Customer Reviews for

Deliver Us from Evil: Defeating Terrorism, Despotism, and Liberalism

Average Rating 3.5
( 75 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(44)

4 Star

(3)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(24)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Great book for women trying to learn about politics

Fun, fast and informative read. Not boring like a lot of political books can be. Sean also backs all of his ideas and points with facts so it doesn't come off as right-wing opinions. The book also lays out some very important things to consider if you really want to kee...
Fun, fast and informative read. Not boring like a lot of political books can be. Sean also backs all of his ideas and points with facts so it doesn't come off as right-wing opinions. The book also lays out some very important things to consider if you really want to keep yourself and America safe from terrorism. It will help you understand the very real dangers that exist in your everyday world.

posted by Anonymous on June 27, 2004

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Think for Yourself

I am not a democrat or republican, because I decided long ago I would think for myself and not form with the platform of one of the parties. I read this book as a favor to my mother-in-law, who is a very strong republican, and because I am going to watch Fahrenheit 9/11...
I am not a democrat or republican, because I decided long ago I would think for myself and not form with the platform of one of the parties. I read this book as a favor to my mother-in-law, who is a very strong republican, and because I am going to watch Fahrenheit 9/11 so I figured it was only fair to hear both sides. However, every page seemed to only anger me more than the previous one already had. I found it extremely insulting, which is sad considering I am not even a part of the democratic party of whom he never missed a beat to tear down and morally condemn. I do consider myself as more of a passive person when it comes to war. And somehow, this view of compassion, automatically means I embrace terrorism and evil. Now I wouldn't ever say there isn't a lot of evil in the world but Hannity continuously says that because I'm more liberal, I do just that. Like we all live in this little make believe world. Just because we're not a Republican doesn't mean we don't see what's going on in the world. We just think a different approach might save more innocent lives. What is wrong with not wanting to see more innocent people die? Why am I condoning evil because I think that killing more innocent people in search of those who killed our innocents may not be the best solution. I'm sorry, but I found this continuous reminder very offensive. I do believe there is a time for war but that definitely doesn't mean I will ever support a leader who is eager to jump into it for his own personal reasons and use the grief and anger from something as tragic as 9/11 or the Holocaust to cover this personal agenda. The fact that he claims it is for the American people and tries to call those who don't support it cowards makes me ill. I found his constant remarks that every Demacratic leader has failed the american people, and basically saying that all Republican presidents were saints, quite hysterical. I also find it interesting that he continuously states Bush has the American people's best interest in mind, and yet what is he doing to help us. Maybe Bush should try to make jobs for the thousands of unemployed. Maybe he should try to help our struggling economy. Maybe he should stop letting foreign imports dissolve what's left of hard working laborers in our country. And maybe he should stop trying to make the rich richer and the poor poorer. The worst thing about the book is the fact that it just drips with hypocracy. Hannity repeatedly says that all Democrats actions are purely for political gain, when that is in fact all his book is for. He hides it well at first, but it always comes back to vote for Bush, do the 'morally correct' thing. Plus he states over and over how as a Christian, he thinks evil needs to be stopped. I'm a Christian and I don't have the urge to kill anyone I think is 'evil'. But what mostly disturbed me was that I have a hard time believing he is a good, loving Christian when he clearly states how he despises anyone who isn't a Republican and has a different opinion as him. Doesn't seem that he lives or thinks in a Christian mindset but rather becomes just like the people he opposes throughout the his whole book, using it for political gain rather than truly caring about the cause. He is clearly a hypocrit and definitely needs to stop condemning everyone who doesn't allow Republicans to shove their beliefs down their throats. Hannity, Stop being a sheep and think for yourself.

posted by Anonymous on July 27, 2004

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 56 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 27, 2004

    Great book for women trying to learn about politics

    Fun, fast and informative read. Not boring like a lot of political books can be. Sean also backs all of his ideas and points with facts so it doesn't come off as right-wing opinions. The book also lays out some very important things to consider if you really want to keep yourself and America safe from terrorism. It will help you understand the very real dangers that exist in your everyday world.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 22, 2005

    FABULOUS

    I loved this book! I am a big Sean Hannity fan. I listen to his radio show and watch him on 'Hannity and Colmes' nightly on Fox News Channel. Democrats definitely are stirring in their seats after reading this one. If it were possible to convert Democrats over to our side, this book would be the instrument in doing so!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 22, 2005

    Sear Hannity is right on

    A hard hitting look at what America is facing in the war on terror and what must be done to stop the spread of evil. This book is riveting and gave me so much food for thought. Provocative and enlightening. I enjoyed every word.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 5, 2004

    Outstanding truthful book that Liberals don't want you to read!

