Customer Reviews for

Delta of Venus

Average Rating 3.5
( 38 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(15)

4 Star

(4)

3 Star

(6)

2 Star

(7)

1 Star

(6)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

A Celebration of Beauty and Sensuality

Delta of Venus joyously explores the art of human sexuality. Anais Nin's writing style is at once lyrical and straightforward. While she leaves no doubt in the reader's mind just what is going on, her countless love scenes are imbued with so much warmth and dignity that...
Delta of Venus joyously explores the art of human sexuality. Anais Nin's writing style is at once lyrical and straightforward. While she leaves no doubt in the reader's mind just what is going on, her countless love scenes are imbued with so much warmth and dignity that one could scarcely find them offensive. But most importantly, Anais understood that sex is nothing without emotion, and it's the emotions of her myriad characters that cause the reader to turn happily florid with every page. She understood that while sex is not to be taken lightly, it's certainly not something to be restrained, either. Lastly, of all the locales depicted in this collection of stories, she lends a special affection to Paris. I suspect that of all of Anais' lovers, the City of Light was the dearest to her heart, to wit: 'At five I always felt shivers of sensuality, shared with the sensual Paris. As soon as the light faded, it seemed to me that every woman I saw was running to meet her lover, that every man was running to meet his mistress.' and 'But we were enjoying an orgasm, as couples do in doorways and under bridges at night all over Paris.'

posted by Anonymous on August 9, 2000

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

23 out of 28 people found this review helpful.

Raping children, incest, & child abuse is Erotica?!?

I found this book to be highly disturbing. If you're looking for a sultry read I would definitly NOT recommend. I am about as open minded and sexually liberated as they come and usually I thoroughly enjoy erotica. However, I could not get past the first chapter ...
I found this book to be highly disturbing. If you're looking for a sultry read I would definitly NOT recommend. I am about as open minded and sexually liberated as they come and usually I thoroughly enjoy erotica. However, I could not get past the first chapter of this book. This is the first and only book I have ever returned and received a refund for within two hours of purchasing it. Within the first chapter, the author begins depicting sex games between an adult male and 10 & 12 years old girls! She then describes the main charachter raping his daughters and forcing sexual acts on his sleeping son. How is this 'exquisite' literature?!? Would it be okay to purchase a video or a photograph of this happening? Condoning imagery of forced sex with children is far beyond acceptable imagery. By allowing these kinds of images to be glorified we are saying 'it's okay to think about children in a sexual way.' Not only is that disturbing but its not EROTIC! That is terrifying! There are a great many things we adults may fantasize about doing to each other. There are plenty of people in the world who think even consenting adults shouldn't be able to control their own sex lives. I am not one of those. I do, however, feel that children have NO PART of adult fantasies. I'm amazed that this book has come so far with people glorifying such sad acts as 'erotica.'

posted by Anonymous on November 5, 2006

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 38 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 5, 2006

    Raping children, incest, & child abuse is Erotica?!?

    I found this book to be highly disturbing. If you're looking for a sultry read I would definitly NOT recommend. I am about as open minded and sexually liberated as they come and usually I thoroughly enjoy erotica. However, I could not get past the first chapter of this book. This is the first and only book I have ever returned and received a refund for within two hours of purchasing it. Within the first chapter, the author begins depicting sex games between an adult male and 10 & 12 years old girls! She then describes the main charachter raping his daughters and forcing sexual acts on his sleeping son. How is this 'exquisite' literature?!? Would it be okay to purchase a video or a photograph of this happening? Condoning imagery of forced sex with children is far beyond acceptable imagery. By allowing these kinds of images to be glorified we are saying 'it's okay to think about children in a sexual way.' Not only is that disturbing but its not EROTIC! That is terrifying! There are a great many things we adults may fantasize about doing to each other. There are plenty of people in the world who think even consenting adults shouldn't be able to control their own sex lives. I am not one of those. I do, however, feel that children have NO PART of adult fantasies. I'm amazed that this book has come so far with people glorifying such sad acts as 'erotica.'

    23 out of 28 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 20, 2007

    Cannot condone...

    I love to read erotica as much as the next sexually charged female - when it involes adults. I cannot begin to express my disgust over the first story in this book. If this story were in pictoral form someone would be going to jail because it would be child pornography!

    10 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 9, 2000

    A Celebration of Beauty and Sensuality

    Delta of Venus joyously explores the art of human sexuality. Anais Nin's writing style is at once lyrical and straightforward. While she leaves no doubt in the reader's mind just what is going on, her countless love scenes are imbued with so much warmth and dignity that one could scarcely find them offensive. But most importantly, Anais understood that sex is nothing without emotion, and it's the emotions of her myriad characters that cause the reader to turn happily florid with every page. She understood that while sex is not to be taken lightly, it's certainly not something to be restrained, either. Lastly, of all the locales depicted in this collection of stories, she lends a special affection to Paris. I suspect that of all of Anais' lovers, the City of Light was the dearest to her heart, to wit: 'At five I always felt shivers of sensuality, shared with the sensual Paris. As soon as the light faded, it seemed to me that every woman I saw was running to meet her lover, that every man was running to meet his mistress.' and 'But we were enjoying an orgasm, as couples do in doorways and under bridges at night all over Paris.'

