Customer Reviews for

Demigods and Monsters: Your Favorite Authors on Rick Riordan's Percy Jackson and the Olympians Series

Average Rating 4
( 709 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(473)

4 Star

(69)

3 Star

(62)

2 Star

(25)

1 Star

(80)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

64 out of 83 people found this review helpful.

Reviewed by Jennifer Rummel for TeensReadToo.com

Love for Percy Jackson is sweeping readers everywhere -- and not just teens. Other authors love him as well, and they have something to say about him! DEMIGODS AND MONSTERS is a book of essays penned by other authors covering all things Percy Jackson.

Jenny Ha...
Love for Percy Jackson is sweeping readers everywhere -- and not just teens. Other authors love him as well, and they have something to say about him! DEMIGODS AND MONSTERS is a book of essays penned by other authors covering all things Percy Jackson.

Jenny Han gives godly parental report cards and asks if you could pick one parent out of the god realm, who would you choose? Rosemary Clement-Moore writes a lesson in recognizing monsters, for beginners, of course. Ellen Steiber attempts to answer why Dionysus isn't a poor choice for the director of Camp Half Blood. Nigel Rodgers writes a glossary of "Who's Who?" in Greek Mythology.

Cameron Dokey, Paul Collins, Carolyn MacCullough, Elizabeth M. Rees, Sarah Beth Hurst, Elizabeth E. Wein, Kathi Appelt, and Sophie Masson also write essays that are humorous, clever, odd, and just plain great.

Percy Jackson fans will love this book.

posted by TeensReadToo on October 27, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

14 out of 19 people found this review helpful.

Percy Jackson rules!

Best book of all times are the p j books only second to harry potter but dont get me wrong i mean the percy jackson books are to die for ( even though if you were dead you wouldnt be able to read ) so if i were you i would ( if i had the money ) buy this book and any o...
Best book of all times are the p j books only second to harry potter but dont get me wrong i mean the percy jackson books are to die for ( even though if you were dead you wouldnt be able to read ) so if i were you i would ( if i had the money ) buy this book and any other percy jackson books! I totally recommend them!

posted by 1620608 on December 27, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 62 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4
  • Posted July 26, 2012

    I bought this book and read it all under the influence that it w

    I bought this book and read it all under the influence that it would be a retty good book. Some of the parts of the book were ok but some just dragged on and on... So while I am not telling to go buy this book I am also not telling you to not buy the book. if you love Percy Jackson or Greek mythology then throw cation in to the wind but other wise you may not like this book...

    5 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 11, 2012

    A point

    Okay so technically we're all demi-gods, but we're not "desended" from greek gods, because there is no such greek gods. Just 1 god. :P
    Love the books rick makes, but they're fiction.
    Peace.
    __
    ____| |_____
    |_____ _____|
    | |
    | |
    |_|

    5 out of 22 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 4, 2012

    Should i read the book p.s.

    I want to know if i should read the book but to all the people reading this review if you think you aare a demigod email rick riordan and tell him not the world or monsters would be on your tail in a second and to you people who think they are fibbing dont yell at them or be mean they might really think they are a demigod so calm down people and keep your thoughts to your self ok

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 15, 2012

    Please this is a review page!

    Listen im looking for BOOK reviews not your ideas on the cover or other things just the book and thorough review on the contents- do not waste time talking about other matters i have not read this book but i had to rate it to be able to post this so do not go by my rating wether you should buy this or not

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 21, 2012

    That picture is completly off

    That picture is completly off grovers fur is not black it is brown and percy does not look like that

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 6, 2012

    Stop fighting. I lik this book!

    All this augument is annoying. Fight somewhere else becuase ur being stupid. This is kool book and idcif u disagree cuz this is a review and not a nok chat.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 19, 2015

    Demigods and Monsters by: Rick Riordan Good book not what I thou

    Demigods and Monsters
    by: Rick Riordan
    Good book not what I thought
    I thought this was going to have some of its own stories in it. It was still a great book and all I just pretty much thought it was a novel. It does tell you a lot of cool things that you probably did not notice in the whole Percy Jackson series. The whole thing is talking about the series that was a bit disappointing. So I did learn a lot from this book but it was a good book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 2, 2014

    Your posts disappearing...

    You can only post a review once for each book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 25, 2014

    Red

    Flies aroud

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 16, 2014

    @alexis

    What are we chatting about?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 9, 2014

    Free pink ipad

    Kiss ur hand 3 times and post this on 3 other books then look under ur pillow

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 3, 2013

    My Review

    I did not like this book very much because it is not by Rick riordan. But it is ok if u dont mind reading other peoples writing.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 4, 2013

    To below

    Stop posting fake things on a NOOK. It makes you look like you have no life whitch ou probably dont.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 17, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Demigods and Monsters by Rick Riordan  I¿ll start off by saying

    Demigods and Monsters by Rick Riordan 

    I’ll start off by saying that this book wasn’t exactly what I was expecting.  I am a huge fan of Rick Riordan’s.  The best part of this book was the introduction.  He discusses how he stared the Percy Jackson series by telling bed time stories to his son.  They discovered that his son had ADHD and dyslexia.  His son loved mythology so he began telling his stories combining the two.  Hence the concept that Demigod’s usually have ADHD and dyslexia because it gives them the “finely tuned senses” to keep alive.  I have to admit it brought tears to my eyes.

    The rest of the book is comprised of essays by participating authors that discussed their take on the series.  It was interesting to hear other people’s perspectives.

    ARC provided by publisher  via NetGalley in exchange for an honest review.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 11, 2013

    Help

    Is this good

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2013

    To: below

    MINECRAFT


    —BROMthe2nd

    0 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 13, 2012

    Percy Jackson!

    Ilove Percy Jackson!i love the books

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 12, 2012

    To the people who say they are demigods

    Shut up.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 10, 2012

    Why are you people fighting?

    I really don't care about Easter. I'm buddhist.

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 17, 2012

    Ok

    Its ok ive read better percy j books, before but thhis is ok.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 62 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4