Customer Reviews for

Deliver Us from Evil

Average Rating 3.5
( 751 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(227)

4 Star

(218)

3 Star

(162)

2 Star

(79)

1 Star

(65)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

16 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

interesting story

In David Baldacci's new thriller "Deliver Us from Evil," the story starts off with Reggie Campion-a femme fatale who murders an elderly ex-Nazi and returns to her secret agency which specializes in carrying out justice, for a new assignment. She is assigned to travel to...
In David Baldacci's new thriller "Deliver Us from Evil," the story starts off with Reggie Campion-a femme fatale who murders an elderly ex-Nazi and returns to her secret agency which specializes in carrying out justice, for a new assignment. She is assigned to travel to Provence where ex-KGB agent and mass murder of the Ukranian people-Fedir Kuchin, nowadays a legitimate Canadian businessman who goes by the name of Evan Waller-is due to spend his vacation. Reggie rents a villa next to his, and waits for his arrival.

Meanwhile Shaw, who works for a rival agency, has similar orders. His boss Frank portrays Waller as a human trafficker who kidnaps young girls from Asia and sells them into the sex industry. Most bothersome is Waller's connection to nuclear remnants from the former Soviet Union and his plan to sell them to Muslim fundamentalists, to make explosives. Shaw's plan involves tackling Waller during his guided tourist excursion in the caves.

As Shaw travels to Provence to carry out his own agenda regarding Waller, he meets Reggie who is posing as a rich and clueless socialite. Unaware of her true purpose, Shaw also plays the game and poses as a lobbyist. Suspicious of each other, they form a brief bond until the arrival of their target changes everything. Soon enough, Reggie is dangerously flirting with Waller as Shaw is becoming increasingly nervous about their safety. Meanwhile, Waller has a near-death experience of his own while meeting with his nuclear buyers, and vows to carry out revenge.

Overall, the plot is interesting. I enjoyed the love triangle between Reggie, Waller, and Shaw. Baldacci succeeds in portraying his characters as either sympathetic or evil. Reggie has a secret family history, becoming an orphan after her father murdered the family. Shaw's life is shaped by the loss Anna-a woman he loved whose death was related to the dangers posed by Shaw's work. Disappointed that he was unable to protect her, Shaw is unable to get on with his life. Waller is a chameleon who blends in perfectly with his new identity, while treasuring his old one. Unable to trust anyone and vengeful towards his enemies, he lives his life as a warrior. Though a bit slow at times, the action kept my interest. The writing is graphic and easy to visualize. Recommended read.

posted by Alla_S on April 22, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

15 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

What was he thinking?

I finished "Deliver us from Evil" copyright 2010 by David Baldacci on May 20, 2010. This is Baldacci's worst work and one of the most poorly conceived mysteries of all time. Here's the unbelievable plot climax. A psycopath, Kuchin, who has been thwarted by Shaw, a go...
I finished "Deliver us from Evil" copyright 2010 by David Baldacci on May 20, 2010. This is Baldacci's worst work and one of the most poorly conceived mysteries of all time. Here's the unbelievable plot climax. A psycopath, Kuchin, who has been thwarted by Shaw, a government assassin CIA type, and Reggie, a lovely and skilled killer of the worlds worst, invites them to his lair to save an old girlfriend of Shaw who has been kidnapped. They decide to go and Shaw and Reggie's old team others, Whit and Dominic, also want to go, "to get this guy". They have no plan whatsoever. I'll repeat that, they just drive to where Kuchin says with no one watching and with no plan to free the girlfriend or escape. They walk into the warehouse where Kuchin could have his men and who then could have put a gun to the heads of Dominic, Whit, and Shaw and killed them all taking off with Reggie for torture, sex and eventual killing. These four skilled and smart operatives thought they could talk their way out? OMG. I will never read another thing by Baldacci.

posted by R_Wally on May 22, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 753 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 38
  • Posted May 22, 2010

    What was he thinking?