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 19, 2012

    In this book, Nin describes a world of sensuality with no bounda

    In this book, Nin describes a world of sensuality with no boundaries. To the naysayers, she is not describing something one would actually do. And the point is to describe debauchery at its worst in the most sensual terms and she does it well. The beauty of this book is unsurpassed in modern erotic literature. Nin takes us to new highs and lows in an effort to describe what makes us sexual beings. I admire her well-crafted prose and enjoy her attention to imagery.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 29, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Hot stuff!

    This is my first exposure to this genre. WOW! Nin knew her stuff. She made even the most debauched behavior seem sensual at the same time. This is not romance. This is the physical side. The cover is so beautiful. It conveys the idea of the book perfectly-sexy without being dirty. Take a couple of hours and dive right in.

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 24, 2004

    Bravo Anais Nin!!!!!!!!

    I first read this book at the tender age of 14. As a you male starting out on my own awakening, I was overwhelmed with the imagination, eroticism and pure delight reading this book. Fast forward 22 years later. I've re-ordered this book to read agian and to add it to my private library. A must read for everyone, but especially for, in my view, MEN! As a happily married man, this book taught me many things in the development of me becoming that man/person that I am today. Nin, bless her soul, was a woman way ahead of her time and growth. Strong, proud, a seeker of truths that are within us all. BRAVO. Buy this book!

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 24, 2003

    Anais makes love

    Anais makes love while wrapped in irony. She strokes her lover like a pet boa, the snake within and the tigress without. Anais makes love in willful uncertainty, always aware of the tentative touch, the quotable caress, the trespass between raw nerves and a gift of nature. Anais makes love like a cellist, never knowing for sure whether she is the musician or the sonorous body that made the sound.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 25, 2002

    Absolute Perfection

    This book took me from memory to mind controlled love in a matter of seconds. The thoughts and words that are flowing off the pages, are pure bliss.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 6, 2012

    couldn't get into this type of writing...

    No matter how many times I tried, I just couldn't get into this writing format...

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 21, 2002

    Written for an old pervert

    Anias Nin was much more talented than this. Although this book wasn't horrible,it lacked the romance and poetry that here other work has.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2000

    A Classic Book of Erotic Treasures......

    One of the very first erotic books I've read....read it first back in 1996....and I haven't looked back since then. Its been one of my favorites to read when I'm looking for some erotic inspiration.....I recommend 'Delta of Venus' to anyone who is a 'beginner' in erotica because this is a timeless classic by a classic author!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 21, 2000

    This is a hot book

    This book will definateley be one you won't put down...an array of stories, characters, human emotions, lust, fantasies, everything. Erotica explains it all!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 23, 2014

    ABUSE SURVIVORS SHOULD AVOID THIS LIKE THE PLAGUE. I find it dee

    ABUSE SURVIVORS SHOULD AVOID THIS LIKE THE PLAGUE. I find it deeply disturbing that so many people review and write about this book of erotica without ever mentioning that it includes scenes of horrible child abuse. As an abuse survivor and a human with a soul, I really, really wish I could unread the few sentences I skimmed. I'm fine with literally anything sexual that happens between consenting adults; I'm also fine with authors delving into upsetting subjects.  But portraying child abuse as erotic is absolutely horrifying. It is beyond me how anyone can say  that Nin's "love scenes are imbued with so much warmth and dignity that one could scarcely find them offensive." I'm sure this book includes normal-enough sex scenes between adults, but it also portray life-shattering trauma inflicted on defenseless children as sexy. If you don't find that offensive, I'm very concerned about the impact you are going to have on other people. Read this book only if  you have a strong stomach, no personal connection to child abuse, and a highly developed ability to overlook disturbing content and focus on the rest, or 2. You are a horny sociopath obsessed with your own intellect, who could care less about the real-life consequences of abuse and who enjoys fine prose and jacking off to your abstract philosophies about Human Sexuality At It's Most Uncensored. Or something.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 14, 2013

    I don't know what to say but.............

    This is my first time reading an erotic story and it's may be my last. Because I had about $2.15 left, I just want to spend it on an ebook which I saw it under the $2.99 and below list on my nook hd+. And figure what the hell it's my first time and bad are they from those chick books I've read before from my ex's girlfriend. (Wish I could get my money back.) Anyway, some of story except one, the one in the being was sick, were mostly sad or some innocent person become a harlot or happy cause they slept with everything in life that was in there path. Well some folks will like it and some won't. So I gave it a 2 star cause some of the short story were okay. Happy Valentine

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 18, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 6, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 7, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 13, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 30, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 30, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 38 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2