Customer Reviews for

Demolition Angel

Average Rating 4
( 67 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(37)

4 Star

(14)

3 Star

(9)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(5)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 67 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 11, 2003

    Demolition Angel

    Three years ago Carol Starkey, a top-notch bomb squad technician came back from the dead. Her partner and lover died. Since then she has been burying her survivor's guilt with alcohol and Tagamet. While assigned to LAPD's Criminal Conspiracy section, Carols lands a case in which a seemingly easy bomb to diffuse kills another technician. She soon finds herself investigating a series of bombings in which the bombs were deliberately designed to kill the technicians. Robert Crais has written a fast pace novel with twists and turns that will keep you turning the pages until you are done. He has successfully created a complex multi-dimensional wounded character in Carol Starkey while at the same time immersing you in the authentic world of bomb making and the dangerous world of the bomb technicians. This is the first book I have read by Robert Crais and I now have a new author to add to my To Be Found (TBF) and To Be Read (TBR) piles. I highly recommend this book. Review by: Lillian Porter

    9 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 20, 2000

    Perfect Stuff for a Long Train Ride or Plane Ride

    I usually don't read a lot of thrillers, but there are a few mystery writers to whom I am loyal, and Robert Crais is one of them. Probably like a lot of others, I was skeptical about a novel/thriller that didn't include his normal detective duo. Forget about that---this is a fine story that includes some great characters that are well-named, like 'Mr. Red'. Anyway, Crais is an intelligent writer, who isn't too vulgar or cheap, and he has been able to make the transition from a standard 250 page detective novel to a first rate, full length thriller with all new characters. I don't think anyone will be disappointed, and this guy has the potential to be a major bestselling author in the future. Carol Starkey, his protagonist, is a little too stereotypical (lots of gin and cigarettes), and it is not really credible when she falls in love with another investigator, but the story is so strong that you will forgive Crais this time. I hope he keeps improving because he is getting close to excellent.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 5, 2000

    A Shattering Thriller

    If you haven't read Robert Crais you are in for a hair rising ride in the fast lane. Demolition Angel is a pedal-to-the-metal thriller that jolts you from the get-go and dosen't letup until its head-on finale. Carol Starkley, an ex-bomb tech, gets reassigned to LAPD's Criminal Conspiracy Section. While battling her inner fears, she embarks on an investigation involving the bomb death of a fellow officer. Caught on an emotitional roller coaster, Carol must not only overcome adverse hostillities, but do battle with a demonic mind not seen since Francis Dolarhyde slithered off the pages of Thomas Harris' Red Dragon. Mr. Crais has woven a tale so shocking it will keep you turning pages well into the wee hours of the morning. An unforgettable read.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 18, 2000

    Heart Stopper

    Hope your heart is in good shape, because after reading Robert Crais's new novel, Demolition Angel, you'll need a strong one. Fast paced, twists and turns, heart-racing action--these are the characteristics of this suspense/thriller. Carol Starkey is Crais's new leading character--a former bomb squad technician who legally died three years ago, now in a detective position sifting through bombing aftermaths. Searching for a serial bomber, Carol is put through the paces by Crais. Every time you feel that you know what's coming, Crais twists the plot and makes a connection that you really didn't expect.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 18, 2000

    Demolition Angel

    Bomb technician Carol Starkey is struggling to put her life back together, after an explosion kills her lover/partner, and leaves her scarred for life. When a bomb call turns to murder, Carol takes the case. Carol teams up with ATF Special Agent Jack Pell to investigate the bombing, the results are shocking...this was not a random bombing but a clever plan, directed at specific bomb technicians. 'Demolition Angel' speeds to a stunning climax. Robert Crais has written a novel that will further cement his bestselling status. This is EXCELLENT entertainment. A perfect, page-turning beach book. A MUST read.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 28, 2014

    Awesome

    Really enjoyed this book..

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 10, 2013

    Great!

    Great story! I really did enjoy this bok!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 26, 2013

    My Favorite

    I loved rreading all of Mr. Crais' books & this is my favorite. Hope to see more of this character, she's great!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2012

    Great read

    Diamond in the ruff. Thought I would try this novel since I like Patterson and other well known mystery fiction writers. What a wonderful surprise having a down to earth heroine. I plan to read more from this author. Not the ruff I expected.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 21, 2012

    What a waste

    About a detective with huge issues who obviously needs to be fired. No police force would keep anyone acting like she dose employed. Dont waste your time and money on this one. I find it hard to believe it was published.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 5, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Great Book

    I have not read one book by Robert Crais that is not a great read. He is my favorite author.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 31, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Not Quite 3 Stars

    I read Hostage a few years back and found that to be a TRUE keep-you-awake-all-night compelling read. I finally got around to reading Demolition Angel and figured it would be as good, if not better, based on the premise. Unfortunately it fell far short of my hopes and expectations. Too much of the character development was overly drawn out; at 375 pages, the book perhaps could have been cut down by a good 75 of them by simply not being so thorough in that development. Where Hostage just seemed to flow at a great pace, this one was nearly laborious to get through. Good plot and good characters - but just not enough to rate above 3 stars. Two and a half would be the most accurate rating in my humble world.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 13, 2009

    SURPRISING READ!!!

