Customer Reviews for

Demon Hunting in Dixie (Demon Hunting Series #1)

Average Rating 4
( 75 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(33)

4 Star

(19)

3 Star

(11)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(9)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

14 out of 28 people found this review helpful.

Demon Hunting in Dixie is an engaging satirical romantic urban fantasy

In Hannah, Alabama florist Addy Corwin has a bit of a problem. A demon has branded her as his. Out of seemingly thin air, a hunk appears carrying a flaming sword. Brand the demon hunting Dalvahni rescues Addy and her dog Dooley.

Brand may be from another dimension...
In Hannah, Alabama florist Addy Corwin has a bit of a problem. A demon has branded her as his. Out of seemingly thin air, a hunk appears carrying a flaming sword. Brand the demon hunting Dalvahni rescues Addy and her dog Dooley.

Brand may be from another dimension, but he is not the only weirdness Addy encounters. Her dog is now a linguist and a cat streaks through the air. Furthermore the town has a horde of demons and other non-humans, none seemingly football fans. With Brand at her side and accompanied by her best friend Evie and his fellow warrior Ansgar. they begin cleaning the town of the ugly plague.

Demon Hunting in Dixie is an engaging satirical romantic urban fantasy that stars strong somewhat stereotypical lead protagonists and a solid support cast. The different mental wiring between an earth female and a Dalvahni male leads to humorous misunderstandings as the gap is much further than Men from Mars and Women from Venus. When the story line focuses on the romance or demon removal, the tale is at its best. Though there are too many subplots, fans will enjoy a visit to demon cleansing in Alabama

Harriet Klausner

posted by harstan on April 15, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

17 out of 40 people found this review helpful.

!r

Right off the bat we have harriet klausner and her cliff note book report, along with another plot spoiler ruining the book. These plot spoilers, especially harriet klausner needs to be banned because they give away the entire book. Come oj bn, do something to these pp...
Right off the bat we have harriet klausner and her cliff note book report, along with another plot spoiler ruining the book. These plot spoilers, especially harriet klausner needs to be banned because they give away the entire book. Come oj bn, do something to these ppl. They are costing yiu sales.

posted by 8888649 on March 11, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 75 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 11, 2013

    !r

    Right off the bat we have harriet klausner and her cliff note book report, along with another plot spoiler ruining the book. These plot spoilers, especially harriet klausner needs to be banned because they give away the entire book. Come oj bn, do something to these ppl. They are costing yiu sales.

    17 out of 40 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 15, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Demon Hunting in Dixie is an engaging satirical romantic urban fantasy

    In Hannah, Alabama florist Addy Corwin has a bit of a problem. A demon has branded her as his. Out of seemingly thin air, a hunk appears carrying a flaming sword. Brand the demon hunting Dalvahni rescues Addy and her dog Dooley.

    Brand may be from another dimension, but he is not the only weirdness Addy encounters. Her dog is now a linguist and a cat streaks through the air. Furthermore the town has a horde of demons and other non-humans, none seemingly football fans. With Brand at her side and accompanied by her best friend Evie and his fellow warrior Ansgar. they begin cleaning the town of the ugly plague.

    Demon Hunting in Dixie is an engaging satirical romantic urban fantasy that stars strong somewhat stereotypical lead protagonists and a solid support cast. The different mental wiring between an earth female and a Dalvahni male leads to humorous misunderstandings as the gap is much further than Men from Mars and Women from Venus. When the story line focuses on the romance or demon removal, the tale is at its best. Though there are too many subplots, fans will enjoy a visit to demon cleansing in Alabama

    Harriet Klausner

    14 out of 28 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 27, 2012

    Funny, funny, funny!

    The book deserves 5 stars just for the humor alone! There are very few books out in the market (that I personally read and I have read hundreds) that claim to be funny - I can count them on one hand! It just so happens that this book is included amongst the five. We're talking laugh out loud, snort, then giggle! A truly light hearted, entertaining, delight of a story. Loved Brand and Addy's interaction, loved Addy's friends and family and loved the town folk. What a hoot!

    11 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 18, 2011

    I'm packing up for Hannah, Alabama!

    A witty, smart, dead-on (and dead SEXY) plot. I couldn't put it down and laughed out loud at least every other paragraph. An Alabama girl through and through, Lexi George got it just right. A definite re-read when you need a pick-me-up or just want to laugh! Can't wait for more Addie, Brand...and Mr. Fluffy Fauntleroy!

    10 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 4, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Lots of Humor, very light for a Paranormal book

    In the beginning of the story, you met Addy and her dog Dooley, as they take their nightly run. Her dog breaks loose and runs into a forest that wasn't there before. She feels like evil is watching her and is attacked by a Djegrali Demon. Then a man appears out of a portal, who brandishes a flaming sword. There are two of the demons and the man, Brand kills one of the creatures. Before the second creature escapes it stabs her with its poisonous claws and she passes out.

    She wakes in her house with the mysterious man Brand beside her, who tells her he's a Dalvahni warrior, who's lived over 10,000 years and that he hunts Djegrali demons through the realms. He wants to stay and protect her because when the demon stabbed her, he marked her and will be back to finish her off. To make matters more interesting she asks him how he knew where she lived and he informs her that Dooley told him. At this point, she's thinking he's just a gorgeous lunatic. Addy is disbelieving until he calls her dog over and tells her to speak and Dooley obliges by speaking English.

    The book has a Southern charm feel to it. Like how Addy lives in one of those small towns in Hannah, Alabama. The kind of town where everyone gossips and everyone knows everyone else's business. Throughout the book Addy is more terrified of her mama than she is of a demon hunting her. Believe me, when you meet her mama, you'll be running scared too.
    Besides the southern charm, Demon Hunting Dixie has an abundant amount of humor splashed throughout the pages. To put it mildly there are Demons, possessed dead bodies roaming the town, a talking dog, a flying fae kitten with gorgeous wings, a scary mama, magical abilities, and much more.