    I finished "Deliver us from Evil" copyright 2010 by David Baldacci on May 20, 2010. This is Baldacci's worst work and one of the most poorly conceived mysteries of all time. Here's the unbelievable plot climax. A psycopath, Kuchin, who has been thwarted by Shaw, a government assassin CIA type, and Reggie, a lovely and skilled killer of the worlds worst, invites them to his lair to save an old girlfriend of Shaw who has been kidnapped. They decide to go and Shaw and Reggie's old team others, Whit and Dominic, also want to go, "to get this guy". They have no plan whatsoever. I'll repeat that, they just drive to where Kuchin says with no one watching and with no plan to free the girlfriend or escape. They walk into the warehouse where Kuchin could have his men and who then could have put a gun to the heads of Dominic, Whit, and Shaw and killed them all taking off with Reggie for torture, sex and eventual killing. These four skilled and smart operatives thought they could talk their way out? OMG. I will never read another thing by Baldacci.

    15 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 11, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Deleted it from my Nook after 45 pages

    Normally I'm big fan of Baldicci's work but I found this book to be entirely disappointing. The plot is boring, tired and unimaginative. I didn't find the characters interesting at all and the writing was choppy. It was an easy book to walk away from. I really expected more from this book!

    9 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 29, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Read The Hardcover

    ...and I am really annoyed at these e-book readers who abuse the review process to complain about pricing. It's the wrong venue for that.
    I thank Baldacci for not writing another Camel Club novel as they were getting really stale. On the other hand, this one was hit or miss, as he kept going off on tangents and background stories that ruined the pace of the action. 100 pages shorter and it might have been a more suspenseful book.

    8 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 6, 2010

    Not his best

    an okay read, nothing special.

    7 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 20, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Still trying to be Delivered!

    I am still an avid fan but sure for how much longer. I enjoy his plots, however the endings leave in the middle of NOWHERE!
    It is not that Baldacci is preparing us for another novel, it's just the novel is unfinished, period.
    Too bad, for a truly talented writer.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 14, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Shaw returns and has a new companion!

    The main characters are Shaw (who is an enigma and a highly trained operative of some secret organization) and Reggie Campion, a vigilante who is a member of an organization determined to rid the world of those who got away with genocide. At the beginning of the book, the two main characters don't know each other and the interesting twist is how they end of following the same path and aiming at the same target. Some of the scenes that were portrayed were very graphic in detail, but I think that they were necessary in order to portray the horrors that had been committed by men like the character Evan Waller. He makes Hitler look tame and doesn't mind being the bad guy. He trusts no one and no one is safe from his wrath. The reader is caught up quickly in rooting for the good guys to win. An awesome thriller and a Baldacci collection must read!

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 1, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    Baldacci indeed, Has Delivered a Solid Thriller

    David Baldacci " Deliver Us from Evil" is a great and well delivered thriller. The book is very compelling in maintaining the reader glued to every page. Great story developing.
    Shaw, the mysterious operative of a secret multinational intelligence group makes an encore as a main character. Shaw join forces with Reggie Campion, a member of a clandestine vigilante group in search of war criminals. Fedir Kuchin, Ukrainian born. Served in the national secret police that reported to the KGB, and received orders directly from the Kremlin to do all in his power to crush the opposition. Under his command aerial poisons, toxins were placed into water supplies, and thousands of people were forced into pits where they were burned alive. In 1991 when the Soviet empire collapsed he managed to escape.Now in the present time the search has ended.

    Baldacci takes readers to the village of Gordes, in Provence France where Shaw and Reggie will risk their lives in order to bring justice and concludes on the coast of Labrador, Canada for a spectacular ending.

    "Deliver Us From Evil" doesn't disappoint, the author does know how to take a detour from the main plot and convert it to one exciting and dangerous human hunt. I like the beginning of the story, and I have to say that the ending doesn't fall short either. The characters are well developed through the entire book. Kuchin and Reggie's characters are great in content, and keep readers turning the pages.

    However; every good book has to have its flaws, Baldacci could have done a better job in explaining the secret intelligence organization that Shaw works for. The plot and conclusion of the book was good, There were a few subplots that could have been developed more in deep. Kuchin's new venture did not have enough power to go all the way to the end. Perhaps that is the reason the author detoured the plot. Shaw's character was left lingering at the end, not strong enough to convey or close to his character.
    I thought Reggie's character was great. There was so much that could have been done with her character, instead he focused on Shaw, falling a little short at the end.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 1, 2010

    Nice Read

    I enjoyed it though a bit too violent sometimes, with a final plot a bit too immaginative...

