Customer Reviews for

The Demon Awakens (DemonWars Series #1)

Average Rating 4
( 110 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(51)

4 Star

(31)

3 Star

(15)

2 Star

(6)

1 Star

(7)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

I like it

Good

posted by Anonymous on May 28, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Kinda surprised by all the 5-star reviews.  If you've read any o

Kinda surprised by all the 5-star reviews.  If you've read any other fantasy books, you'll find this sub-par, plodding, poorly written, and not inventive at all.  

posted by blueimpb on June 27, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 110 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 6
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 9, 2014

    Demon wars

    It is an amazing book and i loved the action magic adventure jenra

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 22, 2013

    Highly Recommend

    This is a great read, I couldn't put it down. Looking forward to reading the next book in the series.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 27, 2013

    Good book

    Cant go wrong with Salvatore

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 27, 2013

    Kinda surprised by all the 5-star reviews.  If you've read any o

    Kinda surprised by all the 5-star reviews.  If you've read any other fantasy books, you'll find this sub-par, plodding, poorly written, and not inventive at all.  

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 28, 2012

    I like it

    Good

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 6, 2008

    6 HOURS OF PLEASURE AND THRILLS TO LISTEN TO!

    I really enjoyed this 6 hour read from my favorite audio reader - Bill Mumy! 6 hours of complete pleasure. Great storyline as well, and then having Bill read it! What more could you ask for? Bill has done R.A.Savatore proud. He brought this thriller to life! Very enjoyable in all aspects. I now collect all of Bill's readings such as SHOCK ROCK and LOST IN SPACE - THE PROMISED LAND. I can't wait until his next one! A+ for good listen and good performance!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 16, 2014

    Panther

    Okay.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 16, 2014

    Silv

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 17, 2011

    Crap. Try something you havn't already written Salvatore.

    Lost a lot of respect for Salvatore as an author. This series is no different from the Drizzt novels, just redressed. If you want to read about Drizzt just as a human and in a different land this book is for you. Cattie bri and Cadderly are also with drizzt in this.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 12, 2004

    A Fantastic tale!

    R.A. Salvatore really out did him self in this tale. His ability to breath life in to characters is becoming legendary. This book has and amazing cast of characters and very intriguing villains. This book captured my imagination and held me. If you like his tales about Drizzt, you will like this as I rate this better then the Drizzt tales.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 6, 2004

    R.A Salvatores best book

    This is most definately R.A Salvatores best book, I have read all the books from this series and I still want more. This book is so realistic, and yet so far into Fantasy. A must read for any fantasy book lover. In my opinion just as good as Harry Potter

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 4, 2003

    The Demon Awakens

    A great book, its kinda long, though. but its a great book for teens and adults... in in the world Corona, a bunch of goblins and giants attack the small frontier town of Dundalis, only 2 poeple make it out alive, Elbyran Wyndon and his freind, Pony. Pony gets picked up by a Innkeeper, whille Elbyran is saved by Elves, and a monk named Avelyn Debris must find the Ring Stones and keep them from getting into the wroung hands. All three of them must defeat the evil demon dactyl. a R.A. Salvatore masterpiece. a must buy book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 31, 2003

    o.O

    R.A.Salvatore is one of the greatest fantasists and writters of all time. I have enjoyed the entire Dark Elf series, and read a few other of his works. And undoubtedly, The Demon Awakens is my favorite of all of his books. Actually, it even rivals, if not surpasses Tolkien. Thorough characters, interesting plot, and an undeniable evil, make The Demon Awakens a must read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 4, 2003

    utterley inspiring!!!

    Salvatore really gave me a push this time! His plot as many say was a bit standard but the touch was amazing. I cant believe some of the reviews this book is getting because the books is one of the greatest i have ever read. I have read many fantasies much by Salvatore and I am honestly sure the demon wars is a classic to be found much like the dark elf trilogies!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 3, 2002

    It's on the beginning......

    This book starts R.A. Salvatore's Demon Wars series. It is an excellent series. It is his own world and he does wonderful things with it. There are many unique elements to these books and it is much more mature reading than his Dark Elf series. I believe that this series continues to get better with each book. It is worth starting the series, to get to Mortalis, which is one of Salvatore's best. Each book is a great read on it's own, but the series also continually builds up the story, which will be culminated in the eagerly awaited book, Immortalis. Whether you are a fan of Salvatore because of the Drizzt novels, or are new to his books, you can't miss with the series. It is his best.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 13, 2002

    Salvatore: A Master Writer

    Here is Salvatore at his best. The first book in the first Demon War Series, The Demon Awakens, is breath taking. From the training of the monks to the fighting sequences of...You just can't put it down! You will end up back on Barnes & Noble.com to purchase the rest!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 14, 2000

    One of his best yet.

    This new installment in a new series is a true relief to all Salvatore fans out there. It is a great epic with love, passion, romance, heroics, suspense, and every other part of life that makes a novel truely outstanding. His characters are well formed and grow on us in thier own personal way. I recomend this novel to any that like Salvatore's work or that are just being introduced into the fantsay world. It is truely a work for all ages. By the way, Avelyn's final confrontation with the demon is in my opinion one of the best written parts of the novel and is without a doubt the most powerful part.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 3, 2000

    I like it, gripping but not original

    Its a great story, the author sets it up really well, but as I said not original, I've read many books that are almost a mirror of this book.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 17, 2000

    Pretty standard stuff...

    Having read a great many fantasy epics, Salvatore's effort here was somewhat dissappointing. The plot and characters were standard and somewhat scripted from your common fantasy stock - boy meets girl, becomes separated, each grows up into heroes and together with new friends beat demon. Ho-hum. Good writing, basic plot, transparent charcters. Check out Tad Williams and George RR Martin for deeper story line. This is better for light reading.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 21, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 110 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 6