Customer Reviews for

Demigods and Monsters: Your Favorite Authors on Rick Riordan's Percy Jackson and the Olympians Series

Average Rating 4
( 674 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(445)

4 Star

(69)

3 Star

(59)

2 Star

(25)

1 Star

(76)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

62 out of 81 people found this review helpful.

Reviewed by Jennifer Rummel for TeensReadToo.com

Love for Percy Jackson is sweeping readers everywhere -- and not just teens. Other authors love him as well, and they have something to say about him! DEMIGODS AND MONSTERS is a book of essays penned by other authors covering all things Percy Jackson.

Jenny Ha...
Love for Percy Jackson is sweeping readers everywhere -- and not just teens. Other authors love him as well, and they have something to say about him! DEMIGODS AND MONSTERS is a book of essays penned by other authors covering all things Percy Jackson.

Jenny Han gives godly parental report cards and asks if you could pick one parent out of the god realm, who would you choose? Rosemary Clement-Moore writes a lesson in recognizing monsters, for beginners, of course. Ellen Steiber attempts to answer why Dionysus isn't a poor choice for the director of Camp Half Blood. Nigel Rodgers writes a glossary of "Who's Who?" in Greek Mythology.

Cameron Dokey, Paul Collins, Carolyn MacCullough, Elizabeth M. Rees, Sarah Beth Hurst, Elizabeth E. Wein, Kathi Appelt, and Sophie Masson also write essays that are humorous, clever, odd, and just plain great.

Percy Jackson fans will love this book.

posted by TeensReadToo on October 27, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

14 out of 19 people found this review helpful.

Percy Jackson rules!

Best book of all times are the p j books only second to harry potter but dont get me wrong i mean the percy jackson books are to die for ( even though if you were dead you wouldnt be able to read ) so if i were you i would ( if i had the money ) buy this book and any o...
Best book of all times are the p j books only second to harry potter but dont get me wrong i mean the percy jackson books are to die for ( even though if you were dead you wouldnt be able to read ) so if i were you i would ( if i had the money ) buy this book and any other percy jackson books! I totally recommend them!

posted by 1620608 on December 27, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 69 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4
  • Posted October 27, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    Reviewed by Jennifer Rummel for TeensReadToo.com

    Love for Percy Jackson is sweeping readers everywhere -- and not just teens. Other authors love him as well, and they have something to say about him! DEMIGODS AND MONSTERS is a book of essays penned by other authors covering all things Percy Jackson. <BR/><BR/>Jenny Han gives godly parental report cards and asks if you could pick one parent out of the god realm, who would you choose? Rosemary Clement-Moore writes a lesson in recognizing monsters, for beginners, of course. Ellen Steiber attempts to answer why Dionysus isn't a poor choice for the director of Camp Half Blood. Nigel Rodgers writes a glossary of "Who's Who?" in Greek Mythology. <BR/><BR/>Cameron Dokey, Paul Collins, Carolyn MacCullough, Elizabeth M. Rees, Sarah Beth Hurst, Elizabeth E. Wein, Kathi Appelt, and Sophie Masson also write essays that are humorous, clever, odd, and just plain great. <BR/><BR/>Percy Jackson fans will love this book.

    62 out of 81 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 16, 2012

    Great!

    It could have been better though. All the explaining gets boring after a while. Imean come on, I actually want to read the book you know.

    4 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 13, 2012

    Breezie to Yuna King

    Hey so whts up

    4 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 12, 2011

    ok

    guides you throgh the demigod world

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 8, 2013

    Ok Book

    This is an ok book

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 16, 2012

    Cool book if you like percy jackson/olimpians try this

    Greek mytholigy at its new

    2 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 17, 2011

    What?

    Excuse me but what are you talking about?

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 28, 2011

    good

    gooooood good good

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 9, 2013

    Son of apollo

    I think im the son of apollo cause im really good at archery and poetry.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 15, 2013

    From seth

    I live in america haha

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 30, 2014

    Hey

    What up evereybody this is a damn good book to read

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 21, 2014

    A

    A

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 20, 2014

    Anyone there

    Who wants to chat

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 9, 2014

    Cryst

    Hey

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 16, 2014

    Moonlight

    In the sense that I am a female canine, yes, I am. Nice try with insulting me. You just walked into insult backfire.~

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 23, 2013

    To MERRY CHRISTMAS and Moonbeam

    To MERRY CHRISTMAS: no one cares. That's not even a reason to dislike the book! To Moonbeam: so totally right.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 15, 2014

    Moonlight

    ?.....

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 28, 2013

    H,bjji

    H..nhji.jm .,nn, I'm.mnnimin ,njnuinb h.y.mkhy
    .o.juuimkumkmjnh,

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 13, 2013

    Recommended

    Thought-provoking

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 6, 2013

    Not by Rick Riordan, but about his books. Just thought I would

    Not by Rick Riordan, but about his books.
    Just thought I would mention that as it seems that some readers are buying this based on the premise that it is a new Riordan book.
    A collection of thoughts and essays by other authors on books written by Riordan.
    On a side note I loved the introduction to the book, but have decided to take my chances even if it means getting shot.
    I actually had never heard of Riordan or his books until I saw the film version of Percy Jackson and the Lightning Thief. Personally I think it is of the most underrated kids movies I have seen. The film enticed me to look up the books and since then I have introduced the reading material to my children.
    The essays seem to focus more on the Greek mythology, which is the core subject in the books. It would have been nice to see a more in depth approach to the characters or plots in the same humorous way.
    What does become evident is how many people or fellow scribes enjoy the product of his imagination.
    This book is what I would call an add-on or oddity in a collection and perhaps more interesting to a fan or a reader who would like to know a little bit more about what makes the Riordan books tick.
    I recieved a free copy of this book via NetGalley.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 69 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4