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 12, 2010

    Disappointment

    This new novel was not up to the usual standards set by this author. This was not nearly as good as his earlier books. Characters were not at all well-developed. I was disappointed. From now on I will wait until his newest novels come out in paperback before I decide to buy one.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 15, 2010

    Good Story But Very Disturbing

    I started reading Deliver Us From Evil and was taken back at how disturbing the book is. I've read many Baldacci books and have enjoyed the talented and powerful writing and character development in almost all of his books. I am a very big fan of Shaw. I had to put this book down about a third into the story because it was just too ugly. If one can get past the violence I believe the story underneath is good. I couldn't get past it and I have wasted my money. Mr. Baldacci, you are a talented writer without the violence and ugly references.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 23, 2010

    Unexpected Climax makes this a First Rate Thriller

    Fast-paced, a familiar term to readers of mystery and suspense is often heralded as a key ingredient to success in this genre. Readers know that the flow is going to move forward at a pretty good clip and we can honestly expect little downtime and minimal fluff within the pages. "Deliver Us from Evil", David Baldacci's latest edition to the Shaw series doesn't quite fit into that classification. When in reality, "Deliver Us from Evil" moves at hyper-speed.

    A combination of intrigue-through circling covert operations-met with highly intelligent, though clearly damaged characters makes the hunt for a modern day monster electric. New readers may find Baldacci's writing style can catch you slightly off guard when the reality of certain scenes literally makes your stomach turn. But don't quit there because as the story races around the globe the unexpected climax makes this a first-rate thriller.

    Reviewed by Suspense Magazine
    www.suspensemagazine.com

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 17, 2010

    Shaw's back

    A pretty gripping novel from Baldacci.
    Familiar territory, characters and plot line.
    Nice build up and but disappointing ending.Seems like two stories put together.
    Still, major pleasure for easy and fast reading for the beach or plane.
    Always look forward to his next novel.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 16, 2010

    Baldacci has a gift for writing

    The book provides a pleasant reading experience. His last book proved that and this continues to prove his ability.

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 15, 2010

    Disappointing

    Have read every one of his books and this is only the second time I have not been totally delighted. Had a really hard time getting into this one. Finally got hooked about the last four chapters. Had to see how it ended. Maybe my mind just could not wrap itself around the evil of the villian.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 11, 2010

    Deliver Us from Evil

    A pretty good book. I would say I liked it. Almost. Maybe not as much as I could have. But then again, I could have liked it less. You never know. Do you? Maybe you do. I don't know. That's why YOU'RE the doctor.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 25, 2012

    Sam

    What? Were u waiting here...for ME?

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 28, 2012

    Prettyheart

    This is Revengeclan's app. den.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 17, 2012

    EXCELLENT READ

    I couldn't put it down. I will now have to go back and read the other Shaw novels.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 19, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Much Better than The Reviews Indicate

    So many of the reviews for this book suggest this is not one of Baldacci's best efforts. While I will agree it is not the norm for him, I posit that perhaps it is simply not a style of novel to which we are accustomed from him. Having said that, I found the book to be far better than a good thriller, even if not outstanding.

    For those who have commented on the violence depicted in the book, I agree it is at times severe; however, it also adds to the story as a whole and more specifically to the depravity of the main "bad guy" character.

    Other reviewers refer to the unlikely or unbelievable escapes that the heroes enjoy. True, some moments suspend belief, but this is not to be wholly unexpected in a thriller.

    Don't buy the book thinking it is a Camel Club-type experience. It definitely is not. It is, however, very much worth reading.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 12, 2010

    A good page turner, yet a bit gruesome!

    This was by far the most gruesome book that David Baldacci has ever written. I was very well written, and the plot was excellent, however, there were a couple of times when I seriously thought that if I did not put down the book right then, I would be sick to my stomach. Baldacci, as always has done an excellent job of depicting the characters in all the glory and missery that he intended. He has again made it seem as though you are right there with the characters living the action first hand. I enjoyed it greatly.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 753 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 38