Customer Reviews for

Deliver Us from Evil

Average Rating 3.5
( 751 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(227)

4 Star

(218)

3 Star

(162)

2 Star

(79)

1 Star

(65)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

16 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

interesting story

In David Baldacci's new thriller "Deliver Us from Evil," the story starts off with Reggie Campion-a femme fatale who murders an elderly ex-Nazi and returns to her secret agency which specializes in carrying out justice, for a new assignment. She is assigned to travel to...
In David Baldacci's new thriller "Deliver Us from Evil," the story starts off with Reggie Campion-a femme fatale who murders an elderly ex-Nazi and returns to her secret agency which specializes in carrying out justice, for a new assignment. She is assigned to travel to Provence where ex-KGB agent and mass murder of the Ukranian people-Fedir Kuchin, nowadays a legitimate Canadian businessman who goes by the name of Evan Waller-is due to spend his vacation. Reggie rents a villa next to his, and waits for his arrival.

Meanwhile Shaw, who works for a rival agency, has similar orders. His boss Frank portrays Waller as a human trafficker who kidnaps young girls from Asia and sells them into the sex industry. Most bothersome is Waller's connection to nuclear remnants from the former Soviet Union and his plan to sell them to Muslim fundamentalists, to make explosives. Shaw's plan involves tackling Waller during his guided tourist excursion in the caves.

As Shaw travels to Provence to carry out his own agenda regarding Waller, he meets Reggie who is posing as a rich and clueless socialite. Unaware of her true purpose, Shaw also plays the game and poses as a lobbyist. Suspicious of each other, they form a brief bond until the arrival of their target changes everything. Soon enough, Reggie is dangerously flirting with Waller as Shaw is becoming increasingly nervous about their safety. Meanwhile, Waller has a near-death experience of his own while meeting with his nuclear buyers, and vows to carry out revenge.

Overall, the plot is interesting. I enjoyed the love triangle between Reggie, Waller, and Shaw. Baldacci succeeds in portraying his characters as either sympathetic or evil. Reggie has a secret family history, becoming an orphan after her father murdered the family. Shaw's life is shaped by the loss Anna-a woman he loved whose death was related to the dangers posed by Shaw's work. Disappointed that he was unable to protect her, Shaw is unable to get on with his life. Waller is a chameleon who blends in perfectly with his new identity, while treasuring his old one. Unable to trust anyone and vengeful towards his enemies, he lives his life as a warrior. Though a bit slow at times, the action kept my interest. The writing is graphic and easy to visualize. Recommended read.

posted by Alla_S on April 22, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

15 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

What was he thinking?

I finished "Deliver us from Evil" copyright 2010 by David Baldacci on May 20, 2010. This is Baldacci's worst work and one of the most poorly conceived mysteries of all time. Here's the unbelievable plot climax. A psycopath, Kuchin, who has been thwarted by Shaw, a go...
I finished "Deliver us from Evil" copyright 2010 by David Baldacci on May 20, 2010. This is Baldacci's worst work and one of the most poorly conceived mysteries of all time. Here's the unbelievable plot climax. A psycopath, Kuchin, who has been thwarted by Shaw, a government assassin CIA type, and Reggie, a lovely and skilled killer of the worlds worst, invites them to his lair to save an old girlfriend of Shaw who has been kidnapped. They decide to go and Shaw and Reggie's old team others, Whit and Dominic, also want to go, "to get this guy". They have no plan whatsoever. I'll repeat that, they just drive to where Kuchin says with no one watching and with no plan to free the girlfriend or escape. They walk into the warehouse where Kuchin could have his men and who then could have put a gun to the heads of Dominic, Whit, and Shaw and killed them all taking off with Reggie for torture, sex and eventual killing. These four skilled and smart operatives thought they could talk their way out? OMG. I will never read another thing by Baldacci.

posted by R_Wally on May 22, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 162 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 9
  • Posted April 29, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Read The Hardcover

    ...and I am really annoyed at these e-book readers who abuse the review process to complain about pricing. It's the wrong venue for that.
    I thank Baldacci for not writing another Camel Club novel as they were getting really stale. On the other hand, this one was hit or miss, as he kept going off on tangents and background stories that ruined the pace of the action. 100 pages shorter and it might have been a more suspenseful book.

    8 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 6, 2010

    Not his best

    an okay read, nothing special.

    7 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 20, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Still trying to be Delivered!

    I am still an avid fan but sure for how much longer. I enjoy his plots, however the endings leave in the middle of NOWHERE!
    It is not that Baldacci is preparing us for another novel, it's just the novel is unfinished, period.
    Too bad, for a truly talented writer.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 1, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    Baldacci indeed, Has Delivered a Solid Thriller

    David Baldacci " Deliver Us from Evil" is a great and well delivered thriller. The book is very compelling in maintaining the reader glued to every page. Great story developing.
    Shaw, the mysterious operative of a secret multinational intelligence group makes an encore as a main character. Shaw join forces with Reggie Campion, a member of a clandestine vigilante group in search of war criminals. Fedir Kuchin, Ukrainian born. Served in the national secret police that reported to the KGB, and received orders directly from the Kremlin to do all in his power to crush the opposition. Under his command aerial poisons, toxins were placed into water supplies, and thousands of people were forced into pits where they were burned alive. In 1991 when the Soviet empire collapsed he managed to escape.Now in the present time the search has ended.

