Customer Reviews for

Delusion in Death (In Death Series #35)

Average Rating 4
( 296 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(173)

4 Star

(62)

3 Star

(24)

2 Star

(16)

1 Star

(21)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

17 out of 20 people found this review helpful.

I am a long time lover of all things JD Robb. And the plot of t

I am a long time lover of all things JD Robb. And the plot of this story had me glued to my seat and surprised by the twists and turns. But I do have one gripe.. all of the mixed metaphors by Eve. Maybe this is a quirk that has been used before, but in previous book...
I am a long time lover of all things JD Robb. And the plot of this story had me glued to my seat and surprised by the twists and turns. But I do have one gripe.. all of the mixed metaphors by Eve. Maybe this is a quirk that has been used before, but in previous books it was rare so I didn't note it. But in this book, she had 5 or six, and within a couple chapters of each other and it made a big impression. Suddenly my Eve Dallas is a bumbling nit wit and Roarke is indulgently smiling at her mistakes. Eve isn't cute and quirky and if Roarke gave her an indulgent smile she'd smack it off his face.

I don't know if Nora Roberts writes all of these books herself or if she has help, but whoever helped or edited this book needs to be fired. Do not water down our Eve. She should never be thought of as cute or quirky and that is how I felt she was being portrayed. She's no Stephanie Plum. She's way more bada** and should remain that way.

posted by magoo1516 on September 12, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

10 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

Highly Recommend

J.D. Robb never disappoints. Some storylines are predictable, but the characters are always interesting. I always look forward to the next Dallas/Rourke escapade.

posted by wv72 on June 26, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 296 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 15
  • Posted September 12, 2012

    I am a long time lover of all things JD Robb. And the plot of t

    I am a long time lover of all things JD Robb. And the plot of this story had me glued to my seat and surprised by the twists and turns. But I do have one gripe.. all of the mixed metaphors by Eve. Maybe this is a quirk that has been used before, but in previous books it was rare so I didn't note it. But in this book, she had 5 or six, and within a couple chapters of each other and it made a big impression. Suddenly my Eve Dallas is a bumbling nit wit and Roarke is indulgently smiling at her mistakes. Eve isn't cute and quirky and if Roarke gave her an indulgent smile she'd smack it off his face.

    I don't know if Nora Roberts writes all of these books herself or if she has help, but whoever helped or edited this book needs to be fired. Do not water down our Eve. She should never be thought of as cute or quirky and that is how I felt she was being portrayed. She's no Stephanie Plum. She's way more bada** and should remain that way.

    17 out of 20 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 16, 2012

    highly recommended

    As an avid In Death series reader I cn only recommend this book based on the other books in the series, as this book has not been released yet. But from the buzz on the fanfic site, of which I'm a member, it lives up to the hype, and is as exciting as the other books in the series. If you have never read an In Death book, I advise you to do so.

    14 out of 28 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 12, 2012

    I Also Recommend:

    The was one of the better books I have read.I was instantly imme

    The was one of the better books I have read.I was instantly immersed into this fantastic, well written story.

    13 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 14, 2012

    Highly Recommended

    I have really enjoyed every book written by J.D. Robb and otherwise known as Nora Roberts. Most of her books I couldn't put down.

    13 out of 20 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 26, 2012

    Highly Recommend

    J.D. Robb never disappoints. Some storylines are predictable, but the characters are always interesting. I always look forward to the next Dallas/Rourke escapade.

    10 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 19, 2012

    Blah

    Not her best, not only was it very short, she left out the crazy sidelines of her friends. Peabody romance, Mavis's family, Dr. Mira's husband and etc. All these sidelines make for more interest. The story was good, but was sorely lacking in personality.


    8 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 12, 2012

    Excellent read

    I am amazed at what a prolific writer Nora Roberts is. Of course, she also writes as J.D. Robb and her latest is as well written as her earlier ones. A great series with some some futuristic inventions. I recommend it to anyone who likes mysteries punctuated with a little romance and science fiction.

    8 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 13, 2012

    Not bad, but definitely not my favorite.

