Customer Reviews for

Delver Magic Book II: Throne of Vengeance

Average Rating 4
( 140 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(72)

4 Star

(41)

3 Star

(16)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(9)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Almost as good as Delver Book I

A captivating read - great extension of the characters and concerns of Delver Book I. The author still needs a good editor - in this one the author's tenuous understnding of the differences between "that, who, and which" are very apparent and as distracting as the then...
A captivating read - great extension of the characters and concerns of Delver Book I. The author still needs a good editor - in this one the author's tenuous understnding of the differences between "that, who, and which" are very apparent and as distracting as the then-than problem in the first book. Still, it is good reading.

posted by pagemage on March 20, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Pretty good series

If you are interested in another fantasy/magical/monster series, this one is actually pretty good. The author managed to come up with some fresh ideas and a fresh story line, and these books will definitely keep you reading (there are 4 in the series). There are a few m...
If you are interested in another fantasy/magical/monster series, this one is actually pretty good. The author managed to come up with some fresh ideas and a fresh story line, and these books will definitely keep you reading (there are 4 in the series). There are a few missteps which annoyed me, and will probably also bother any other grammarians. I would strongly suggest that this writer get an editor - not just a bunch of friends, but a REAL editor, who can explain the difference in the words "past" and "passed", for instance. There were many instances of these words used interchangeably, and the lack of understanding of the difference became very irritating. Homonyms are words that sound alike, but are spelled differently, and they have different meanings. The meanings MATTER, and that makes all the difference when trying to enjoy a book.

posted by 7383741 on January 8, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 140 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 7
  • Posted March 20, 2011

    Almost as good as Delver Book I

    A captivating read - great extension of the characters and concerns of Delver Book I. The author still needs a good editor - in this one the author's tenuous understnding of the differences between "that, who, and which" are very apparent and as distracting as the then-than problem in the first book. Still, it is good reading.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 3, 2012

    This book was okay I think teenagers would like it more than adu

    This book was okay I think teenagers would like it more than adults.I also think it would be good for those just getting into fantasty. It had some new ideas, the characters were ok & the storyline was okay.

    Spoiler: I read this one but not the others, & this one will be it for me. In reading the 2nd book I thought Mr. Inlo should have explained what a delver was since some people may not have read the 1st book. Also i think he needed to explain for those who may have not read or needed a refresher, a little bit more about this fantasty world. There were some things I just didn't get: like goblins & serphs are evil, but instead of killing them he just disarmed them? Can Delvers not kill?, but then later in the book it seems they can. The book was predictable & the characters too perfect & flat. I did find that Queen Yave was very believable & she didn't give up! I did think the story moved a long at a good clip. As always sometimes I am not sure if it is a "nook" problem but we need to work on spelling & grammar. I wonder if things get "lost" in the transition. Good luck to Mr. Inlo & keep writing.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 8, 2012

    Pretty good series

    If you are interested in another fantasy/magical/monster series, this one is actually pretty good. The author managed to come up with some fresh ideas and a fresh story line, and these books will definitely keep you reading (there are 4 in the series). There are a few missteps which annoyed me, and will probably also bother any other grammarians. I would strongly suggest that this writer get an editor - not just a bunch of friends, but a REAL editor, who can explain the difference in the words "past" and "passed", for instance. There were many instances of these words used interchangeably, and the lack of understanding of the difference became very irritating. Homonyms are words that sound alike, but are spelled differently, and they have different meanings. The meanings MATTER, and that makes all the difference when trying to enjoy a book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 12, 2014

    Dissappointed

    I liked book one. I truly did. But i had to stop reading book II after a short way in. First, a delusional queen is allowed to take control and run rampant, then a leader of the elves does the same by being wishy washy. Instead of creating realistic dillemmas the author took not just the easy way, but the dumb way, of making adversity. I had to stop reading.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 3, 2014

    It continues!

    Yep, the story continues. The second book is as good as the first. I love this series. Getting ready to read book three.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 8, 2013

    good story

    I am really enjoying this trilogy.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 16, 2013

    Wonderful

    Great read...ready to read the next in the series

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 14, 2013

    Good book!

    Second book in the series. Continuation of the story line from book one and just as well done. Great story and characters.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 3, 2013

    Fantastic.

    Good characters . Lots of action.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 17, 2012

    Love

    I just love the delver magic series,can't wait to read the next book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 20, 2012

    Great Book

    The author kept right on with the story. Love it. Now on to the next one.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 20, 2012

    Too Good to Put Down!

    Even better than the first. I couldn't put this book down. I read way too late last night and then finished the book when I got to work this morning! I NEVER do that...I feel guilty. However, I can't wait to get home and start book 3...and read too late tonight as well.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 22, 2012

    A must read!!!!!

    A captivating read!!!! Stayed up late every night until I was done!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 23, 2012

    awesomeness

    awesomeness does not even begin to describe this author or his series! you gotta read this!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 29, 2012

    Great

    The series just gets better

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 31, 2012

    Highly Recommended - you must check it out!!

    this one is just as good as the first one

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2012

    Fun read

    Looking foward to reading more from this series. It was quite enjoyable. I finished it in a day and a half.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 29, 2011

    AS TO????

    When did "as to" become accepted in the English written language? The story is ok and the characters are pretty interesting. Sentences like this however, detract mightily from the story:

    "She quickly issued commands as to those who would accompany her." (page 553, nook format.)

    Book needs some major editing, IMO.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 26, 2011

    Very Enjoyable

    This continuation from Book I was better than the 1st book. I really enjoy the characters and the quests they endure. Very good book for tweens and adults.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 24, 2011

    highly recomend - great sci-fi read

    I enjoyued the first book in the series so much I got the other two. well written they each stand alone or read as a series. go for the gusto and get all three books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 140 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 7