    This was an outstanding book from cover to cover and slams the door on supposed 'free thinking' liberals every where! Liberalism isn't just an alternative way of thinking... it's also a cancer that is destroying the very fabric of this once great nation. Liberlism if left unchecked will lead to the ultimate down fall of the United States and the slavery of her people. This book will inform you of the attacks and methods of liberalism and how it all got slipped into the main stream of thinking. Don't miss this book... and pay no mind to most of the 'one star' ratings... it's quite obvious a great percentage of them did not read the book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 29, 2004

    excellent!

    In order for Sean to discuss the future threat of terrorism in our world, he looks back through history and contrasts the conservative and liberal approach toward the people who threaten our liberty. I found it to be an excellent read and I would definately recommend it to anyone I know.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 27, 2004

    Think for Yourself

    I am not a democrat or republican, because I decided long ago I would think for myself and not form with the platform of one of the parties. I read this book as a favor to my mother-in-law, who is a very strong republican, and because I am going to watch Fahrenheit 9/11 so I figured it was only fair to hear both sides. However, every page seemed to only anger me more than the previous one already had. I found it extremely insulting, which is sad considering I am not even a part of the democratic party of whom he never missed a beat to tear down and morally condemn. I do consider myself as more of a passive person when it comes to war. And somehow, this view of compassion, automatically means I embrace terrorism and evil. Now I wouldn't ever say there isn't a lot of evil in the world but Hannity continuously says that because I'm more liberal, I do just that. Like we all live in this little make believe world. Just because we're not a Republican doesn't mean we don't see what's going on in the world. We just think a different approach might save more innocent lives. What is wrong with not wanting to see more innocent people die? Why am I condoning evil because I think that killing more innocent people in search of those who killed our innocents may not be the best solution. I'm sorry, but I found this continuous reminder very offensive. I do believe there is a time for war but that definitely doesn't mean I will ever support a leader who is eager to jump into it for his own personal reasons and use the grief and anger from something as tragic as 9/11 or the Holocaust to cover this personal agenda. The fact that he claims it is for the American people and tries to call those who don't support it cowards makes me ill. I found his constant remarks that every Demacratic leader has failed the american people, and basically saying that all Republican presidents were saints, quite hysterical. I also find it interesting that he continuously states Bush has the American people's best interest in mind, and yet what is he doing to help us. Maybe Bush should try to make jobs for the thousands of unemployed. Maybe he should try to help our struggling economy. Maybe he should stop letting foreign imports dissolve what's left of hard working laborers in our country. And maybe he should stop trying to make the rich richer and the poor poorer. The worst thing about the book is the fact that it just drips with hypocracy. Hannity repeatedly says that all Democrats actions are purely for political gain, when that is in fact all his book is for. He hides it well at first, but it always comes back to vote for Bush, do the 'morally correct' thing. Plus he states over and over how as a Christian, he thinks evil needs to be stopped. I'm a Christian and I don't have the urge to kill anyone I think is 'evil'. But what mostly disturbed me was that I have a hard time believing he is a good, loving Christian when he clearly states how he despises anyone who isn't a Republican and has a different opinion as him. Doesn't seem that he lives or thinks in a Christian mindset but rather becomes just like the people he opposes throughout the his whole book, using it for political gain rather than truly caring about the cause. He is clearly a hypocrit and definitely needs to stop condemning everyone who doesn't allow Republicans to shove their beliefs down their throats. Hannity, Stop being a sheep and think for yourself.

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 24, 2004

    EXCELLENT AND MOVING!

    I was really moved by this story. For the people that gave it one star, well all I have to say is, nobody is perfect. Don't let the people who gave this book 1 star fool you. This was an excellent book and I couldn't have written it better.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 9, 2004

    The truth hurts but you can't argue...

    Hannity has the most important thing going for him, his knowledge of the past and the founding of this nation. He begins the book with correct form by referencing the founding fathers and their take on the government and democracy they created. He creates a 'ladder' through the book connecting various moral ideas with a good amount of fact sprinkled in. As his timeline advances he focuses mostly on the 20th Century and how great presidents destroyed communism and Hitler. He consistently hits his points: there is always right and wrong, no grey area, tolerance is the lack thereof, and america's intrest sometimes has to be defended or enforced by force. Hannity is a huge conservative BUT you can't argue with truth and in this book truth is what you get.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 28, 2004

    Sean Gives a History Lesson by telling the Truth!

