Customer Reviews for

Delivering Death: A Novel

Average Rating 5
( 9 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(9)

4 Star

(0)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 9 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted March 15, 2014

    Finished this book several hours ago and am still thinking about

    Finished this book several hours ago and am still thinking about it! Loved it. After reading four of Kramer's books, Reily Spartz is like an old friend. This is my favorite of the Spartz books so far. (Although I REALLY liked Shunning Sarah and Missing Mark.) Julie Kramer just keeps the surprises coming in her books. And they keep getting better.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 5, 2014

    Charming book.  It was fun, suspensful and romantic.   What more

    Charming book.  It was fun, suspensful and romantic.   What more can you ask for.  Riley Spartz is an engaging character and you will enjoy this book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 17, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    Let me just start out by saying if you have never read a Riley S

    Let me just start out by saying if you have never read a Riley Spartz book, you are really missing out. Every paragraph in Julie's books are funny and filled with her dry wit, one liners and local insider jokes that make you chuckle and laugh out loud the whole way through the book. Sometimes the Joke is on Riley but, the best jokes are when Riley turns the tables on the bad guy and gets the story all in one fell... scoop. Wonderful to see the characters in all The Riley Spartz books back again, Riley's on again/off again ex-fiance Nick Garrett as well as her always loyal photographer Malik, computer slueth Xiong, her always fun parents and her news directer and sexual twerp Bryce. Another favorite part in the books is the delightful back and forth Riley & Nick do with movie quotes they throw to each other such as... Riley to Nick "you don't even know how much you'll miss me"... Nick to Riley "Shirley MacLaine, tearms of endearment, 1983" there are many more of these scattered throughout all the books and they will make you smile and try to guess the answer every time.
    Riley Spartz is a TV investigative journalist for channel 3 news in the Twin cities MN area. One day she opens her mail at the station and finds a set of loose teeth, newly pulled with no note or explanation. This sets Riley off all over the cities looking for who, what, where, they done it and why they sent them to her? I love to ride along with Riley in our hometown as she sets off hunting down the story, knowing where she is and who she's really talking about is part of the fun! Riley and her mouth frequently get her into trouble but her quick wit usually gets her out, sometimes with the help of her ex Nick. Since channel 3 is really about channel 4, WCCO in the twin cities, I will read you one of the comments from WCCO ... "From the author of Stalking Susan comes the latest installment in the compulsively readable best selling Riley Spartz thriller series, featuring a smart, sassy and always entertaining TV reporter as she matches wits with a media savvy killer." This is spot on Riley! This is one of the funniest, best mystery series out there and that reason alone would keep me coming back but the great stories, humor, characters, issues and having it be local is enough to keep me reading about Riley as long as Julie will write about her!
    There are lots of stories going on for channel 3 news this time around... the teeth sent to Riley & Saint Apollonia to protect them, missing dogs, animal & environmental issues, the FBI & Nick, a large fish painting & off shore accounts, bomb scares, weddings and movie stars at MOA, funeral homes & coffins, greedy & ruthless business people, high school reunions, lost and then found again love, you name it and Riley was covering it.
    I recieved this book because I have a BIG MOUTH, hehehehe.... since reading the first Riley Spartz book years ago, I have been hooked & blabbing about them and I'll continue to do so!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 21, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    In Delivering Death, TV investigative journalist Riley Spartz (a

    In Delivering Death, TV investigative journalist Riley Spartz (a little art imitating reality) receives a package full of teeth. Whom they belong to, and how they relate to a well-known Minnesota fraudster serving time in prison (loosely based on either Denny Hecker or Tom Petters, I suspect), makes for a fast-paced A plot.

    Still, much of the novel focuses elsewhere. The B plots involve other stories Spartz chases, a mass marriage at the Mall of America, missing dogs, an ex she must turn to as a source and a TV news director sacrificing quality for cheap entertainment during sweeps.

    Much as she likely did in real life, Kramer balances each without losing the reader. The writing is crisp, the chapters quick and the plot deceivingly smart. Kramer lobs a few softball homeruns for readers to run the bases with, but clears the floor with a couple bombshells no one will see coming.

    However, as my old journalism mentor would say, the "story is done when it's done." I thought the story ended when the A plot wrapped up, but the book kept going for a jaunt to the Mall of America. It felt tacked on to fill pages, but forgivable in light of Delivering Death's other strengths.

    One other point, this time about nuts and bolts writing. Delivering Death shifts between first and third person points of view. That's something I pull in my WIP crime novel, and hadn't seen it done before now. Honestly, I was worried that format would throw off would-be readers. But seeing Kramer pull it off so effortlessly - sometimes even within a single chapter - is enough verification to me.

    Kramer made a fan out of me with Delivering Death. I can't wait to dive into her other novels. She's my kind of crime writer. You'd do well to be her kind of crime reader.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 10, 2014

    Julie Kramer is "Delivering Death" in a masterful new

    Julie Kramer is "Delivering Death" in a masterful new book!

    Julie Kramer is back with a delightful alliterative titled new book featuring Riley Spartz, investigative reporter for Channel 3. Riley receives a package in the mail, and so begins the fast paced road for Riley to travel, through a murder investigation, white collar crime and a group wedding set to take place in the oddest of places, the Mall of America. In a mix of danger, office politics, unresolved love and the art world, this page turner gives us all the twists, turns and surprises we expect in a Julie Kramer novel. First time readers can enjoy a look into the television world and the dangers of being a reporter today, and long time readers can revel in another romp in Riley's world. Julie delivers everything you have come to expect, suspense, danger, character depth and a backdrop that real people live in, and make you want to visit over and over! Well done, Bravo!!! Add this author to your list of favorites today......she is one of mine!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 10, 2014

    A real page turner. But who needs sleep?

    A real page turner. But who needs sleep?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 10, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    This is a enjoyable read. I fell in love with Riley Spartz. She

    This is a enjoyable read. I fell in love with Riley Spartz. She is great news reporter. Delivering Death is a fast paced who dun it with Riley and her charm that leads the reader into her office for a master piece of crime. No where else can you find fun, crazy antics and a hot man all in one place.  Death, weddings, art and even a coffin will have you guessing as you turn the pages. Julie has a winner with her Riley Spartz novels. She is at the top of her game

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 8, 2014

    Fantastic

    Fantastic addition to the Riley Sparks saga. Kept me up reading, I couldn't put it down. A wondetful read. I highly recommend this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 24, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 9 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1