    I don't normally read this kind of paranormal, but this book kept my attention and was a nice change from my normal paranormal. If you like feisty Southern heroines with quirky sayings, thrown into the supernatural world, without a life preserver, than you'll like this book.

    I did receive this book for Free to give my honest review. This did not affect the rating on the book and my rating/review is strictly my own opinion.


    Reviewed by Paranormal Addicts

    8 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 26, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    An excellent read

    The book relies on substance noted by the title; interaction of separate characters with seperate personalities; humor; mystery; and realistic romance without the need for constant sex to capture and keep the reader's attention and appreciation.

    (in other words) this is the best read I have encountered in a long time.

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 19, 2011

    Fun book!

    I really enjoyed this book. It was fun story and had plenty of hot sex! It did drag in a few spots but the characters made up for it. Loved the weenie fight! Can't wait for more from this author.

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 22, 2013

    Loved it

    Can't wait to read the rest of the series. Light refreshing. Dialogue sassy. Absolutely loved this.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 15, 2012

    Fabulous Book!

    Funny, Sexy and Riveting! I'm in love with Lexi George now :-)

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 5, 2011

    highly recommended

    Funny, romantic & excellent plot. Looking forward to a series for this book!

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 10, 2011

    Now one of my favorite books

    Southern belles and demon hunting warriors from anternate realms! I LOVE IT

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 22, 2012

    Great Read

    I enjoyed the book.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 21, 2014

    Sucked!!!

    This had to have been the corniest book ever and to think I paid over $6 for it. Dont waste your money.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 24, 2013

    Not bad

    It took me a while to get into this book because it is slightly silly and very fast paced to the point of confusing. However, once I got into it I really enjoyed it and look forward to reading the next one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 20, 2013

    I enjoyed this book way more than I thought I would.

    Enjoy

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 6, 2013

    Sucked.

    Sucked big eggs. Very predictable.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 29, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    I absolutely loved this book, the writing is hilariously funny a

    I absolutely loved this book, the writing is hilariously funny and the characters, especially Muddy, are exceptionally lovable. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 1, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Review originally posted on My Urban Fantasies.

    (myurbanfantasies.blogspot)

    Addy is out jogging one night with her dog, Dooley, when she comes to a cluster of trees, trees that Addy and Dooley have run by countless times before with no problems, and gets a serious case of the heebie jeebies. Of course that's the exact moment Dooley jerks the leash out of Addy's hand and takes off into the fore mentioned creepy clump of trees. Addy goes after Dooley and finds herself in a clearing with Dooley and a dark shadowy demon. A portal then opens and Brand, a Dalvahni warrior, steps through.

    Addy warns the hunky Dalvahni warrior, we are talking perfection personified here people, about the demon who is about to attack him. Brand turns to face the demon, who Addy refers to as Mr. Nasty, drawing a flaming sword. Mr. Nasty freaks and backs away from Brand. Now that Brand is distracted a second demon, loving named Mr. Nasty's sidekick, sneaks up behind Brand readying an attack. Addy warns Brand again. Brand turns and slays Mr. Nasty's sidekick. Mr. Nasty is seriously freaking out now and flees, stabbing Addy in the chest as it brushes past her. It's a death blow. Brand save Addy's life, forever changing it.

    The Dalvahni are an ancient race of warriors whose sole existence is to hunt the djegrali, aka demons. They do not experience emotions. If emotions start to arise the Dalvahni use thralls, think succubus but instead of eating someones life force they eat emotions, to ride themselves of it. The Dalvahni are also essentially immortal. Brand is ten thousand years old. The Dalvahni travel through different realms, through space and time hunting djegrali. This is how Brand ended up on Addy's doorstep, he had been tracking the wraith-like demon.

    If you are looking for a profound plot that moves your soul, then this is not the book for you. Demon Hunting in Dixie is hilarious book full of steamy sex scenes and southern charm. It shows that Lexi George truly was raised in a small town in the south, but the way she added southern stereotypes and clichés leads to a unique humor that is beyond brilliant. I absolutely love the fact that Addy fears her Mama more than demons.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 6, 2013

    Beating a dead horse

    I don’t write a lot of reviews and I don’t write a review if I am not done with the book but I had to make an exception for this book but it is terrible writing. I am only 93 of 340 pages through and I feel like I am reading some high school kids paper where they were told they had to write a 5 page paper so they described the color of the sun a hundred different ways just to take up space. I can read one or two sentences of a paragraph and move on to the next one because the rest of the paragraph is pointless. This book had potential however the author lost its potential by beating a dead horse in describing everything little detail 10 different ways. And I am not sure what kind of research the author did on the south but I am pretty sure they don’t sound as stupid as this character does. I am going to finish the book but I will never read anything by this author again.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 3, 2013

    HILARIOUS!

    NEVER THOUGHT THIS BOOK WOULD BE SO GOOD, HAVE NOT EVEN READ HALFWAY THROUGH IT AND I LOVE IT. LEXI GEORGE HAS A GREAT SENSE OF HUMOR AND I LIKE THE WAY SHE THREW IN THE TAILOR NAMED "TWEEDY" KIND OF REMINDED ME OF A SCENE IN AN OLD WESTERN MOVIE. THIS BOOK IS SO DIFFERENT.

    HOPE SHE WRITES MORE LIKE THIS. I HAVE TO CHECK OUT HER OTHER BOOKS, THIS IS MY FIRST BY THIS AUTHOR.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 75 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4