    This book was selected for the book club I belong to. The members were intrigued by the choice, it being out of the norm for our discussions.

    The whole "cop" genre is not something I'm too interested in, but I began with an open mind.

    I was amazed at how much I enjoyed this book!!!!! The plot keeps you guessing, the characters are interesting, and the ending had me literally gripping the book while reading!!!! Plus, I grew up in Los Angeles, where this story takes place, and totally identified with many of the cities and landmarks mentioned throughout the story.

    This book made me purchase another Crais novel (winner of many awards), "The Monkey's Raincoat". But I have to admit I didn't enjoy it half as much as "Demolition Angel".

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 23, 2002

    My first read by this author.

    This is the worst book i ever read. It is a total waste of time. You might get the same adventure watching an episode of LAPD or Law And Order.

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 7, 2000

    Quilted Thriller

    As the pages of this novel continue to turn don¿t expect to find a character who manages, like Elvis Cole, to be at the same time arrogant and self-effacing. Of arrogance there is no shortage, to be sure, some of it veering toward the tragic, some the downright grotesque. Flannery O¿Connor described a writer as being someone on whom nothing is ever lost. Crais seems to have ingested and digested prodigiously, Aristotle to Unforgiven, to produce a layered thriller that fairly leaps off the page to shout, MOVI

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 18, 2000

    Move over Elvis Cole, Carol Starkey is here

    I know Elvis and Joe Pike will be back, but Carol Starkey, former LAPD bomb squad expert, will fill the void very nicely. Someone is blowing up bomb experts all over the country and ATF agent Jack Pell teams up with Carol to try and solve them. Meanwhile, the mysterious Mr. Red is dropping clues and bombs around town. Is he the bomber they seek for their local problem, is he the nationwide mad bomber, is Jack all that he seems? Read the book and find out. You won't be sorry or bored!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 16, 2000

    Demolition Angel

    Bomb squad technician Carol Starkey is struggling to put her life back in order after an explosion kills her lover/partner, and leaves her scarred for life. When a bomb call turns into a murder scene, Carol takes charge of the case. Teaming up with Special Agent Jack Pell, the two begin to discover that this was not a random terrorist bombing, but a clever plan, targeted at specific bomb technician's. Carol must race to stop a maniac, and possibly her own life. 'Demolition Angel' begins with a bang (literally) and keeps moving with speed to the climax. Robert Crais has written a totally original, powerhouse of a novel. Put this on your MUST read list.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 16, 2000

    Boom

    As a first timer to the novels of Robert Crais, I could not have picked a better book to start with. In Demolition Angel, Crais departs from his former characters and takes us into the explosive world of the Los Angeles Bomb Squad. Carol Starkey is an LAPD Bomb Technician who is lucky to be alive, living a second life, after surviving a blast that killed her partner and lover David 'Sugar' Boudreaux. Starkey is now a Detective Second Grade with the Criminal Conspiracy Section teetering on the verge of her own mental health - now on her third shrink and a steady diet of gin, cigarettes and Tagamet - each day is a struggle to justify her survival. Starkey now catches her first real case, a case involving the death of a former colleague in the bomb squad - to solve it she must master all her fears, deal with the past and get back to doing what she does best - finding the bomber - but can she get back to the place she needs to be? With help from an ATF agent named Pell, Starkey is introduced to the notion that the bomber has a very sinister agenda - killing bomb technicians. Pell begins to share information, leading Starkey to a serial bomber that goes by the name Mr. Red - and the hunt is on - but was this bomb the work of Mr. Red or of someone else. The game begins - will the real killer be found in time. Crais has taken a very real possibility - that of domestic terrorism - set it against the vast loneliness of Los Angeles. Starkey is in a life and death struggle with her own personal demons and unless she can master them, and summon all of her knowledge - the bomber will win and she will die for a second time. This book is a page turner - explosive!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 2, 2000

    Brilliant

    I read Demolition Angel by Robert Crais. I loved the book--in fact I think I like this one a little better than the 'Elvis Cole' novels. It was full of suspense right from the first page, and I had a very hard time putting the book down. I would recommend it to all suspense readers. I hope he writes more novels with the Carol Starkey character.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 2, 2000

    Excellent Read - All Nighter

    This one works. A complex plot peopled with complex characters should put this one on everyone's thriller list. Action starts before chapter 1, so don't skip the Prologue. Carol Starkey is a bomb-hardened Los Angeles Detective in the Criminal Conspiracy Section working her way back to the bomb squad. A simple-looking pipe bomb detonates in a shopping mall and turns out to be much more than your standard pipe bomb. It's Starkey's turn in rotation, and she begins the investigation. The FBI Bomb Data Center and the ATS National Repository turn up similarities between this bomb and others found around the country, which lead her into the more complex world of a 'chronic', a person who is addicted to bombs and the excitement of seeing their effects. Sometimes her own worst enemy, Starkey manages to move from one extreme to the other and back again during the chase. Many twists, dead ends, and convolutions make this a test of your predictive and investigative skills. Tightly plotted, tightly written, and complex with non-stop action. This will keep you reading into the night.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 67 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4