk it all for love, for Alex? The ending will leave your heart racing and, I daresay, broken.

With all that being said, I absolutely loved this book! That's the best I can do on describing how I feel about it. I cannot wait to read the next book in this series, as the cliffhanger is hard to bear, but I guess I'll have to suffer along with everyone else. It was a page turner from start to finish and I suggest you go out and read it...now!! :)

posted by mtz1101 on February 17, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

18 out of 36 people found this review helpful.

Good Concept. Poorly Executed.

When i read the back cover i immediately thought the story had a very interesting concept that got my attention. Kind of like a cross between Ally Condies "Matched" and Scott Westerfelds "Uglies". Gave it a good enough shot. Got to about chapter seven, and was NOT feeli...
When i read the back cover i immediately thought the story had a very interesting concept that got my attention. Kind of like a cross between Ally Condies "Matched" and Scott Westerfelds "Uglies". Gave it a good enough shot. Got to about chapter seven, and was NOT feeling the author at all. No disrespect to her, but she rambled on and on way too much. I started skimming a lot of the pages and eventually just said I'm done. It wasn't going anywhere. There's a good kind of rambling, like in the hunger games, that makes a point and has things to do with the story. And then there's nonsensical rambling that just makes me tired of reading, like jane eyre. I gave it enough time for it to get good but there wasn't enough dialogue. If you still wanna try it, maybe you like that kind of stuff, definitely read a good lil bit before you go and buy it.

posted by 10084120 on January 5, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 1860 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 93
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 5, 2012

    Pleasantly Surprised

    I had just finished the Hunger Games and was saddened to see it end. I realized how much I liked reading about these dytopia type books. So, I went in search of another book to fill the void. In my search, I saw several recommendations for this book. I decided to give it a try and was glad I did. It started off a little slow and took me some time to get invested in the characters, but midway through I was hooked. I love books with strong girl characters and at first Lena was not that strong, but once she sees the truth, her strength shines through. I also found it clever the way Lauren Oliver describes love as a sickness. The concept was unique and shows how people in control can spin things that are good into something to be fearful of. The second book gets even better and ends with a great cliffhanger. I can't wait until the third book comes out.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2012

    I loved this book!

    This is the first book i have read from this author and i loved it! I read it in one day... i couldn't put it down. Highly reccommended if you enjoyed 'the hunger games' trilogy.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 13, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Disappointing

    I must be the only person here that gave up. Half-way through the book and I had to finally put the book away as we were not progressing anywhere. On top of that, there is no background whatsoever as to how the society became what it is. Life is just too short to spend on something that doesn't catch my interest. I've read blurbs comparing this to the Mockingjay series...that is a huge error. This is nothing like that series at all.

    4 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 4, 2013

    Ps

    Started off a little slow but wow did it really pick up!!! Some parts of the book were a little boring and I thought I wouldn't go on to wanting to read the rest of the series but I do because its so fantastic! The ending is unreal and well keep you up for hours!! I recommend it

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 15, 2012

    Im in love with this book!

    I could not put this book down! Im going to buy the second book now :)

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 15, 2012

    amazing! Never expect the ending

    I almost cried when i got to the end. I would never be able to live like this, never aloud to show any true affection to even your family. Their society is really currupt.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 28, 2012

    Ground Breaking

    Deliurim is a story about Lena Haloway, and waiting for her cure. This CURE, saves you from a diease called LOVE. In her town, caring and loving is frowned upon, if not forbbien. Until Lena finds herself suddenly falling for a boy, following her sister's footsteps.
    A very well developed story, this book may be a little too wordy. At times you may get lost in the overall outcome from the book.
    I, myself as a reader, had a mature opinion on love as a gift NOT an infection. The authour gives information in a way that beautifuly connects her ideas and thoughts.
    The ending was a little disappointing, considering the love of Lena's life. I really was expecting something to wrap up the book, and not egg on the next.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 7, 2012

    SLOW

    This book could be good... and maybe it will get there... but I am 100 pages in and NOTHING has happened. The scene was set 70 pages ago, yet it keeps dragging the hell on. I just wish something would HAPPEN already.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 20, 2012

    BEST BOOK EVER!!!!!

    I would not say that about just any book. I'm a huge reader,literly ive read the hary potter series 4 and a half times and memorised the movies. But this book is still #2pn my list of top 10 books.( harry potter is #1)

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 7, 2012

    It's Ok

    The book's about 100 pages too long, I kept losing interest. That said, it's a good storyline.
    If you like this book read "Anthem" by Ayn Rand you can get it free from Project Gutteberg.

    2 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 25, 2012

    Awful book

    This is so far fetched I'm breezing through each page.Too much description. Doesn't make any sense. Don't waste your time. Terrible!

    2 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 22, 2011

    Not good

    If you dont like cussin, its not for you. It says the F word!!!

    2 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 22, 2011

    Very descriptive of everything but......

    This book is set during an entirely different time in the US, so in order to understand it Oliver had to be very descriptive. I was extremely content with the way she described the settings, but when it came to the people I thought she was a little dull. Please do not get me wrong, I loved this book and im just trying to make it better. I was just hoping that I ,as a reader, would feel more emotion when something bad would happen to them, or that my heart would skip a beat and i wouldn't stop giggling when they where finally together. But when they were together most of the time its just a summary in her thoughts. For example if they went to the beach the book would say......I arrived at the beach. And Alex and I raced to the buoy.

    Instead of saying..I arrived at the beach to find Alex there on his beach towel waiting for me his gorgeous auburn eyes sparkling. When he say me, my heart pounded as he ran toward me to scoop me up in his arms.
    "I'll race you to the buoy, beautiful" Alex whispered in my ear as he set me back down on the ground.

    I don't know maybe that wasn't how she wrote it because they were always some needed distance between the two of them because of their society. But i was just hoping I would FEEL the attraction between the two of them. Who knows? Maybe it will be better in the second one. Which by the way I will definitely be picking up:)

    2 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 21, 2011

    Excellent Story

    It's a love story at the core but unlike most romance novels which boringly revolve just around the couple and their drama - this explores ethics, politics and political resistance, freedom, justice and so much more. It faintly reminded me of 1984 by George Orwell.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 17, 2014

    Luv this book

    This book is a fast paced book about a young trying to follow society s rules and her hearts rules...... great book!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 25, 2013

    Awesome love story

    I finished this in two days love it

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 7, 2013

    Great book

    Alot of people compare these books to hungergames or harry potter but this book shouldnt be compared to anything. I loved the hungergames favorite book ever read it like 3 times but this book this book was different. Yes i do agree it couldve been written in less pages and the ending was awful but it kept you thinking. It made me sit downand think about whats going to happen next. When i didnt have the book to read i felt lost i craved for it it is absolutly amazing. It has deeper meaning. For example the ocean is not just an ocean it has way more meaning. If your a true lover of books you will love thus story you will understand this book

    Absolutly amazing and its only 5 dollars its worthit

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 23, 2013

    Terrfic

    Loved this book and going to read the series!! Must read! Beginning a little boring but, not for long

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 15, 2013

    Fabulous!

    This book is amazing! WARNING: will make you cry. Hard.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 14, 2013

    Really enjoyed it and loved Alex!

    Really enjoyed it and loved Alex!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 1860 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 93