    Baldacci takes readers to the village of Gordes, in Provence France where Shaw and Reggie will risk their lives in order to bring justice and concludes on the coast of Labrador, Canada for a spectacular ending.

    "Deliver Us From Evil" doesn't disappoint, the author does know how to take a detour from the main plot and convert it to one exciting and dangerous human hunt. I like the beginning of the story, and I have to say that the ending doesn't fall short either. The characters are well developed through the entire book. Kuchin and Reggie's characters are great in content, and keep readers turning the pages.

    However; every good book has to have its flaws, Baldacci could have done a better job in explaining the secret intelligence organization that Shaw works for. The plot and conclusion of the book was good, There were a few subplots that could have been developed more in deep. Kuchin's new venture did not have enough power to go all the way to the end. Perhaps that is the reason the author detoured the plot. Shaw's character was left lingering at the end, not strong enough to convey or close to his character.
    I thought Reggie's character was great. There was so much that could have been done with her character, instead he focused on Shaw, falling a little short at the end.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 1, 2010

    Nice Read

    I enjoyed it though a bit too violent sometimes, with a final plot a bit too immaginative...

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 11, 2010

    Deliver Us from Evil

    A pretty good book. I would say I liked it. Almost. Maybe not as much as I could have. But then again, I could have liked it less. You never know. Do you? Maybe you do. I don't know. That's why YOU'RE the doctor.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 8, 2013

    Not bad but not my favorite

    I usually love Baldacci, but found this book confusing and slow for the first third, then it picked up and has been a pretty good read. Worth reading but be prepared to slog through the beginning. Surprising because typically his books grab you from the beginning.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 28, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Intense - #2 Shaw Series

    Should have read The Whole Truth first; however, starting it next. Waller a Canadian businessman (horrible man who sells children into prostitution, plus many other things) with many enemies. Shaw is out to track him down and at the same time Reggie is out to find him as well. Waller is on vacation in Provence and pursues Reggie. Reggie (not one of my favorite characters) and Shaw team up (among other things) to bring him down. In the meantime Shaw is dealing with his past and two women which he cannot completely forget (Annie and Katie). A weird ending. Seems Shaw always winds up sleeping with someone. As usual, Ron McLarty does an excellent job with the audio.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 24, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    More Violent Than Normal for Him!

    This novel had an interesting storyline which kept me interested throughout. However, it was a particularly gruesome book, especially for Baldacci. And, I thought the ending was pretty weak...almost as though he could not figure out how to end it. I also was irked by the "O-ten hundred hours" references early on...don't any of his editors read this stuff for obvious errors??

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 5, 2011

    Would have been much better if you had a decent editor. Thought they would catch obvious mistakes.

    Think I have read most of Baldacci books and have enjoyed them. This was enjoyable until he used oh-ten hundred and oh-eleven hundred. How could he make such rookie mistakes? Some of his charactors have supposedly been in the service. He would have been laughed out of any branch of the military if he used that time distinction.
    Please get a good editor next time.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 14, 2010

    Did not like the ending

    I started reading and was caught in the first chapter. Loved Shaw and was all into the budding relationship with Reggie. The "evil one" was truly evil. I could hardly put the darn book down because I was trying to see how Shaw and Reggie were going to catch this psycho. Then I get thrown off with the other woman "Katie" entering the picture. I mean what was up with Frank! A spy matchmaker? Sheesh! I stayed on to the end but was mad as heck at Shaw for turning into a jello mush at the end. And the way he dumped Reggie when she had been tough by his side all the way. I and Reggie are a woman scorned.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 9, 2010

    A Typical Baldacci Novel

    If you are a David Baldacci fan, you will want to read this book. While it is better than his previous novel, there is little that is new about the story line. However, it's an easy read that's fine for a few hours of reading for pleasure. But don't buy it - just check it out from your local library.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 9, 2010

    Not one of Baldacci's better offerings

    The book starts as a typical Baldacci page turner. The early evolution of the plot was good, however, the finale both lacked credibility and was, in this reader's estimation, weak. Several of the supporting characters were presented as very one-dimensional. Not a bad book, but not really a good thriller either.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 8, 2010

    Life is not always black and white..but it is good and evil

    Mr. Balducci has written another page turner. Once you begin, it's difficult to stop reading, because you want to know how this book ends. With an ending that delivers a surprise, it's well worth the read. The main characters are well understood. As I closed the book, and thought about our main character, Mr. Shaw, I asked this question: For those of us who pursue and try to build infinite good, and try to destroy infinite evil, will there ever be joy in the small victories, versus the greater war?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 4, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    For Baldacci it is not his best.

    As an avid reader of mystery and suspense novels, I always expect David to bring the best and most exciting. This time I was a little disappointed. For most of the reading it is typical Baldacci excitement. About two thirds into the novel the excitement began to waiver. As we approached the climax unfortunately I got the impression David simply decided he should wrap this up and close it out. The ending was good however it seems he (David) could have held the suspense and closing considerably longer than the three or four chapters he used to complete. Still, it is another Baldacci and therefore deserves a good read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 20, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 8, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 7, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 8, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 25, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 162 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 9