    Such a huge fan of the series, so I could never completely pan an installment. However, because so many others were far superior, I gotta say this one really fell short for me. The plot was ridiculously far-fetched and I felt bogged down when trying to keep all the character names straight. Of course, Roarke was still very sigh-worthy and Peabody had great, plucky, comedic timing. I kinda measure the In Death books by how often I reread them (I think I have read Portrait and Born at least 6X each!!) and this one is only gonna get a once-thru. Here's to hoping for more with the next one.

    6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 17, 2012

    I was disappointed in this book . It didn't have enough of Roark

    I was disappointed in this book . It didn't have enough of Roark in it . He played a very small part in this book as far the two of them together . I love all of her books, but this one , I'd only give a rating of maybe a 6 . ( scale of 1 -10 with 10 being the best) I got bored with the story line and was glad when it was all over . I'll still read every one that she cranks out, but hope the next is better !

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 3, 2012

    Highly Recommended - you must check it out!

    J.D. released a teaser. Exciting read. Can't wait until September when the book hits the market.

    5 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 13, 2012

    highly recommend this book

    Its right up there with the other books in the death series by J.D. Robb

    5 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 14, 2012

    Another Solid Book in the Series

    J.D. Robb (Nora Roberts) has another solid entry in the wonderful In Death series. I have loved this series since I first read Naked in Death, and have it on my auto-buy list. I was not disappointed with this newest offering.

    The focus on this book is the mystery, and Robb offers up a sterling example of a police procedural. There was not as much focus on the lives of Roarke, Eve and their friends, and I missed that element. But overall a worthy addition and one well-worth buying.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 12, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    I love this series! I read this book in one sitting! I could n

    I love this series! I read this book in one sitting! I could not, would not put it down. Not only was it a great mystery but I enjoyed the fact that after all the new love stories I’ve read recently I could read a story with the deep true married love that Roarke & Eve share.

    You know it is bad when the opening murder scene, an upscale bar, has over 80 bodies. Lt. Eve Dallas speaks for the dead. She is going to need help on this one. The thing is it wasn’t like some guy came in with a gun or bomb this was way scarier. Someone let loose a chemical cocktail in a happy hour crowd that turned the patrons on one another fatally and fast. Eve and her team need to find out who and what before it happens again.

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 11, 2012

    Another hit!

    Great read! Released on 9/11, with a terrorism plot hits home. As usual, can't wait for the next one! Madicnm

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 18, 2012

    I've read every "In Death" book and I had to keep chec

    I've read every "In Death" book and I had to keep checking the title page to make sure it was indeed written by Robb. Compared to the rest of the series, this one is a DUD. The way Eve zeroes in on a suspect is so improbable it insults the intelligence. There wasn't enough character development or police tactics to even call this a good story, much less a novel. The disappointment of the Boonsboro books was bad, but this.......this is a hatchet job of writing. Bad day, Nora?

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 14, 2012

    Ok

    Love the series and characters are like family to me. Sad to say this one felt a little flat. Eve seemed "off", plot and new characters were a little confusing, figured out "whodunit" too soon. Still my favorite series.....this one just wasnt as good for me as the others.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 18, 2012

    Flat

    Found this book to be a bit flat and boring. Not "bad" but definitely not good either. Seems like everythng was a cliche. Maybe this series is done...

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 13, 2012

    A great read

    Someone is spreading an airborne poison and it'll be up to Eve and her team to nip this in the bud and what a job they do in narrowing down the suspect. Eve and her team are on the hunt and the best part is watching Eve commit the killer to confessing in a fast paced mode to thwart another incidence. As always the suspense kept me turning the pages and it was fun seeing the gang, especially Peabody, do what they do best with assistance from our favorite civilian consultant, Roarke. Nadine, Mavis and even Belle make a wonderful appearance. I love this series and I can’t wait for the next thrilling adventures with Lieutenant Eve Dallas.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 12, 2012

    Argh... nothing but problems.

    Argh... nothing but problems.

    1 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 31, 2012

    T

    T

    1 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 296 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 15