    'Deliver Us from Evil' is a wonderful history book. It reminds us all about the evil in the world by reviewing what happened in Hitler¿s Germany, Cold War Communism, and Saddam¿s Iraq. Many today forget these lessons and want to appease current evil by looking the other way or trying to negotiate with them. Sean illustrates that evil exists and we need to be prepared militarily to fight for Democracy and American freedom at home and around the world. Please read this book! Could be entitled ¿What They Don¿t Teach in History Class.¿

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 31, 2007

    Master Of Puppets

    I read the synopsis and I immediately saw this guy is a hate-freak. Read ANY international online newspaper, namely BBC, Japan Times, New Zealand Herald, and you'll see a clearly different viewpoint of things. There's the American media, then there is everyone else's. Neo conservative/ religious fanatics are all about violating every civil right in existance and making tremendous profit at our expense. Reading a book full of half-truths will only further alienate Americans from their full potential. Do yourself a favour and let this book collect dust at the stores. You'll find far more truth in science fiction. (namely Star Trek: Deep Space Nine and Babylon 5)

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 30, 2007

    Wow...in a bad way

    Hopefully this book is some sort of extended joke. I guess it's good that current events can show how ridiculous this attempt at writing really is. But that's why it is currently priced at two dollars. As far as previous posts, I wouldn't listen to someone who claims to be 'an' patriot. This is an opinion based book that, at best, depicts weakly constructed arguments with little evidence of meaningful research by the author. Steer clear.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 13, 2005

    about as factual as Michael Moore

    This book is about as random, short-sighted and ridiculous as Sean Hannity's radio and tv shows. Are we really supposed to believe that liberals are knowingly trying to destroy the country? I find these books (liberal or conservative) insulting to the intelligence of Americans. But since books by Al Franken, Ann Coulter and Hannity sell, American Intelligence is probably an oxymoron.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 7, 2005

    Clear thinking is all you need

    It is sad that moderate thinkers get offended when they read a book that shows them they are on the wrong side of history. Are we not supposed to learn from the past? Believe me, no one likes war, and Hannity is no exception. Yes, the book was averagely-written (sorry, Sean - NOTE: it's SEAN, not Shawn!), but most people don't expect Tolstoy when they're reading political books. Hannity does an admirable job of showing what we have learned from the past about defending and protecting ourselves against terrorism. Please try this book with an open mind. 'If you're seventeen and not liberal, you don't have a heart; If you're forty and not conservative, you don't have a brain.' - Winston Churchill

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 20, 2004

    Puzzlingly Profound, Strangely Inspiring

    Rodriguez Times calls it weak, The Jones Tribune calls it sad, I call it strange, an emotional rollercoaster. The part about Shawn's struggle to to define himself as a lost child brought me to tears. A little boy brainwashed as a child into believing that the Democrats are good. Its just so sad. Good for Shawn. Writing this book got out the demons of such a bad childhood. It talks about it all, those liberals are just jealous. Although Shawn has the syntax of a three year old, I knew exactly what he ment. I gives hope to the masses, that with little to no education their opinion still counts. I'm inspired.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 27, 2004

    I'd prefer to rate it with '0' stars

    The only evil we need to be delivered from is Hannity's malice and hatred from any opinion that is not his. Thank God we still live in a country where we are allowed to say and speak what we want - Although if we have to endure four more years of a Bush administration, that will likely change.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 17, 2004

    Not what I expected...Very Irresponsible

    I consider myself independant in my political views, so I'm not approaching this from a biased perspective when I say I was very disappointed in this book. I have never really listened to Hannity's radio show but I decided to check this book out because he seems to be a fast-rising face of political commentary. With that being said I was disturbed by this book. Hannity and his research staff show a blatant disregard for facts. Repeatedly he makes generalized (often false) claims and supports them with 1) no facts or 2) incomplete and misleading facts. I understand he has a certain type of crowd he plays to, but he owes them more than what he gives them. These people believe in him and everything that comes out of his mouth. That is a responsibility that he should take more seriously. If your a Hannity fan or right-wing extremist you will probably love this book. On the other hand, if you are a reasonable, thinking individual don't waste your money. Look somewhere else if you want good, RESPONSIBLE political commentary.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 22, 2004

    Aggorant

    The book is same as the man. His aggorance knows no bounds.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 20, 2004

    Awesome

    Hannity's book exposes the threat of terrorism today but also how it has affected the world decades before! This is an well written book that exposes liberals for what they are!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 6, 2004

    GOOD BOOK FOR BRAINWASHED ROBOTS

    If you don't like to think for yourself and want to let the simple-minded think for you, this book is for you!!! But, if you had the desire to get a realistic picture, you'd have to actually do some research and see what others are saying and why-including people in other countries. Don't accept what the Corporate-Owned media tells you - check other sources-'terrorism' and U.S. foreign policy are complicated subjects. Anyone who is offering easy answers should be questioned, WHETHER IT IS MICHAEL MOORE OR THIS OBVIOUSLY BIASED WRITER... Killing people is wrong no matter WHO does it. Thousands have died and will die because of the way our Gov't handles things. What does the phrase ' war economy' actually mean? THINK FOR YOURSELF PLEASE!!! Even if you believe in God- don't you think he gave us a brain so we can use it?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 10, 2004

    Not great

    Bush compared to FDR? It's things like this that make this book completley not worth the time it took to print it. The title itself show Mr. Hannity's agenda in writing this piece.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 56 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3